We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh so French!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Oh so French!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our room in the Annex. It was so well decorated and cozy. Would have rated it a 5 but no elevators does make it a challenge if you have luggage and you are on the 3rd floor. The cathedral view is gorgeous at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CEGDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    127
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
197
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is not perfect, but the wonderful French decor and supremely helpful staff make up for any imperfections. Our welcome was extremely warm and despite our being younger than madame, she insisted on trying to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. Sense prevailed after our protestations and a young waiter from the restaurant eventually took the heaviest bags. The staircases are wooden and quite uneven, so a warning to those who are not as young as they were or, as in the case of my daughter, have just had a cast off a broken limb!
We stayed here one night each way to and from Austria, as Metz is half way. Our first night bedroom was a simple but comfortable twin room on the top floor with a wonderful view of the beautiful cathedral and perfectly adequate bathroom. This is a 3 star hotel, so don't expect luxury. Our second night stay was in a double bedroom on the first floor and a single bedroom on the second. No view of the cathedral, but lovely French decor, antique furniture and rugs. The double room had a sitting room and 2 televisions and was very prettily decorated with 'toile de jouy' fabric.
The single room was 'small but perfectly formed' and again very prettily decorated in blues. All three rooms are typically French in style and feel, which is such a welcome change from the synthetic uniformity of modern hotels.
Breakfast buffet selection gave a good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheese, pastries, cakes and croissants, with fresh orange juice. Although on our second stay the array had been somewhat depleted by a tour group of German people who got in before us and there was not a great choice of bread, one slice of ham and no proper yoghurt left. However, because on the first day, the coffee machine wasn't working, and because of the lack of choice on the second occasion, we had a breakfast cost discounted each time, which was given voluntarily as we had not commented on either of these events. Bottled water was offered freely both before retiring and for both our onward journeys. Both younger people at reception were extremely helpful with directions to the restaurants we were going to and for our exit out of the town, which wasn't that easy. There is a covered public carpark a stone's throw from the hotel and all in all it is an excellent place to stay in Metz, which is a magnificent town. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms of the Cathedral is lovely, but the rooms at the back are just as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagIul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed two nights in a room overlooking the cathedral. The room was spacious, furnished with antiques, and the hotel is like staying in your rich aunt's old mansion. The staff was among the most helpful and pleasant I've ever met - they made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was outstanding: at least 10 types of fruit and excellent coffee and pastries. They even had my favourite yogurt.

Now for the less-than excellent: our bed was so hard the first night I dreamt I was in prison! Fortunately, after I mentioned it to the clerk in the morning (excellent staff!) they were able to put a mattress pad on the bed which made it much more comfortable the second night. Also, the Wi-Fi was very spotty and kept disconnecting in our room. The manager wondered why we spent so much time in a bench in the lobby :) Still, a well-deserved 4 out of five. I would go back (and ask for a softer bed!)

Room Tip: We loved the view of the Cathedral, but the street is noisy. We were able to close our window at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on a work trip, the rooms are very old but comfortable and you really feel like your in France! We had a room on the top floor at the front of the hotel and had the best views of the Cathedral (especially when its lit up at night!). In the morning we didnt have breakfast but went just over the road where there was a great market with lots of fresh meat and fruit/veg.

I wouldnt normally stay in a hotel like this as I prefer more modern hotels but it did the job for one night and there were no problems or complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for amazing views of the Cathedral opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived in Metz on the 27th December to our pre-booked hotel: The Hotel de la Cathedral.
Reports on this hotel had been positive so we had decided to make it our overnight stop.
Not always easy to find a decent stop over at this time of the year but all of our e-mails had been answer promptly.

Everything went smoothly and we even found a place to park in the underground car park across the road from the hotel.

Our room was exactly as described and was clean and warm with a perfect view of the Cathedral opposite. All good.

Breakfast next morning was first class with a great selection of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed (real!) orange juice and an impressive choice of cakes and pastries. The hotel manager was one of the most friendly and helpful guys I have met and believe me I have met some managers that don't deserve to stand in his shadow.

All in all a good experience and reasonable cost. Try it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all double glazed but if you want the view at the front expect a little noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEssexPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Hotel de la Cathedrale deserves its positive reviews! The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and a very good value. Lunch was also great in their couscous restaurant. Our room was large and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the cathedral. It was also quiet. The hotel's location is excellent for wandering around Metz, which is an appealing city that deserves to be better known. It is also close to many restaurants, shops, etc. This hotel is an excellent choice and an incredible value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We were travelling eastwards towards the wine and food trail and booked a one night stopover in Metz at this lovely hotel.
We wished we had stayed longer such was the charm and beauty of this town.We had a magnificent 1st floor room facing the cathedral which was spacious and beautifully appointed.
We woke the following morning to see the cathedral bathed in a suspended mist which was so lovely.
Sunlight soon broke through as we went downstairs in to the breakfast room.We were greeted with a sensational assortment of quality breakfast offerings. We had to take photos - it was such a visual feast!!!!
This town has a lot to offer and is certainly worth visiting for a few days

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank snooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#7 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#3 of 31 in Metz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#1 of 31 in Metz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Metz Centre Cathedrale
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Property: Hotel de la Cathedrale
Address: 25 Place de Chambre, 57000, Metz, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Metz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing