We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service , Secure Parking, superb Breakfast, Quiet immaculate room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citotel Cecil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Citotel Cecil Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service , Secure Parking, superb Breakfast, Quiet immaculate room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you want location, secure parking, immaculate room and outstanding service this is the place in Metz France.
My wife and I spent 18 Sept 2013 here in a very quiet well appointed room. As our Baggage had been lost on arrival CDG 17 Sept we were very concerned. Both Natalhie and Anthony on the front desk went out of their way phoning Air France Baggage to try to locate our luggage and have it delivered as we were transiting eastward by car. Because of their efforts we received our baggage 20 Sept in Prague.
The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the famous cathedral. There are great restaurants within 5 minutes walk.The Hotel is a very well refurbished 1940 hotel , very elegant and well priced (100 euros all included)..The secure parking was a little tight but with Natalhie's assistance we were guided in safely . Breakfast was superb!!
This is a great place to stay in Metz and the Front Desk Service is as good as the Ritz, much better than 90% of the places I have stayed in over 50 years of travelling.
We also had a very nice quiet French dinner for 2 in a restaurant just two doors away called the
Le Bistrot des Sommeliers. A carafe of very good Merlot House Wine and 2 dinners for 39 Euros total.

Room Tip: I think they would be all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pistol13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    93
    26
    2
    7
See reviews for
36
59
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is very near the Station and the Centre Pompidou - the personnel friendly and helpful. The wifi is free and works. The price is reasonable and the hotel is clean. the breakfast is not bad. So all-in-all this is not a bad deal. But the hotel is rather dingy and lacks charm. The bedrooms are not spacious and the beds on the hard side.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyhugotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel is OK. But although clean and with friendly and helpful staff, it has a slightly drab feel. Maybe Metz is a bit more expensive than some other cities, but we stayed at nicer hotels for similar or less in Colmar, Nancy and Strasbourg, so I wonder if better quality might also be found elsewhere at this price in Metz. As the weather was very hot, we also mistakenly thought there would be air-conditioning because an a/c unit could be seen in the photo of the room on booking.com. It turned out that only a few (more expensive) rooms have a/c and our room (at the back of the hotel) was uncomfortably hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

A good, old fashioned city hotel near the monumental Central Station. A good starting point to visit the very charming old Metz. Good room, good bathroom with a window. Clean. Standard breakfast, but acceptable. The atmosphere is clearly "travelling salesman", but hey! They know where to stay! Garage available with a fee. Overnight parking by the sidewalk free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelguest055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel we realised that the entrance to the private garage parking would be problematic as we had a VW transporter with a long wheel drive. However, the owner of the hotel was extremely helpful and very skilled in guiding us in. All the staff were very good.

The rooms were stylish and comfortable. There was a fan assisted air cooler provided in our room. Breakfast was good. There was a charge of 8.5 euros per person and the garage parking was 9 euros. However, as parking is limited, it is advisable to book. Alternative parking nearby is possible, but would be quite difficult in the daytime.

The centre of the city is very walkable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed in a quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The room was fine. The breakfast buffet was good and at a reasonable price. There was free wifi. The hotel is not far from the new Pompidou Centre. We had reserved parking, it was a tight squeeze, though, getting through the garage entrance. The staff were very nice and helpful. This hotel represented good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Cecil Hotel was a definite keeper. The hotel was very well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The cost is extremely reasonable as well. The only thing that kept it from being excellent was the location. It was in a nice part of town, just a little outside the city center. It was a 20 minute walk to the center of the old town and the cathedral. The walk was very pleasant and the bus was very easy and the bus stop was half a block from the hotel, so it was easy to get to the center of the city, however, you didn't walk right out the front door and there it was. Although the hotel is very conveniently located a very short walk from the train station. The closest bakery was about 10 minutes away. In France you are usually never more than 2 minutes from the closest corner bakery. But again the walk was pleasant. I would recommend the Cecil Hotel to anyone traveling to Metz, France. Very good exerience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_machen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#1 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Metz Centre
Kyriad Metz Centre
#6 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#8 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#2 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Cecil Hotel

Property: Citotel Cecil Hotel
Address: 14 rue Pasteur, 57000, Metz, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Cecil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Citotel Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing