We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tour Sainte Cecile
Ranked #4 of 26 Albi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a beautiful hotel and a unique place to stay. The entrance took some finding but what a surprise when you eventually find your way inside! Had the chambre Laperouse which was at the top of the turret accessed by a winding stone staircase. Fantastic views of the Cathedral and surrounding rooftops. Suggest not to have large bag or suitcase as very difficult to access up the spiral stairs. Breakfast served in the owners beautiful sitting room and was lovely: beautiful china, glassware and lovely presentation.

Room tastefully presented with quality fixtures and fittings and a lovely bathroom. Well located but no parking on site but available very close by in parking stations. Didn't realise that Cathedral car ark was free but used a nearby one which was inexpensive. Owner gave free entry ticket to Toulouse Lautrec Museum to guests.

Had a wonderful stay in a beautiful small hotel and would thoroughly recommend. Wished I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Fabulous small boutique hotel, close to city centre Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    19
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent two nights in the chambre Laperouse, based on Trip Advisor recommendations and Internet searches. I can't imagine a better view anywhere in the world than from this eyrie. You have an almost 369 degree view of the Albi roofscape, and as you lie in bed the glorious cathedrale de Sainte-Cecile is framed in the window. If you don't close the shutters (and we didn't) you can watch the floodlit view all night, and the dawn light on this astonishing brick edifice. Breakfast is served by Bertrand in an elegant dining room; he is a humorous and attentive host who has lived in this wonderful building since he was two - an almost various Albigeois. The only downside is the very narrow stone spiral staircase with 43 steps up to the room - not for the faint-hearted, and very hard to manoeuvre our two cases up to the room ( we were at the start of a two week tour). But I shall never, ever forget that view. Merci mille fois Bertrand, de partager cette vie exceptionelle!







-

Room Tip: If you're not faint of heart, then Laperouse is the pinnacle in every sense of the word!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charente Maritime
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

This has to be the place to stay in Albi for a genuine 'unique' experience. Finding the entrance can be an issue and there is no parking on site - look for the metal gate leading down to a small courtyard and a large wooden door marked 14 Bis. However, you can stop outside to drop your bags off (even though it is the shopping precinct) and there is free parking at the cathedral car park - use the lower levels near the viaduct.
We stayed in the chambre Laperouse which is accessed via a winding set of stone steps. Just like a castle's tower! Not so good if you have large bags or suitcases. The view over the city and the cathedral are well worth it though. The room is comfortable and the shower room is clean and well maintained. The provision of a small fridge and kettle were very handy.
Breakfast is served with other guests at a large table in the owners sitting room - a bit bizarre but okay. The owner is very attentive and the breads, butter and jams were all very tasty.
It is very well located right in the heart of the city and once installed you have no need for your car. The Toulouse Lautrec museum (free entrance tickets from the owner) is 2 mins walk and is next to the magnificent cathedral. Overall, a very good place to stay and explore the city of Albi.

Room Tip: If you are fit enough and can carry your bags go for the Chambre Laperouse for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCharenteMaritime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed with Bertrand last month for three nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We selected La Tour based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and glad we did. Bertrand is such a happy man, and loves his B&B and town. We enjoyed his dinner suggestions, too.

We stayed in the Toulouse Lautrec room. Plenty of space, beautifully decorated, nice bathroom, and outstanding views out the windows. The air conditioner was ultra-quiet and had a digital thermostat. We loved the room, but just be aware that it is up a steep and narrow spiral staircase of 25 steps. (By the way, another 25 steps up the staircase is the Laperouse room -- which has absolutely breath taking views of the city.)

Breakfast was very French and of excellent quality, being fresh croissants, bagettes, and yogurt with coffee/tea and orange juice.

The B&B is located only 150' off of the main square / road next to the Cathedral, right down Rue Sainte Cecile. As another reviewer noted, it is best to park in the lot near the Cathedral. We tried to use our GPS to find La Tour, but it wasn't possible to get too close to it due to construction and pedestrian streets. Just find a free space in the lot, and set out on foot to find La Tour.

While staying in Albi, we were surprised to see that maybe 75% of the tourists were French.

Bertrand does provide free tickets to the Toulouse-Lautrec museum. It is right next to the cathedral, and has an amazing collection of his art. The restored building that it is housed in is also a work of art. The building has a wonderful formal garden that overlooks the river.

The Albi cathedral itself is impressive inside and out.

The ATM in the Cathedral square accepted our "chip-less" ATM debit card with no problem.

We did visit the town of Cordes-sur-Ceil while staying in Albi. It is a beautiful (steep) hill-side town only a 30 minute drive from Albi. On a rainy weekday in late September the town was almost deserted which made for great picture taking. But I could believe that it might be very crowded in the summer. We are sorry we didn't get a chance to visit any of the wineries or co-op in Gaillac, as it is only 20 minutes away and produces excellent wines.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at La Tour Sainte Cecile in late September 2012. We were not as impressed as some of the other reviewers, we found it a rather odd place to stay. The four rooms are in a mixed use building and connect with a common room, which can be a bit noisy at times. The rooms are of a reasonable size and interestingly furnished, but look much better on the website than in person. Parking is a bit difficult in town, if you can find the lot marked "Cathedral" keep driving down the ramp and you will find free spaces. If you cannot find this, park in one of the metered two hour spaces and Bertrand will direct you where to move your car. A tip to American visitors, although they accept Visa and Mastercard, the machine will only work with a "chip and pin" card. If you have a swipe type card, you will have to pay cash, so be prepared. There are ATMs l(called "distributors" in France) located nearby. Other than the Cathedral and the Toulouse-Lautres museum (Bertrand will give you free tickets) there is not a lot to see in Albi. We recommend spending an afternoon in Albi and then sleeping elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotHomeForLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The B&B is in an historic building and the owner has done a fantastic conversion. We echo previous comments about the tastefully decorated rooms. They really are very beautiful and comfortable.

The location is amazing - it's right in the old town, close to Cathedral and Toulouse-Lautrec museum. It is a short walk from public parking to the hotel. Look for 14b and a small tasteful sign next to the entrance beyond the gates. The rooms are located at the top floor so you can either take the stairs or the lift.

The owner was entertaining and also very considerate. We travelled with the family and although we had booked separate rooms, he offered to rearrange this at his own cost so we were able to spend an evening together.

We would definitely return, when next in Albi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Everything was just perfect, lovely room, beautifully restored with super features and views, the host very interesting and helpful, great location (secure public parking was fine close by - even with bikes on the back of the car), fellow guests at breakfast were great for our French conversation practice too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.1 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Sainte Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Sainte Cecile

Property: La Tour Sainte Cecile
Address: 14 B rue Sainte Cecile, 81000, Albi, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tour Sainte Cecile 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Albi, some rooms have panoramic views of Albi Cathedral and city centre. Chambres d'Hotes la Tour Sainte-Cecile has uniquely-decorated guest rooms, which are all air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Tour Sainte Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing