We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUFTU”
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Castres
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SUFTU”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great location for centre of town. Very helpful staff. Quirky hotel with recently refurbished rooms that are at times a shape of their own.... However this is what makes the hotel and sets it above the usual conventional square room. Stairs could be a problem for some if you suffer from climbing too many steps otherwise a very well priced hotel with very friendly staff.

Great location and great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    92
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
102
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Co Down
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Used this hotel last week when over to watch Ulster play Castres in Heineken cup.
Privately owned, traditional style hotel. Would recommend to rugby visitors as it is only a 15 minute walk the Castre ground.

Room Tip: No lift in this hotel so make sure your room is not on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here last weekend whilst on a rugby trip,Phillipe was a great host, the hotel was warm & comfortable, really quirky and very central. Reasonably priced, the owner and staff couldn't have done more to look after us. We would love to return.... Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent central location in Castres, 1 min from town square. Friendly welcome from staff. Room modern, refurbished, and well furnished. Bathroom well supplied with towels and soaps etc. Very comprehensive continental breakfast, as much as you could want. Helpful staff at reception, who coped well with a fully booked hotel of rugby fans. Thanks

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our room was newly refurbished and was wonderfully decorated. The bathroom was clean, shiny modern and spacious. It felt quite luxurious for such a moderately priced hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Arriving there was difficult – it is on a no-through street with no parking immediately outside the hotel. However once checked in, the staff provided a very cheap parking pass for the rest of our stay. It is in a great location, right on the main square with a supermarket next door and a boulangerie across the street. We did not eat in the hotel so can’t comment on the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. I think ours was #104 - the Prague room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoupDragonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manciet, france
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is in the middle of Castres and a few minutes walk away from restaurants, shops, bars and old buildings. Inside there is an eclectic mix of decoration that makes it really interesting and the staff are very friendly. My room 214 was very clean and although the bathroom was a little tired the shower was powerful and invigorating. The bed was extremely comfortable and with a large TV and fast free wifi and a kettle for tea and coffee most tastes should be catered for. Breakfast was plentiful and with a fresh orange juicer, good strong coffee and a choice of cereals, cheese and meat etc - All in all recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have just returned from a week long road trip through the Languedoc and I have to say that the Euroipe Hotel was the most pleasant surprise throughout the trip. I was a little concerned about the low price but cheered by the comments and information about the hotel on TA.
It is without doubt the best 'three star" hotel I've ever stayed in - and puts a few much more expensive designer, boutique htels I've visited in the shade. The staff are extremely helpful and the decor is both original and quirky. So there isn't a lift? Get over it! The ambience more than makes up for it!
The location is great for exploring the lovely town and the bar downstairs is ideal for a night cap! Tres Bien!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuardianAngelRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#5 of 11 in Castres
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#6 of 11 in Castres
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Castres
Grand Hotel de Castres
#7 of 11 in Castres
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviere
Hotel Riviere
#8 of 11 in Castres
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 5 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castres
#4 Business Hotel in Castres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN THE HEART OF CASTRES, BUILT IN THE 17TH, AROUND A CHARMING PATIO, WE OFFER 38 ROOMS, ALL DIFFERENT. WE PAY MUCH ATTENTION TO MAKE YOUR STAY AS PLEASANT AS POSSIBLE, SO DON'T HESITATE FOR ANY PARTICULAR ENQUIRY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De L'Europe Castres, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing