We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Metz Centre
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here just for overnight stop over.
Nice hotel, comfortable and relaxing.
I was with coach tour so there 46 people in our party. Food was excellent and served by nice waitresses who were pleasant and helpful.
All our party were on 2nd floor,they seem to be upgrading the 1st floor, don't worry, this is not o problem, you wouldn't know they were there and will be finished shortly.
Rooms were roomy, fresh and clean. Big TV in each room with plenty channels.
Ensuite has bath with shower over and is quite good, plenty towels and soaps n gels around.
Coffee and tea facilities in every room.
Fridge in bedroom with 1no free bottle of water.
Good nights sleep had by all in comfortable beds.

Well worth
a look. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reviloroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci beuacoup de cet avis positif sur notre hôtel que je partage volontier avec mes collaborateurs. A très bientôt ! Francis Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Always in " Le Club ACCOR Hotels, the "sejour" is a pleasure, but I was so luchy to return in Metz, Francethe in time of celebretation of 6 JUNE DAY and the Mercure Hotel was more hosptality as ever, every moments we had feeling to be very welcome , the services was impecabil, cusine excelent, drinks bar very rich and breakfeast realy huge ( the european, asiatic type of food, fruits or nonalchoolic drinks and a largr sortiment of traditional Alsacian products).
After a very somptous dinner, we went in Central Circus, full of tourists, French families, children .students in an wonderful athmosphere! Also we got the ACCOR hotels free loyality program, and allredy used it in Romania, at Ibis Hotel Sibiu Eva Chiser

Room Tip: The rooms with viiew at Boulvard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com
Thank EvaChiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Bests regards. Francis Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

fairly Basic bedroom, needed a good revamp. it had a mini bar and coffee facilities.in room, excellent breakfast, ideal for an overnight stop but would not choose for a longer stay. Better hotels for longer stay available nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello, Thank you so much for letting us known your opinion about your stay in our hotel. All our rooms will be renovated untill next year. We hoppe see you soon again.
Bests regards F Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night en route to Milan, was later when we arrived so porterage very welcome and organised. The room was clean with coffee, minibar and water although a little basic the rest of the room was fine for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very good and a decent selection of continental and cooked on offer, coffee machine great :) probably won't be in the area again, but no complaints for one night.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CandyM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you to let us known that you had a good feeling with the team.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations. All our rooms will be renovated untill next year.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Bests regards
F Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Myself and two friends travelled to Metz, using it as a central base for our ventures into Verdun, Luxemburg, the Maginot line, and beyond. The reason we chose this particular hotel was because of its central location in the town – it was close to the main route in and out of Metz, and close to a wide range of bars and restaurants. The room rate was higher than others that we looked at, but not only was it central, it also had free car parking within the grounds of the hotel, which was a real bonus.
One of our friends booked directly through the hotel a couple of days before we travelled – his room rate was cheaper than ours and included breakfast, which our rate didn’t, which surprised us! But hey, he took a gamble by booking late due to personal reasons, and the gamble paid off.
The other odd thing was that his room on the 1st floor had a bidet in the bathroom, while my other friend and I didn’t have one in our rooms on the third floor. Personally I would have liked to have one and I was surprised not to find one in a continental hotel in a city like Metz.
Our rooms were fairly spacious, bright and clean. However, the decor was looking a little tired and in the bathroom, some parts were getting a bit tatty. Don’t get me wrong, the rooms were clean and well-presented, but for the price we were paying (about 70 Euros per night) I would have expected a slightly higher standard. Also, the hall carpets were looking stained and worn. However, in fairness I appreciate that hotels cannot redecorate every time they get a stain on the carpet so I would imagine that once every ten years or so they will redecorate, and for all I know this could have been year ten!
Breakfast would have cost us an extra 16 Euros per night, which we weren’t prepared to pay – especially as my other friend is a light eater so it would really have been a waste – especially when there were several small restaurants open doing croissants, baguettes, etc, and there was even a baker/patisserie across the road from the hotel.
Bar prices, as we expected, were quite high at around 7 Euros for a half litre of lager. Not a terrible price for a hotel, and at least the beer was very good.
Where the hotel really triumphed was with the staff – the receptionists spoke very good English, and were very polite and helpful However, the bar and restaurant staff were even better! On the first two nights we had two different guys who had a very good sense of humour and made us feel at home. But credit must really go to Aude, a lovely young lady who served us for the last two nights and was courteous and helpful beyond the call of duty. A big thank you Aude!
Generally the hotel seemed to be used for people not only on business trips, but for coach parties of people on their way to Switzerland, Austria or Italy. Over the four nights we were there we had three different English coach parties turn up in the evening, with a swift departure the next morning.
Overall, not a bad hotel, and yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Main road at the front, and car park at the back. The kitchens are also at the back so it can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello, Thank you so much for letting us known your very good opinion about your stay in our hotel. All our rooms will be renovated untill next year. All the staff of the reception and Aude are so happy to know that you liked them during your stay. We hoppe see you soon again.
Bests regards F Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel staff were very welcoming, but the rooms were poor, badly stained toilet chipped walls and tired looking bed linen. The restaurant was fine as was the food and service, certainly ideal as an overnight stop..

Room Tip: Check out your room. Make sure you have a trip to the cathedral and see the stained glass it is a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purdy123Broxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies. All our rooms will be renovated untill next year.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Bests regards F Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a number of years Metz has been our regular overnight stop on our journey back to the UK. In previous years we have stopped at one of the out of town hotels dotted around the city for a single night. This year we decided that we would actually like to see the city and opetd for two nights in a city centre hotel. having previously stayed at a number of Mercure hotels throughout France we decided to treat ourselves to some 'four star' luxury. Unfortunately the Metz Mercure Centre more closely resembles a budget hotel than a four star establishment.

The room was small! I can't say when the hotel was built but I would guess 1970's and certainly the furniture bore more than a passing resemblance to 1970's G plan furniture, dated, worn out and badly in need of repair/replacement. The room came with two mismatched chairs, one looking like refugee from a Butlin's dining room! The carpet and wall paper were both badly stained.

According to the hotel website the rooms are equipped with Pulse Air and Air Conditioning. I don't know what pulse air is supposed to be , but the air conditioning certainly wasn't working, even with the thermostat turned down to 15C our third floor room was unbearably hot on the second night.

The website also lists an emergency exit map amongst the room features. Again not in our room. On our second afternoon the hotel's fire alarm system sounded. there being no map in the room we made our way to the lifts expecting there to be clear directions to the nearest emergency staircase.... there were none there We made our way to one end of the corridor where we found a door marked emergency exit, on opening the door we found a very dark, steep, spiral staircase. Not wanting to risk this we made our way to the other end of the corridor where we found another staircase, still in darkness, but much wider, we went down these stairs passing a number of doors which were unlabelled, the first door we went through thinking it to be the ground floor was in fact the first floor corridor, so we had to retrace our steps and went further down eventually exiting into the street. Now the alarm having sounded on would have expected hotel staff to be in attendance along the exit routes. we went into reception, where the alarm was not sounding and advised the receptionist that there was an alarm sounding on the third floor. She then informed us that it was a 'test'. I suggested that it might have been a good idea to advise clients that the alarms were to be tested and also pointed out the shortfall in the emergency signing system at the hotel. She said she would look into the matter. Needless to say we heard nothing more!

The bathroom. Like the rest of the room this was dated, worn out and in desperate need of updating. The bath/shower combination included a shower screen that did not touch the top of the bath leaving a big gap for water to soak the floor. Stained toilet bowl and sink surround.

Tea and coffee making facilities. Yes this Mercure does have them. However whereas most hotels of this category have progressed to coffee pods and fresh milk in the mini bar, Mercure Metz still provides a kettle and a single sachet of instant coffee per person along with the tiniest portions of long life 'creamer' we have ever seen. Oh yes, I almost forgot .... paper cups !!!

Checkout, the receptionist made no effort to ask about our stay and seemed only concerned that we had not used the mini bar or taken the option of the 16.90 euro breakfast!

On a positive note, the hotel does have 'free' gated parking.

Whilst we loved the city and will more than likely return, we cannot recommend this Mercure hotel, and indeed will do a lot of research before using an unknown Mercure in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azzurro_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#9 of 30 in Metz
973 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#2 of 30 in Metz
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
0.8 mi away
Ibis Metz Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Metz Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Metz Centre

Address: 29 Place Saint Thiebault, 57000, Metz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Metz Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Metz, 300 meters from the station, near different motorway access, Mercure Metz Centre provides comfortable accomodation for business trips or leisure stays. To satisfy your culture cravings in the capital Lorraine, enjoy the proximity of our hotel with the Pompidou Center, the Musee De La Cour D'Or and St Etienne Cathedral. Combination of elegance and modern comfort, discover the hotel Mercure for seminars and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Metz Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing