We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault!”
Review of Hotel Jean XXII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jean XXII
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked here for 3 nights on the basis of reviews on this site. Room and ensuite of reasonable size by European standards IMO. Interior decor clean and well maintained. Pleasant and helpful hotel owner attended personally to all our requirements. Continental breakfast adequate and at reasonable price. Well located for walking tours around the town. Comments have been made about the good car parking! Well, it's very close by and great if you can find a space! We were there mid-week in April -not a busy time, in theory.I would say don't bother to look for a space before about 18h00 and leave car overnight. But a great hotel at reasonable price and much recommended for short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1953Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Others have shared that the rooms are small. Indeed, so was ours, but it was more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom, also small, but entirely efficient and all of this in a very clean and tidy environment. The owner was open and helpful with recommendations as well as finding a safe place to store our tandem bicycle. In every respect, the hotel shows the careful attention that it's owner pays to the space and his guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the first floor, or upstairs, so be prepared to carry your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLight54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a small room but it had all one needed for 1 night and a very comfy bed! A very old building but it has been decorated and up-dated immaculately and it was a real pleasure to stay there. The patron is charming and helpful and gave us a good breakfast in the morning. Right in the centre of town with good car parks close by, one opposite with a free part (full!) and the other half charged, but there is also a small free park the other side of the tower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This small hotel is in the best location in town. Well kept and spotlessly clean with a charming and helpful owner on hand. A longer stay would have required a larger room and a larger bed but for one night it was fine.And a detailed map from Guy found us a proper restaurant tucked away in the old part of town where we ate and drank well surrounded by locals.
Now to Parking-the trick is to park on the left side of the square(with the hotel behind you)and pay until
6.00pm,you will drive around the right side(free parking)forever when you arrive to no avail.Then about
7.00pm go and move the car so in the morning you are free parked until you decide to leave

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This lovely small hotel is in a great location in a beautiful town. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommended for anyone who wants good value in accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaktiDurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This small hotel is very clean, full of character, has a great, helpful owner and virtually in the centre of Cahors.

My room, was very small but spotlessly clean, we needed no more from this hotel, the nearest bar was only 20 metres away, restaurants abound in the main road.

Breakfast was typical French style, good bread, jam, croissants and fresh coffee.

A very enjoyable 2 day stop at Hotel Jean XXII.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonHStDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a relatively simple hotel. But it is very clean, comfortable, well run and a good price. The proprietor, Guy, is a lovely person - he's pretty much the only person you'll see so there's no revolving door responsibility here - if there's a problem he'll deal with it. He's always ready to chat and help you especially with restaurant recommendations which prove to be spot on. One night, seeing us carrying a bottle of wine to our room, he offered us wine glasses. Another, with a takeaway pizza he insisted on giving us knives and forks and plates even though there's no restaurant in the hotel. I would agree that the towels are not the fluffiest and if he didn't change them every day in fact it would serve everyone better because they'd loosen up with use. The pillows are small(we took our own thanks to another review) but the beds were really comfortable and we slept very well. It's well located for the centre of Cahors (fabulous town) with free parking all around and and we absolutely wouldn't consider anywhere else for our next visit.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Tmj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahors hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#6 of 13 in Cahors
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#5 of 13 in Cahors
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le France
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le Valentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean XXII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean XXII

Address: 2 rue Edmond Albe, 46000, Cahors, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Price Range: £55 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jean XXII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing