We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, beautifully furnished hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahors
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau La Roussille
Ranked #13 of 16 Cahors B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were surprised at the comments on previous reviews (2011) as this was a very elegant hotel, spotlessly clean with beautiful antique furniture and a lovely room, including a large terrace. The owners were welcoming, attentive and helpful, recommending a local restaurant (Le Clos Grand) for an evening meal, where we had a fantastic three course dinner. Apparently you can also arrange for dinner at the hotel if you book in advance. We had a most comfortable nights stay here, and a delicious breakfast in the beautifully furnished dining room. We would definitely stay here again when touring in this region in the future and would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dreamteam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

My first impression upon driving up was that whoever photographed both the inside and outside of the chateau deserved an award. There is no lawn to speak of, and the pool is not much bigger than a bathtub. The interior is far more run down than it appears in the glossy photos. Second floor rooms were stiflingly hot and literally unbearable in late June. The place was very quiet, but overall I had a strange feeling about the whole place. I am disappointed that the place is listed as a "hotel" on websites, since it is clearly a small B&B. Some people might enjoy this place, but we did not. In fact, we left early because we felt too depressed being in the place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mari99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place is a disappointment. Firstly, it is far enough from the city centre of Cahors that driving is a must. So, somebody has to forego the wine. Second, it is very difficult to find. A small sign on a tree is all you can hope to see. And that will lead you up an unmaintained gravel road.
Worst of all is the service. There was one young lady working here who clearly did not want to be. She said she was the granddaughter of the owners. Service was poor to non existent. It was made all to more horrible when she held a party in the room below ours. Loud shouting and laughing until all hours of the night. I barely slept while staying here -- because of poor regard for the guests. Be certain, guests here are treated as an inconvenience. Stay away.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galenlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was once a grand home, but is now faded and in need of a lot of work. Breakfast not available until after 8.30 so were left some items in our room - not very palatable. Be aware hotel is right at roundabout up steep drive. Traffic noise not a problem, but you could find a lot better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed in the Valentin room for one night. The room, house and grounds were all stunning but could have been so much more, we got the impression that it would be a recomended place to stay in a year or two if more work is done to improve and maintain. The owners were very polite, attentive and helpful. If anything we felt the pre-dinner drinks and evening meal a little too formal and would have preferred to have been given a little more space. The hotel/b&b feels like a family home and that you are a welcome guest but feel slighlty intrusive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oubliante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Owners Karina and Cedric were very helpful who made us feel welcome during our 3 night stay.

Our room (Valentin) on the first floor was huge and you definitely feel special staying in it – good for a romantic break. We stayed in March so not suitable for relaxing outside but in the summer it would be great to sip a beer on the balcony and/or in the gardens around the pool. The chateau itself is set just off a main road and the traffic can be heard but it's only a small drawback and didn’t keep us awake at night.

Breakfast was continental and did the job – bread, croissants, juice, coffee/tea, cereal and fruit which does the job. The region has such good food on offer it would be a waste to be too stuffed after breakfast! We took up the offer of the Table d’Hotel which was good value at 25 Euros and Karina’s cooking was great. The other 2 evenings we ate in Cahors which has some good restaurants (Le Marche) although some were shut given we visited in March and before the tourist season gets going.

The place is quite hard to find but if you print out maps before you should be fine. A Taxi into Cahors itself is 15 Euros so a touch on the expensive side but OK when you’re on holiday!!

All in all, a very enjoyable break, and a place we'd return too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Just as the last review states, it is hard to find although GPS does get you to the road and just remember the entrance is right next to the roundabout, then a small gravel uphill lane and you are there. It shares the main road with a hypermarket. Basically for 70 euros per room inc breakfast, we had basic hopes on this Chateau but boy were we wrong. Great room with old marble furniture, double aspect windows, breakfast served with care on the lawns and just wish we opted to saty for dinner as that was on the lawns under candlelight. Also really comfy bed. We loved it.

Free wifi but doesn't reach the second floor but works well in reception area, friendly owners and nice pool and easy parking.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comedypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahors hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Clos Grand
Le Clos Grand
#1 of 1 in Pradines
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Cahors
Kyriad Cahors
#11 of 13 in Cahors
230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
8.1 mi away
La Grange de Jaillac
La Grange de Jaillac
#1 of 2 in Francoules
18 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chambres d’Hotes Maison Les Fraysses B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Roussille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Roussille

Address: Chemin du Moulin de Laberaudie, 46090, Cahors, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cahors
Price Range: £62 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
let yourself be seduced by the elegance of this family house in a charming park, at the very gates of Cahors and its medieval bridge. Relax in the spacious suites, or take a dip in the pool. Discover Quercy; its culture, its contryside, its black wines and its food. Inquire about our dinners. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing