We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "home base" in Albi and environs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L' Hostellerie Du Vigan
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent "home base" in Albi and environs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The proprietors could NOT be more friendly or accommodating. Location is excellent. Facilities are immaculate and more than adequate in terms of comfort. The optional breakfast service is a perfect way to start the day. Excellent value. Perfect home base from which to explore Albi and all the beautiful surrounding medieval villages and towns.

Parking is extremely "tricky". Finding the parking lot entrance (the first time) is surprisingly difficult. Be prepared to take an unexpected city tour!! There is no possibility of street parking at or near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNCGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    118
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
103
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights (10-11 May 2013) on our way to Gerona/Barcelona...
It's not the most modern place to stay, but: the location is perfect in the center of Albi, the staff is very friendly and helpfull, the hotel has his own garage, the breakfast is correct en de price / quality ratio is honest... So, for us, it's a perfect hotel to stay for a couple of days, and..... Albi is a very beautiful city....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luc_demeulemeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plouha, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here in december 2012: very friendly service, and the room was comfortable and plenty of space. Well decorated and a comfortable bed.
The parking will cost you about 8 euros extra in the underground parking , which is a bit tricky to find first time.
very centrally placed , ideal for everyting; restaurants , visits and shopping.
They also have a restaurant at street level which is not too expensive.
The breakfast is nothing special , and we ended up going down the street to the large bistro on the main place .

Room Tip: get a room giving onto the main square if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

The hotel is in the center of medieval Albi, in a area that appeared to have been redeveloped within the last few years. There are several shops and restaurants built into the structure as well as underground public parking under the square (Place Du Vigan). The hotel has its own parking, that is not easy to locate, as it requires driving on what appears to be a pedestrian walkway--but this is France. Additionally, the garage requires an opener available from the front desk which is not close to the carpark. Additionally, the carpark does not have an elevator to the hotel level above, there is a set of fairly steep stairs--otherwise, the hotel is very accessible for those with limited ability for stairs. Our room was small, but adequate, equipped with updated bathroom features, and cheap furnishings.

The reason to stay here is Albi itself. The hotel is a short walk to the Toulouse-Letrec museum, the Cathedral, and indoor market. There is a great place for croissants and a few nice restaurant/bars just outside the hotel. The location makes the overall recommendation very good for an otherwise average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Spent one night here while in Albi and it worked out well. Good central location to cathedral (our favorite of many in France) and the Toulouse Lautrec Museum. Extremely helpful staff. Clean and spacious room. However no window. Train station is a good hike - we took a cab.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice hotel very good value for money, situated in the center of Albi. 10 minutes of walk on foot to hte cathedral. Very nice and very clean, and a very good car garage. It's a great option if you don't want to spend much money on a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is very well located on a large square near the centre of this beautiful city. We were very happy with the accommodation. When we left (very early in the morning) we had difficulty getting out of the nearby underground carpark for which we had already paid on our hotel bill. However, when I wrote to the hotel after our return home, they were very happy to provide a refund. The problem may have been due to a confusion between the carpark the hotel has access to and a public one the other side of the square - or simply to my inadequate French!

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel knows which car park you're using.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.1 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.8 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 25 in Albi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L' Hostellerie Du Vigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L' Hostellerie Du Vigan

Property: L' Hostellerie Du Vigan
Address: 16 Place du Vigan, 81000, Albi, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your L' Hostellerie Du Vigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing