We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like private guests”
Review of Villa Mandarine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Mandarine
Ranked #18 of 27 Albi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Beautiful house with atmospheric and beautiful rooms. Breakfast was a delight with homemade bread, jam and every morning something new and different.
We felt like private guests chatting with the owner receiving good advice on what to see and do.
The villa is within walking distance from the sights and easy to get at by car.
An unforgettable place

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

we stayed here 1 night en route to another town, a fantastic B&B with very warm hosts. The house was very well kept, and filled with collectible comic art. Breakfast was fabulous with almost everything 'home-made', including the jam, yoghurt, bread. A definite recommendation.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gospelfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We spent two night at this lovely B&B in mid-November. This was an outstanding alternative to a regular hotel: a very nice spacious house with our large bedroom on the third floor with its own covered balcony and a pleasant sitting room on the ground floor. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood a 5-minute walk from town. Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety of home-baked breads, yogurt and confitures made by monsieur. Madame who runs the B&B is a true delight, an outstanding hostess and delightful conversation companion (English/French). She even walked us down to the local pharmacy when one of us was fighting a cough to help out with medication. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Third floor room with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmefoiegras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We needed a place for just one night and this was a lovely place to stop. It is a home circa 1938 with some art deco features. You need to be fit as the room is at the very top of the house...so up 2 stories...but it was worth it!!! Good size room with an ensuite and a covered veranda off the room which was nice to sit out on. It was very clean.
Corinne is a dentist and provided a lovely breakfast before she was off to work. She made her own bread and it was fabulous and also had homemade muffins....for sure you won't leave hungry.
Parking was available right outside their outside gate, and we werre lucky to get a spot, but if you were not lucky your car may be a block or so away.
They also had a beautiful swimming pool that you could take advantage of.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

After traveling from Toulouse, which is a bustling city, Villa Mandarine was a great find. The owners were very accomodating, and recommended a fabulous restaurant near the Cathedral.
It was a pleasure to be able to park our car, and walk to the old city which we found facinating and full of history. The breakfast was very nicely served, and had home made specialties which were very good. All in all, we highly recommend this B & B. Warmest regards to Corrine and Mike.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent one week at this place in the Mandarine room. This room is very nice with a separate bathroom, separate toilet and a very agreeable balcon. There is airconditioning which is very comfortable. The owners are really friendly. Always kind to give tips what to visit in the surroundings and which restaurants are good. Every morning we got self baked bread and every day another peace of cake/pancakes. Also self-made yoghurt. The house itself is in a quite street. It only takes about 10 min to go to the centre on foot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maartje T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent two comfortable nights at Villa Mandarine. It is a lovely home in a quiet neighborhood, five minute walking distance from the old city centre.  The owners are warm and welcoming. Corinne is quite fluent in English and Michel helped me with my emerging grasp of French. We are early risers and were served a sumptuous breakfast in the sunny morning room overlooking the pool. Our room, located on the top floor had a fully windowed wall that opened onto a covered veranda, from which we enjoyed a view of the tower of the Cathedral. We had service for tea and coffee in our room as well as everything we needed in the bathroom. We had guessed that someone is a dentist, it is Corinne, when we found small tubes of toothpaste provided for us above the sink. I would definitely recommend Villa Mandarine for its comfort and ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mandarine Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
1 mi away
La Maison de Julia
La Maison de Julia
#2 of 27 in Albi
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Caroline
Villa Caroline
#3 of 27 in Albi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
La Bastide
La Bastide
#4 of 27 in Albi
100 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Hameau de Taur
0.4 mi away
l'Embellie Chambres d'hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandarine

Address: 31 Rue des Jardins, 81000, Albi, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Albi
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two lovely rooms are waiting to you at Villa Mandarine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing