We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful rural peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Albi, Tarn, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful rural peaceful location”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved this home - it had everything we needed, was comfortable and setting was peaceful and delightful. A relaxing time and loved eating breakfast on the terrace with the views of the surrounding countryside. Definitely need a car and be prepared to travel to see the sights, but lots to do - canoeing, swimming, old and authentic villages, castles and Albi is wonderful with shops, museums, river and restaurants galore plus the amazing cathedral.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks Christine. Glad you had a good time.

Best wishes

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartper...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing peace”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Another fantastic holiday in la valette peaceful tranquil surroundings a great place for those who want to get away from it all and re connect with nature - the house has everything you need for your stay - just stock up on your favourite wines, cheeses and nice bread et voila heaven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks Stewart,

Glad you had a good time again

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichyKitc...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect peaceful countryside stay.”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of four really enjoyed our stay in La Valette. It's ideally located in a peaceful farming valley with great views and walks from the house. Saw lots of wildlife and the kids (8 and 10) loved the outdoor space. A great host who makes you feel very welcome in their own holiday cottage with vegetables from the local caretaker. A wonderful holiday and despite the weather being a little cooler than expected we were able to visit lots of different places using La Valette as our base. Experienced the Millau viaduct and Gorges Du Tarn along with the sites of Albi and the wonderful medieval village of La Couvertoirade. Would definitely return if we head to this are of France in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks Richard,

Glad you had a good time at La Valette

Best woishes

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandandan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location, comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have returned year on year to La Valette, with young children and without, because of its beautiful setting in the hills, overlooking a pine forested valley. Kids love the pool and slides nearby at St Pierre de Trivisy and waking up to the 'cows in the garden'. We love chic shops in Albi,the local markets (try Requista for food, clothes and proper French rural market atmosphere) and some of the prettiest medieval villages in France.
House itself is cosy in winter (huge log burner and endless logs) and cool in summer. English TV great for the soap addicts in our family!
All in all highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thanks Clare/Dan. That's great

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen A
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and tranquil countryside farmhouse”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at La Valette after we enjoyed our first so much, however this time we had additional company of our pet dog and three month old baby. We wanted somewhere comfortable, quiet and homely and this is exactly what we got.

The farmhouse provided all the facilities we needed as a young family from bbq to paddling pool and bikes. Home from home. In addition, there are lots of relaxing walks in the surrounding farmland and forest.

This accommodation offers a stunning countryside backdrop and we had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from property
Liked least: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thanks Karen. That's great.

Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Holiday Heaven in Tarn Cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Seeking a getaway reasonably close to Albi, we landed upon Tarn Cottage and were absolutely enthralled with a place of simple stunning beauty sitting in the hills above the Tarn Valley (not to be confused with the Tarn Gorges about 2 hours drive further east).. Stunning scenery, friendly local people, a conspicuous ABSENCE of other tourists and some idyllic wild swimming spots along the local rivers makes for a simply superb get away. Don't worry about the lack of a pool - there is a superb one in Saint Sernin sur Rance for just 2 Euros and the river swimming is spectacular. Wonderful wine in the Gaillac area, Albi is a hidden gem and if you want some mainstream tourism then the stunning Gorges du Tarn are easily accessible with a relatively simple drive. Nearest town is Alban - lovely place - save car wear and tear by heading for Montfranc and down the main road - far easier drive than the winding road which goes 'direct'.. All in all a top place, super value and I would;'t hesitate to recommend..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time we have stayed in 'La Valette' and certainly won't be the last.
A car is essential for this holiday due to it's location but for those looking for peace and serenity this is the place for you. The house is situated at the bottom of a country lane which is rarely used (only occasional farm traffic and horse riders) so it's very quiet and a great place to feel safe if the children are out and about 'exploring'.
The house is a traditional farm house with oodles of character and charm (wooden beams, antique furniture, log fire etc etc) It has a large sun terrace outside the master bedroom which is perfect for lazy days on the sun lounger and a smaller area outside the kitchen which we used to eat breakfast whilst admiring the view of the forest and surrounding hills. There is a large lawned garden (big enough for a kick about) and then the surrounding land which is made up of a large vegetable garden (tended by the owners friend who regularly left fresh produce at our door when we awoke), fruit trees, raspberry bushes, herb gardens and a quaint BBQ area.
The kitchen is well equipped and everything is at hand that you could possibly need.
Both the bedrooms in the house and the studio are tastefully decorated and all of the beds are very comfortable.There is a satelite television that receives English tv and a dvd player with a good collection of films for those quiet nights in (the small library in the dining room also has a good selection of books)
The house is located approximately 2 hrs drive from the South coast so great for days on the beach at Montpelier or Bezier. There is a small supermarket in the town of Albi which is about 15 mins drive away. All in all a fantastic house an a great rural location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lovely location and the peace and quiet
Liked least: There is no wifi and mobile phone signal is not great due to location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thanks. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing