We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Nouveau in Nancy”

Musee de l'Ecole de Nancy
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art Nouveau in Nancy”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My sister, husband and I visited this gem of a museum in February, 2014. My husband is a landscape architect, and gardener, and my sister and I love to work with textiles. The museum was beyond our expectations in every way. The collection is amazing-well exhibited -and easy to view. It includes furniture, carvings, paintings, glass works and everything in between. The gardens must be gorgeous in the spring and summer, but the design work was great even in winter. We must have taken thirty photos of the interior, which at that time was void of other visitors, so we could linger. My husband voted it as "best museum" visited in the last few years.
There is a city parking lot (open air) within a block or so of the museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Truffle4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    140
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice collection of art nouveau”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The reconstructed dining room alone is worth a visit. many fine pieces and paintings. Audioguide is a big help since many signs are in french.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Art Nouveau Museum!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a nice place to spend an hour or so while visiting Nancy. Tickets are 6 euro. We found close by free street parking when we visited on a Saturday. Try to go on a sunny day as the museum is a little dark. We were there on a cloudy afternoon. The glass pieces and the furnishings were beautiful but I felt that some natural sunlight would have made some of the art glass really come alive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 278eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great art nouveau”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic collection of art from that period. Be sure to see the beautiful square with the gates and sculptures that are lit at night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Art Nouveau at its best”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you're into Art Nouveau (or Jugendstil) Nancy is your place of Pilgrimage. There are so much Art Nouveau artefacts to be seen in this city, but nothing can beat the Musee de l'Ecole. Don't think the geometrical Viennese Secession style - think florid. Very florid, up to drooping woodwork, like the dripping wax on candles. Yes, it can be a bit hilarious - you're looking at the excesses of the florid Art Nouveau period - but nevertheless it's the Ultimate of this wonderful period in architecture and design. The museum is a treasure trove, beautiful exhibits, whole rooms made up in the "Gesamtkunstwerk' of the Jugenstil period. Not to be missed, if only to understand how Nancy became the Art Nouveau city of France.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de l'Ecole de Nancy also viewed

Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 

Been to Musee de l'Ecole de Nancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing