We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T FALL FOR THE OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS SITE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“DON'T FALL FOR THE OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS SITE”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a dreadful excuse for an hotel. There is nothing "Grand" about this place and it hardly qualifies to be described as an "hotel." We were travelling with a party otherwise we would have headed for the Mercure down in Albi. Our room was grotty with dirty walls and a stained carpet. The tiny bathroom was characterised by dirty and missing grouting. There were no facilities for refreshments in the room; no comfortable seating; no safe; and the whole room was seedy, in dire need of redecoration and deep cleaning. The public areas were little better.

We gave up on the dining room after the first evening. It took two hours to serve the meal, and we left before the last course. The food was distinctly unimpressive and the staff clearly found it difficult to cope with a dining room that was just over half full.

The breakfast room, like our bedroom, was in dire need of redecoration and cleaning - the blinds in particular bearing the dust and grime of months, if not years. The breakfast was little better than tolerable.

Don't be fooled by the photograph of the swimming pool. The "diving board" is a narrow plank, creating a false impression of the size of the pool. In reality it's tiny and no more than two strokes in length.

Staff were more or less indifferent to guests and not helpful when some people asked for help with a problem.

On the positive side, and I'm really trying here, it's close to the railway station and only a short walk to the cathedral and town centre - just as well, as most of our food had to come from local restaurants and the market.

Overall, a pretty dire experience and not even good value - the Mercure in town is only about 30 Euros per night more expensive and it's a world apart from the so called "Grand Hotel." Economical accommodation doesn't have to be this poor.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    82
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
26
61
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Not so far from the centre of Albi as other reviews suggest. About ten minutes to the cathedral, slightly less to the shops. Reasonable value; food OK, but better and more interest to be had in the centre of town Air conditioning not very efficient, and double beds rather small. Staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast good, if limited (typical French), with good coffee

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alpha1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hotel is opposite the station and there's a bus stop right outside, but the bus doesn't go in to the centre of the city. Taxis are expensive. After a day of sightseeing you have a 15-20 minute walk back to the hotel. My room had a funny smell which fresh air and a perfumed candle didn't get rid of. For a fairly modern hotel the walls were very thin. The pillows were very hard and uncomfortable. There was no computer available for customer's use although free Wi-Fi was available if you had your own laptop.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystad, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I stayed at this hotel between 21-22 August 2008 and paid 60 euro + 10 for breakfast. The hotel is easy to find, just follow signs to the rail station (Gare S.N.C.F) and it is right across the street. Parking is free outside the railway station so that was easily solved. Checking in was about 10 seconds and I got a room on the 4th floor. Staff speaks pretty good English which wasn’t the case for many of the inhabitants of Albi. The room was medium-sized with separate (!) toilet and bathroom, nothing special at all. The bed was OK and quite wide. Designer room isn’t exactly the two words that came to my mind when seeing the room but for sleeping 8 hours I don’t care. A LCD-TV is the closest to design we can get and it showed a number of French channels with BBC and CNN. WiFi was extremely expensive so I didn’t try it at all. There was a picture of a pool so I guess there is a pool at the hotel, didn’t have time to check it out. Rumours say the hotel restaurant is pretty good but I didn’t try it so…

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Albi but the location next to the station is convenient for those going by train. Albi is quite small and the no. 1 sight is the cathedral I guess. There are several cafes/bars/bistros in the center and should serve all tastes of food well.

Breakfast was (as always in cheaper French hotels) a slight disappointment with some youghurts, cereals, the mandatory baguette and croissants etc. For 5 euro it would be OK but 10 euro for that is too much.

For 60 euro the hotel is totally acceptable but get your breakfast someplace else, 3 out of 5.

  • Liked — Good location for OK price
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Coffe_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.6 mi away
Relais et Chateaux La Reserve
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
1.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel d'Orleans

Property: Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Address: 1 Place Stalingrad, 81000, Albi, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel d'Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel d'Orléans is a spacious and welcoming place to stay in Albi. Our restaurant "Le Goulu", specializes in traditional French cooking. Fully air-conditioned, with swimming pool in summer, a panoramic terrace, interior garden, bar, seminar rooms, the hotel is suitable for all types of guests, tourists and business persons alike. Our bedrooms are all equipped with hair-dryer, satellite TV and Canal+. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albi
Albi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing