We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location,but I would not give it four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
London England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location,but I would not give it four stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Within a few minutes walk of the main square ,shopping streets and railway station.

Pleasant staff and comfortable bed.

Arrived after a long journey from the UK via rail,underground,Eurostar &TGV so a bit tired and happy to have a room.dropped our bags and eased out.

In morning squeezed round the bed to open the curtains whilst avoiding the air conditioning trucking , had a view of a crumbling wall and a tin roof.called reception and complained within minutes they were up with a key to show us a new room,had a look and said we would sort out on our return as we had a local train to catch.on our return the hotel had moved our things into a larger room on the opposite side of the corridor one floor down.

We had paid a low rate so I was not expecting a great room and was happy with the one we were finally in.

The hotel did not appear to be full so am not sure why they gave us the worst room in the house.

Location is the main thing about this property,the only thing four star is the price of breakfast.

Avoid room 221

Loved Nancy

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brice C, Directeur général at Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed our location close to the stanislas square and the helpfulness of our team.

I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your 1st room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused. Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Best regards,
Brice Canonne
brice.canonne@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    225
    226
    101
    32
See reviews for
71
301
51
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaltenbrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Reims, France. Really easy to find with the big neon sign. Pulled up to the front door, literally, and went in to check in. Front desk staff was polite. No parking available in the garage and we were told to park in the cinema parking lot across the street. We just left our car where it was with no problems. This was convenient because it rained cats and dogs the next morning during our departure. The room was clean and fresh and we slept great. Breakfast was nice with fresh boiled eggs (made by you) and catered delights (try them all). Overall a wonderful night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte M, Directeur général at Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much to let us know your very good feeling about your stay in our hotel.
I hope see you very soon.
Bests regards
Brigitte Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Mercure Stanislas. It is very well located for Stanislas Square, shops, bars and restaurants.
We had a Superior Room, which was very clean and pleasant. The bedlinen was nice and the bathroom was fine. We had a mini bar with free water etc and a coffee maker.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast buffet had a good selection and we particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs, which is unusual in an hotel. We used the fun orange squeezing machine to make fresh juice each morning.
All in all, a pleasant stay in Nancy.

Room Tip: Probably worth having a 'superior' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortsat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte M, Responsable réception at Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much to give us so a great feed back from your stay.
All the staff hope you welcome soon again.
Brigitte Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beware: The staff in this hotel steals off you. Been staying here for a few weeks for work and last week I forgot a shirt in the room. Just a few hours after leaving the hotel I realized I didn't have it and rang straight away. They said they would check the room and they would call me back. Didn't call back so I rang again the next day and got the same answer. I arrived here today and was announced that the shirt was never found (ie. someone decided to keep it, my best favorite shirt). Frustrated and angry with staff that not only don't care about their customers, but even steals off them.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't leave anything valuable in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ophintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte M, Directeur général at Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous présentons toutes nos excuses car nous aurions effectivement du vous contacter au plus vite pour vous signaler que nous n'avions pas retrouvé votre chemise.
Générallement, dans nos hôtels, le suivi des objets trouvés est tout à fait traçable et fonctionne très bien.
Une nouvelle fois nous nous excusons.
Très cordialement
Francis Kugler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nancy hotels

Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
487 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

we had a nice stay in this hotel, wich was a short stop on our road to the Alsace region. the situating near the grand place Stanislas, was perfect. the buffet-breakfast was generous, very good. free wifi is also a good service, liked by businesspeople as we are. the private car parc is also very important for one night stoppers.

Room Tip: of course the rooms on the higher floors have less noice, but the hotel is situated in a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte M, Responsable réception at Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much to give us your good feeling about your stay.
We hope see you very soon. Best regards
Brigitte Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our 1st - 2 night stop over on our way to Cannes. We chose it for the location and the private car park. Firstly I must say a big thank you to the front of house guy (Frederick) he was very helpful and efficient. We had a superior twin room at the front of the hotel, it was quite small, but had free WIFI, minibar, air con, and tea/coffee making. The down side was the décor, the carpets, and bathroom were very run down and shabby .Housekeeping did their best, so the room was clean but in need of a revamp. The parking was not for the faint hearted!... really tight, and not much space to maneuver fine if you have a small car. I can't remember what the parking fee was? but it was reasonable for the area. As mentioned by other visitors the location of this hotel is perfect, Stanislas square is wonderful, lots of bars, restaurants, with access to a lovely park we were fortunate enough to see the light show,( 10pm, every evening), very impressive, but I think it finishes at the end of September? Nancy really is a beautiful place to visit and would stay at the Mecure again simply because it was so convenient for the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelinaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location. Very near Stanislas Square and convenient to shopping and restaurants. More like a motel than a 4 star hotel. The room was extremely small and not very clean. The buffet breakfast, which was included because we are seniors, was really generous and very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Crystal
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#5 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Prelats
Hotel des Prelats
#9 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas

Property: Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas
Address: 5 rue des Carmes, 54000, Nancy, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas hotel offers 80 Art Verrier themed rooms. The hotel is in the heart of the city centre, just 200 m from the prestigious Place Stanislas and close to shops, ten minutes by walking from the new TGV Est railway station and the tram line towards the universities and hospitals. Come and spend a holiday in Nancy and discover the fantastic Art Nouveau architecture and Le Route Du Verre (The Glass Road). Have a taste of the local Lorraine specialities in our bar, Le Neptune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nancy Centre Stanislas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing