We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B in Nancy”
Review of Maison de Myon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison de Myon
Ranked #2 of 8 Nancy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B in Nancy”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I am so glad that I booked this B & B rather than a hotel. It is located just a couple of blocks away from Place Stanislas which is the epi-centre of Nancy yet it is in a quiet residential area. Mme. Quenot has turned an elegant town home into a spacious, welcoming and well-organized B & B with both rooms and loft suites. My only caveat: if you cannot handle more than one flight of stairs because of physical limitations, you should not book the apartment lofts as they involve several flights (no elevator). We did not have a problem with this (although my husband did start grumbling a bit on Day 3) and so were delighted to have a loft apartment with full cooking facilities at the very top of the house. Beautifully decorated and comfortable with all of the latest mod-cons it worked really well for our four-day stay. But contrary to what we were told, it did not have 2 full bathrooms: it had one bathroom on the main with shower, basin and toilet and then a beautiful deep soaking tub and stylish basin in the loft/bedroom (but no toilet!). I may be a stickler here but unless there is a toilet, I will not designate it as a bathroom. Also, the soaking bathtub was open to/part of the bedroom which might not work for some but wasn't a problem for us. Martine was a delightful and helpful hostess: she made several restaurant reservations for us and had good suggestions for anything we asked her about. Parking was a bit hairy in the nearby parkade: more like a bobsled chute than a parkade at least by North American standards but I got the hang of it fairly quickly (do or die scenarios are good for testing personal mettle!). Highly recommend Maison de Myon as a base for exploring Nancy which is a charming and sophisticated city in the beautiful Lorraine region of France. Would go again in a flash but hope for warmer weather next time.

Room Tip: If you can handle stairs, try the loft apartments: they are wonderfully equipped havens of peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    34
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
73
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I was surprised that it was a bed and breakfast but it is in mostly great shape. Nice breakfast. It depends which room you get... some much nicer than others. We had the "Turquoise Room" on the second floor. It has a shower and queen bed. Antiques blended with modern. Positives: its a 5 - 10 minute walk to Cathedral or Place Stanislaw and endless great restaurants, shops and Patiserie. Negatives: the towels could double as sandpaper. The roughest towels I've ever encountered. And the floors are the creakiest! They are so loud... you hear other people in other rooms even. There's no way around the loud floors. When people come in late or go to the bathroom you can hear them... unless you like to take baths, tell them you want a shower.
Note - Nancy is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A really nicely-converted Nancy townhouse, tastefully decorated and filled with works or art. The owner is very courteous and friendly and her assistant was too. Everything here is very well organized and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The house is also very well situated for the sights and restaurants of Nancy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuurne, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were staying last week in the b&b for a long weekend, for 3 nights.

I asked if we can check in earlier and the owner replied by mail that it's possible. We arrived around 14:00 and the room was almost ready.
The owner, Martine, is very nice and welcoming, and her stuff also, all through the way- while we asked questions, or needed some information.

The house and the rooms are beautifully decorated, big enough and charming.
We had a view to the garden. The street is quite and not far from the center.
The only problem I had regarding the location is the parking. There is no private parking, and when we came with a car we had to park in the street. It wasn't such a problem as there is usually place, but you need to take under consideration the extra cost (it's not high).

The breakfast is very nice, but repeated itself every morning. High quality baguettes and croissants, jams, yoghourt, little bit fruits, coffee.

Highly recommended for romantic trips or couples, I would not stay there with a big family or more than one child.

Room Tip: It's important to mention if you are handicapped, as most of the rooms require climbing some sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I've traveled to France yearly for over 40 years. The Maison de Myon is at the top of my list of favorite places. If you are lucky enough to get a room (there aren’t many) at the Maison de Myon , don’t miss the opportunity. You will be in for the most delightful unique experience. Hostess Mme. Quenot will greet you warmly at the door and make you feel immediately at home. In fact you are in an old 18th home that has 21st century conveniences. It is filled with artwork (you could say it’s a museum except you can touch) and flowers and beautiful aromas coming from the kitchen. Each room is of a different color with individual decor. Each is spacious and comfortable.
The Myon Is located right in the middle of Nancy, just steps from the Place Stanislas, but on a quiet street.

Martine Quenot and her excellent staff serve an ample continental breakfast with each cup of coffee made fresh. Martine was very helpful in getting us reservations in restaurants we requested; she had great recommendations and could answer every question. She made our visit to Nancy one we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiller8244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

What a wonderful b&b. The house is simply beautiful, and the owner, Martine, so helpful. It's a 17th century home that has been restored, and the decor is gorgeous. Modern, with antiques. Imagine a Nespresso machine in your room. Now that's classy. It is a short walk from the Place Stanislas, in a very quiet neighbourhood. We loved our stay at Maison de Myon.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, the apartments at the top of the house are perfect. Like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melhebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompson's Station, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Maison de Myon is charming, and very old, but beautifully refurbished and maintained. Madame Martine is an amazing woman, witty and intellegent. She took on this huge rennovation project as a labor of love. We were greeted upon arrival with a glass of Champane and shown to our simply decorated but elegant room. The entire place is charming, Martine has done wonders with this lovely 17th century property. She even has a beautiful wine cave underneath the property and a gorgeous courtyard, which our room overlooked. Everything was extremely neat and clean, the furninshings are a snazzy mix of antique and contemporary, so different, but nothing looked out of place. She showed us all the property and made us feel as if we were in our own home.

Breakfast here was one of the best we had on our entire 22 day trip. Fresh local fruit, jam, the most wonderful creamy yogurt and fluffy, piping hot croissants with strong French press coffee. This place is very quiet and beautiful, and also friendly.....we quickly became pals with the house cat and all the other guests. Madame Martine gave us great advice about restaurants and attractions in Nancy. Her English is not perfect, but when in France you should learn to speak a little French, she will meet you halfway. It is so very irritating to see American tourists whining about people not speaking English in their own countries. Make the effort to learn the basics before you travel and you will do just fine.

DO NOT MISS the laser show on Place Stanislas each summer night at 10:45 PM, we were delighted to witness this incredible production that tells the history of Nancy and the Polish King, Leszczyński. The gates, fountains and museum on the sqare are a wonder to behold. We had a wonderful time here just looking at the incredible architecture. Will definately return to Nancy and Masion de Myon....thanks Madame Martine!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.4 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#3 of 40 in Nancy
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Prelats
Hotel des Prelats
#8 of 40 in Nancy
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Nancy Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#1 of 40 in Nancy
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Myon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Myon

Property: Maison de Myon
Address: 7 rue Mably, 54000, Nancy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison de Myon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing