We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather too ensuite”
Review of Hotel des Prelats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Prelats
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rather too ensuite”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

"In the bedroom, does the ensuite toilet have a door?" is not the kind of phrase you expect to need when booking a room in a charming, old fashioned hotel. But I have now memorised it in French, because at this hotel our room contained a 4-poster bed, a shower stall with a door, and a toilet without one. Yes, the toilet is right there in the room, behind a litte half-height wall. Yes, the desk said, some of the rooms are like this. Unfortunately we are full so we can't give you another room. Dommage. Also dommage, my French isn't good enough to enquire whose idea this was, and ask sarcastically about the apparent shortage of timber in Nancy, or of carpenters. Other than this the hotel was fine, pleasant and old fashioned as advertised, and central. No AC (except on the 3rd floor) but thick walls so this wasn't too bad. But on booking, do remember to ask: "Dans la chambre, les toilettes a une porte?"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TieOnTheFeedbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    193
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
27
172
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and loved it. A beautiful old building with period furniture and an ambience of peace and tranquillity while being a moments walk from Stanislas square and the main attractions in Nancy. Easy to get to from the train station (10 minutes walk) the staff were helpful and welcoming. Rooms are individually furnished. Ours had a fantastically large bathroom which was marred by the lack of a shower (hand held only) and by the fact that at certain popular times the water can take a few minutes to heat up. The rooms do not have a safe but the hotel will store your valuables for you on request.
We really loved staying here and would recommend it highly,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We used des Prelats for its proximity to the city centre and for this it was excellent. It is 5 minutes walk from Stanislas Square and the bars and bistros surrounding it. The Hotel staff were friendly, polite and tols us about the city on registrations. The room room was clean, quite (despite out looking on the main street) and very well appointed. All in all a good night stop over on our way from the UK to Switzerland, but could equally be used as a base for a city break.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were cycling from Prague to Paris for charity and booked this hotel for a stopover in Nancy. Unfortunately due to the poor weather we were unable to get to Nancy and needed to rebook 50 miles short. We therefore tried to cancel our booking but despite doing so within 24 hours of our arrival this hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy and invoked this by charging us the full £523-00. At the same time they were pushing us for whether we would make it Nancy so they could re sell the rooms. Within their terms and conditions but uncharitable and the 9 cyclists who have raised in excess of £13K will foot the bill. Maybe a donation towards the Charity will follow from the proprietors?

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyjvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A excellent location right in the heart of the city. Rooms are reasonable size, our twin room had a bathroom which was almost as big although only a shower. Good breakfast,service and helpful reception. Our room at the back meant we could sleep with the window open. Good wi-fi.
Bus/tram tickets can be bought at reception although if you are going to use them a better bargain of 10 journeys can be got from the machine at the tram stop opposite hotel. Five minute walk to the lovely Stanislas Square and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
658 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a charming hotel in a location that can't be beat.
We loved our stay here - the room was so beautiful - four-poster bed, deep bath tub, cozy and welcoming with beautiful antique furniture pieces throughout. The service was friendly and professional, the hotel was clean and well-loved. Two things though - if you are a light sleeper (like myself), bring earplugs as the hotel is old and you can hear people in the halls on the hardwood. Also, the wifi - we were on the 2nd floor, down the hall from the router and were not able to get an internet connection. We had to stand out in the hall to get this. Not a huge deal but the hotel employees knew of the problem and obviously it was not a priority to amend. We didn't get the breakfast as it was pricey and there is literally a bakery on every corner outside and parking is tricky. There is no onsite parking so you can park in a parkade about two blocks away that will cost you 12Euro for 24 hours. But - superb location and a memorable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is unique and everything is great about this place ... except for an important detail: don't make any phone call from the landline provided in the room. I tried it and when understanding that this would be charged at a special (unknown!) rate, I hung up the phone. But that was too late as I had pressed the button to exit the main system, so as to be able to call outside. Thus, I had implicitly accepted the terms of use. But I did not talk! The day after, I was told at the reception that I had to pay € 6.5 for this 'service' that I hadn't eventually used! There was no way to convince them otherwise, the receptionist would not be open to any of my protest nor to listen to me. So they charged me this anyway. A total RIP-OFF! Strongly NOT recommended as they ignore their most important asset: the client!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prelats, Responsable réception at Hotel des Prelats, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur,

Je vous remercie de votre avis qui contribue à l'amélioration de notre service.
Effectivement, vous avez essayé de joindre un numéro spécial qui nous même nous a été facturé par France télécoms très cher. Je comprends que certain numéros spéciaux vous facturent dès que vous allez être mis en relation. Et cela même si vous avez raccroché très vite. Cette arnaque est effective et je vous l'accorde. Cependant, dans chaque chambre il y a un affichage obligatoire des tarifs de communication qui précise le coup d'impulsion téléphonique. Nous regrettons ce désagrément et nous vous assurons de faire le maximum lors de votre prochain séjour.
Vos dévoués
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#3 of 40 in Nancy
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#2 of 40 in Nancy
146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Prelats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Prelats

Property: Hotel des Prelats
Address: 56 Place Monseigneur Ruch, 54000, Nancy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Prelats 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About 100m far from the Stanislas Place, in an old Episcopal house dated of 1609 where the primate of Lorraine lived, built between the Cathedral and the flower garden of the Nuns of the union, you will find the charm of yesteryear in those tester beds comparable with Prelates' cubicles in each room.Charming hotel decorated with simple, noble and warm material, get carried away by silence in a residence with a lot of character and with a modern convenience combining waxed furniture and walls impregnated with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Prelats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing