We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Value, Great location, charming and friendly”
Review of Hotel Jean XXII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jean XXII
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Certificate of Excellence
Auvillar, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Value, Great location, charming and friendly”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hard to say more about this jewel. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, typically small. Our window opened to a cool, leafy courtyard, very quiet for sleeping. Parking is easy in one of two big lots across the street, there's a bank machine a few steps away, and a couple of great bistros just down the street.

We tried the petit dejeuner - juice, bread, coffee, croissant, yogurt - it was perfect for us, the room was friendly, and the overlook on the street was interesting.

As far as we're concerned, there's no reason to look elsewhere in Cahors.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc49cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    64
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
75
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of the reviews on this site, and we were very disappointed. I recognise some of the comments - it is a very old building that has been modernised - but I feel it is now behind the times. Our room was very dusty, the towels were mis-matched and very old, and the shower curtain (which hotels still have these?) was rather grubby and clung to your body as you showered in a tiny cubicle beneath a trickle of water. The breakfast was merely adequate. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, and the blanket was a disgrace. All in all, the hotel felt like it was more of a back-packers' hostel than any starred hotel. The only positive for me was its location close to the old part of Cahors. Parking is in a free public car park across the street - but beware, it gets very busy during the week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank susiep36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, S.wales
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Charming little hotel just off the main shopping street.
Very pleasant welcome into sympathetically modernised, very ancient stone building on edge of old town.
Handy for bars /resaurants and town squares.
Reception only on ground floor, the rest is upstairs
Public areas overlook the high street and are spacious and welcoming with artworks and a library of useful pamphlets and guide books.
The breakfast room is spotlessly clean and the buffet is refreshed constantly by the friendly host.
Our room was rather small but charming and had all one needs for a decent short stay.
We would definately return to this hotel next time we visit Cahors.

Room Tip: bedrooms are toward the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for one night in June 2011 for our wedding anniversary. A little dubious with the hotel being a 2 star as we usually for for 3 star +. However the hotel was fine, location was great and only a 10 minute walk to all eateries and bars. Room was quiet and down a side street so away from any traffic. Hotel room was small but clean and in a good state of decor, ensuite was excellent with a very large shower, hair drier and complimentary shower gel. We didn't stay for breakfast but I am sure it would be fine if you did. Service was friendly and helpful and we took advantage of the free WiFi. only downside was lack of pillows and the bed was a little hard but for €60 a night we didn't complain!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovinglife3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Spent two nights during our walk on the Camino. Very nice place. A great value with lovely rooms - some with great views. Highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

A (very) small hotel, with rather limited facilities, but it's very old (several hundred years...), in a quiet side street really near the centre of town, and it's excellent value for money. Clean, quiet, comfortable, very pretty- rather small room (even by European standards), efficient friendly staff (3 or 4 people only!). There's a lounge for residents with books, board games, etc- a very nice touch. Don't think there's any room service- reception is unmanned most of the day (you have an electronic code to get in). It would be nice to be able to book on their website, but since they seem to be (deservedly) popular, perhaps they don't need it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmens_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahors hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#4 of 13 in Cahors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le Valentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le France
3.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#7 of 13 in Cahors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean XXII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean XXII

Property: Hotel Jean XXII
Address: 2 rue Edmond Albe, 46000, Cahors, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jean XXII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing