We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Prelats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Prelats
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had just a one night stay here. Lovely boutique-style hotel with lots of character. Only slightly odd thing was the stained glass window between the bathroom & the bedroom, so a little lacking in privacy for whoever you're sharing the room with. This is an old building so appreciate the history rather than criticise it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    181
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
26
165
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The location of this hotel is the best part - it's located just a few short blocks from Place Stansislaus, which is the main reason to visit this lovely town. It's very close to nice restaurants which are located off little streets off the beautiful square.

The hotel is old but very nice. Our room was on the second floor w/o air conditioning but the weather was cool enough so that wasn't an issue. The room itself was decorated very nicely. It had lovely high ceilings and the decor was tasteful. The bathroom was fine with all "mod cons."

The breakfast we paid for was definitely not worth the price. Not enough variety. It's served in a little alcove off the lobby which is nice and bright.

If coming to Nancy again I would stay here again but have my breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

142€ wirhout breakfast is way too much for such an allegedly luxury category room which they call "category prelats"
very noisy location
small TV, really ridiculous
very small room
basic facilities
no mini bar in room
no air conditioning (in order to sleep with windows closed)
no drinking water in room
curtains do not close properly
bed almost falling apart

well well well well...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100-Hotels-pro-Jahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights having booked through internet. It was hot and there was no aircon. The alternative at night was to open the window but the street is busy and noisy(tram). The receptionist said we should have asked for rooms on the 3rd floor with aircon. The fact is when we checked in she did not offer. Disappointing, even if apart from that the hotel is pleasant and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

For a short stay in the center of Nancy this is an ideal hotel.Simple,efficient and with a good breakfast.With one step outside the door you are inthe beautiful center of Nancy.The hotel does not have a restaurant so the location is important.In walking distance one can find good and affordable small restaurants.Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having noted this hotel on our last visit to Nancy (when we stayed at the very disappointing Mercure Centre hotel) we made this our first choice when booking this recent visit, and were not disappointed. The Hotel dates back to 1609 and was the mansion home of the Primate of Lorraine, and is attached to the cathedral itself, in fact one of the formerly external arches of cathedral decorated with two cherubs is now one of the walls of our suite.

The suite is very spacious and comfortable, being on the top floor it is also quiet. I'm pleased to say (regarding another recent reviewer's comment) the WC has a very sturdy door, although the bath & shower are within the room, which is fine as long as you are not travelling with a stranger. There is Air Conditioning in the room too. The only negative comment I would add is that the WiFi does not work from this room despite there being a signal repeater half way down the corridor.

There are a few parking spaces immediately outside the hotel (pay & display), if you're not lucky enough to get into one of these there is a large indoor car park only 100m away towards Place Stanislas.

A visit to Place Stanislas is not to be missed, good bars and restaurants there also.

Breakfast is a little pricey at €12 per person, especially as it is continental style only, but it is of a good quality. Staff are friendly, informative and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerfrom203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

"In the bedroom, does the ensuite toilet have a door?" is not the kind of phrase you expect to need when booking a room in a charming, old fashioned hotel. But I have now memorised it in French, because at this hotel our room contained a 4-poster bed, a shower stall with a door, and a toilet without one. Yes, the toilet is right there in the room, behind a litte half-height wall. Yes, the desk said, some of the rooms are like this. Unfortunately we are full so we can't give you another room. Dommage. Also dommage, my French isn't good enough to enquire whose idea this was, and ask sarcastically about the apparent shortage of timber in Nancy, or of carpenters. Other than this the hotel was fine, pleasant and old fashioned as advertised, and central. No AC (except on the 3rd floor) but thick walls so this wasn't too bad. But on booking, do remember to ask: "Dans la chambre, les toilettes a une porte?"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TieOnTheFeedbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#6 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Crystal
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#8 of 40 in Nancy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
2.8 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Prelats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Prelats

Property: Hotel des Prelats
Address: 56 Place Monseigneur Ruch, 54000, Nancy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Prelats 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About 100m far from the Stanislas Place, in an old Episcopal house dated of 1609 where the primate of Lorraine lived, built between the Cathedral and the flower garden of the Nuns of the union, you will find the charm of yesteryear in those tester beds comparable with Prelates' cubicles in each room.Charming hotel decorated with simple, noble and warm material, get carried away by silence in a residence with a lot of character and with a modern convenience combining waxed furniture and walls impregnated with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Prelats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing