We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're a Guest here (with a capital G)”
Review of Hotel la Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel la Residence
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The staff at this hotel deserve a compliment for making you feel very welcome as a guest, linking professionalism to warm friendliness. We had a nice room with a great bathroom (wonderful to sit in a BIG tub after a long journey by car!). The beds were impeccably made, but a bit hard to our taste, which is why the 'sleep quality' scores a bit lower: but this is of course a matter of personal taste. Very tasty breakfast with fresh croissants in a very relaxed atmosphere. The gorgeous Place Stanislas is at approx. 1km walking distance from the hotel, and worthwhile to visit. If you travel by car: make sure you reserve a parking spot with the hotel or else you won't be able to park it nearby. We felt very refreshed for the remaining part of our trip! And we'll be back. :o)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel la Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

If you don't mind a fairly small room and not interested in breakfast in the hotel then this could suit you. Lovely staff, could not be nicer, and the rooms are pleasant even though small. Make sure you request a room at the back; my daughters' room overlooked the street and they were woken both nights by drunks and cars being raced down the road out front. In comparison, our room overlooked pretty courtyards and gardens and the view was nice older homes. NOTE: no kettle, no tea, no coffee and breakfast is ridiculously expensive. Far better off popping into the city centre and visiting one of the wonderful boulongerie/ patissierres then walking over to Pepiniere Park with your pastries and enjoy the blissful surroundings. One small pillow for each person also, I like two.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spikeozangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

For a 3 star hotel, it has excellent value, small rooms (definitely not a king size bed), but very clean, with a spacious and newly renovated bathroom. Very calm, maybe because we were at the top floor, facing the garden. Good continental breakfast, very friendly service, with attentions to details (quality croissants and confiture) you wouldn't expect in a 3 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colesbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Welcoming, tasteful hotel not far from the spectacular centre of Nancy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhodriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Hotel La Résidence is situated on the main route through Nancy, approximately 20 minutes walk from the centre. Trams pass the door, and all head towards the town centre. Parking is almost impossible outside the hotel, but there is safe parking a couple of blocks away, costing 6 Euros per night. Ask at reception where the parking is – it is east to find, but it is in a one way system.

Our family room was situated at the rear of the hotel, and was therefore very quiet. The room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom had recently been tastefully refurbished, and there was a separate toilet/cloakroom in the room, unfortunately without a wash hand basin.

The breakfast was excellent, although there was no choice. Each person receives a croissant, brioche, a bread roll and a petit pain aux chocolat (all freshly baked) with a glass of fresh orange, yogurt with apple puree and coffee/tea. Breakfast was served courteously and with a smile.

The service at the hotel was excellent. The receptionist was extremely helpful in all ways.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

First impressions: the hotel is on a VERY noisy street (not only cars but a tram that rattles like a carriage from hell). Public parking in front of the hotel does not feel secure, but there is safe parking nearby (6 euro).

The receptionists were very kind and helpful.

The hall and the reception area are nicely decorated, and there is an elevator.

The bathroom tiny with dated decor (chipped tile etc), not at all like the pictures you can find on the hotel page.
The room was also small, but nice.
The double glazing was very effective in blocking the noise, but on a particularily hot weekend in May and we would have liked to open the window (not an option).
I imagine it gets even noisier when the primary school (just opposite) is in!
This would likely not be a problem in the colder months, as the windows DO block the noise.

We did not try the breakfast - a bit sharp at 8,5 eu. We had our breakfast for less in one of the cafes in Place Stanislaus, with the superb view as a bonus :)

The hotel is close to the Ecole de Nancy (Art Nouveau) museum and you can easily take a tram to get into the centre.

Not sure would stay here again. If you do, insist on a room that does not overlook the street.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CityMousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.5 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#4 of 40 in Nancy
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Nancy Centre Gare et Congres
0.7 mi away
Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Residence

Address: 30 boulevard Jean Jaures, 54000, Nancy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Price Range: £58 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing