We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet hotel well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Metz
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Internet hotel well situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Well situated in the center of shopping and other activities. You can drive your car to the hotel and unload your belongings. The parking is in a huge parking cave some blocks away. The room was spacious, tidy and met all expectations you can have for the affordable price we had booked it for. The Internet (W-lan) worked with a speed up to 7Mb/s!! Staff where very helpful and spoked a good English.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    38
    29
    19
    11
See reviews for
15
32
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
diss
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I see the other reviews and not everyone loved it but we did. Great location, room small but nicely done.We would return. Have a coffee in the cafe opposite Les Halles which was the best we had all holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here about 8 years ago wasn't great then now worse. Bathroom and toilet built into bedroom, very small. Can touch the door when sitting on the pot. Noise carries through the hotel from adjacent rooms and corridors, breakfast adequate. Central location but Metz is quite compact so other hotels would be fine for location

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Metz hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Surprisingly large hotel with maze like corridors. Decent rooms and facilities but decor and appliances dated. It's location and deal with the large parking nearby makes it an affordable one night stop, but no longer than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotterdammerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Metz and the staff are friendly. Otherwise the hotel is clean, well maintained but a little dated. The breakfast was a standard buffet affair with a decent range of options. My room faced onto a courtyard at the back which meant it was quiet.

There is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel and it is a pleasant space to stay but these days you can get a little more for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toomuchtravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you want to experience the heart of Metz, this is it! We've stayed here twice, mostly because there is secure parking in the hotel and you can walk out to the cathedral and restaurants. The rooms are fine - furniture standard, bathrooms small but adequate but the noise from the street stops around midnight and starts again at 6 am so not good for light sleepers unless you ask for a room at the back. Also, getting to it is a bit hairy as you drive right down the pedestrian area and a good satnav is recommended to get round the narrow streets. Breakfast is, however, good with lots of variety and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelD633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked this hotel after travelling widely in Germany, Austria and Italy, choosing to drive home from Italy via Metz. Every hotel and restaurant we had visited during our holiday welcomed my request for gluten-free options for my wife who has coeliac disease. Only the Grand Hotel de Metz refused. I was met with a blank "Non!" - despite speaking fluent French and explaining our needs well in advance of our stay. "Non!" they did not have gluten-free foods. "Non!" they could not get anything in time for our visit. "Non!" they could not recommend a restaurant with a gluten free option. The stairs were grubby and the wi-fi internet promised by reception did not reach our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheapmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#14 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#7 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#3 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Metz Centre
Kyriad Metz Centre
#6 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#1 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Metz

Property: Grand Hotel de Metz
Address: 3 rue des Clercs, 57000, Metz, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Metz 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de Metz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing