We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
very nice cathedral with superb stained glasses

This building is surely worth a visit. The stained glasses are astonishing. Very nice statues at... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2021
jefkette
,
Brussels, Belgium
Spectacular Cathedral - Largest collection of Stained Glass in the World!

We visited Metz in May 2019 during our research for our upcoming book "Flavour with Benefits... read more

Reviewed 9 December 2020
charlesbH4893MP
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 2,868 reviews
  
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,868 results
Traveller rating
2,036
742
77
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,036
742
77
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass marc chagall gothic architecture worth a visit beautiful city impressive building cathedral france light interior gargoyles century candles jacques stone christmas organ
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,868 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

An amazing cathedral. Unbelievable colour, abundance of stained glass windows and remarkable carvings. A monumental structure that leaves a lasting impression. Simply stunning.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank suburbankatness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the campsite for a couple of nights right on the river in Metz . While there we took a walk up to the cathedral and it blew me away walking around it and inside is incredible. The work that must have gone into building it back in the day is unreal and the most amazing stained glass work as well. Altogether a must see for anyone visiting Metz even if you aren’t religious. Take a peek you won’t be dissapointed

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Icemandave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

Set right in the centre, with a remarkable colour, this cathedral is quite a sight and hard to miss when in Metz.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Great variety of stained glass from medieval to modern. The real thing when it comes to cathedrals. Nice organ concert as well.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Sheriann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

The cathedral itself is stunning. Make sure you go down in the tombs underneath. Our favorite is to have coffee and sit it the square by the cathedral. There are so many wonderful bakeries and sweet shops, and unusual gift and quality craft shops down the side streets. There is a small train that goes from the back of the cathedral down to the city proper where you can walk along the Moselle canal. There is no shortage of amazing French restaurants - plan for dinner to take 2+hours.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jaywing18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews