We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, Calm & Collected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel de Castres
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Castres
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool, Calm & Collected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Grand Hotel, newly renovated, in the very heart of the old town is a huge surprise with easy access to everything. We dined on the terrace with magnificent views over the river to the quaint painted houses on the opposite bank. Everything is spanking new, beds, linen, furniture, china….. all very simple and modern. Plenty of space for business meetings and bedrooms for the professionals who visit. If you require a lift, check the room out when booking as some rooms on the first floor only have staircase access. This family run hotel has a personal touch. As we packed our car Mme Fabre disappeared to return with two ice cold bottles of water for the journey. Breakfasts were good – fresh fruit, yoghurts and different breads. We dined in each evening. Delicious chestnut soup garnished with wild mushrooms…... something fresh and local for mains and delicious puds. Our bill was modest for the standard of accommodation and meals. Ask for a room facing the water and soak up the view of the ancient painted houses facing you for they speak of years gone by when lived in by artisans working in the weaving and tanning trades.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
34
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, N.I.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

An enjoyable overnight stay for my husband's birthday! I asked for a room overlooking the river and the view was lovely, especially at night with the lights glowing from the bridge. The room and bathroom were spotless and well equipped and the only complaint was the stark decor. A vase of flowers would have softened the austere white and grey.
Dinner on the terrace was very good, though strange to have no menus! No leaflets on the hotel in either reception or bedroom. We got the impression the management are keen to be eco-friendly and avoid wastage! The welcome was warm and we were told we could arrive when we wanted, have breakfast anytime and leave whenever it suited! The fact that I booked from N. Ireland several weeks in advance, yet couldn't give a contact number (as it was a surprise for my husband!) was no problem and they refused my offer of credit card details! A very laid-back hotel!
An especially nice touch was a tiny cake with Bon Anniversaire on it during our dessert course! If you visit, do take time to go on the short river trip (5€ return) to La Gourjade and enjoy the scenery, pleasant walks and a Kir in the bar at the campsite!

Room Tip: Ask ror a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for 2 very enjoyable nights in August 2012. The hotel is not a B & B but has been refurbished at great expense and is now a modern hotel with great views of the river. The owners were very kind and looked after us giving us a room with a balcony...............very recomended. Tiny problem was wi-fi was not working in the room but was fine downstairs in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alistair120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had a two day visit this summer, really nice clean large room, super view from the balcony, a bit of a problem with the wi fi in this room but the owner said she was aware and was trying to sort it out. Delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river, central and staff were very friendly and helpful. Castres has much to offer for a short break. This has been wrongly classified as a b&b but is actually a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 310 very nice large room just check they have wi fi sorted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dordogne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is not a B and B as listed but a superb refurbished hotel ideally situated in the very centre of town with spectacular views over the river.
We were given a warm welcome and our stay was very comfortable. Intending to stay for just one night we added a second to enjoy the luxury of the beautifully fitted rooms and bathrooms. Congratulations to the owners for this unexpeced level of luxury at a reasonable price.
Marie

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the 4th floor to the back overlooking the river. Apparently they are smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmlacheze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#6 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviere
Hotel Riviere
#8 of 11 in Castres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel l'Occitan
Hotel l'Occitan
#3 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Castres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Castres

Property: Grand Hotel de Castres
Address: 11 rue de la Liberation, 81100 Castres, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Castres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Castres 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel de Castres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De Castres France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing