We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere”
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Castres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the town, with a very cozy atmosphere.
The staff are very helpful.
The rooms are ok, confortable, we stayed in the 3rd floor, and if you are heavy packed, should consider a lower level.
The price is fair.

Room Tip: Try the lower floors, no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nothing special to look at from the outside .We wanted a one night stay and were shown a room before deciding,the room we were shown was exceptional bedroom and bathroom of highest quality.More than worth the 65 euros we paid.Bar was good but no restaurant,breakfast area only.Close to everything going on in the town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knealec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a find thanks to Trip advisor. A great hotel with character and unusual decor but attractive. All room are so different and offer something unusual. Great value, convenient city location with lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stopped at the Hotel de l'Europe for two nights while walking the Chemin d'Arles towards the Spanish border. We loved the place. The location was perfect, right in the middle of a town that has a great deal to offer to tourists. Reception staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The breakfast was superior. And the bedrooms: what a combination of classy, comfortable and downright quirky. Good bathrooms, super comfortable beds, tea making facilities in the rooms, and decoration that delighted and amazed us. No, we weren't in any chain hotel here! We were offered a walk-in rate that was exceptional value given the quality of the place and left feeling totally satisfied.

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms will be interesting and good. But 441, a suite on the top floor with tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I've stayed in this hotel three times now. I always shall when the Rugby takes me to Castres, if I have my way. The first couple of times was with friends so in all I've seen the inside of half a dozen or more of their rooms. No two are the same and none of them fail to delight. Some interesting bathing options (the bath and shower on a stage in the alcove in a couple of the rooms) but always a delight. Breakfast is good and inexpensive and one could hardly be closer to the centre of town. If there is a problem it's the distance to the station. Its fault not that of the hotel. And check out the hotel lobby. It's wonderful

Room Tip: Every one is a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great location for centre of town. Very helpful staff. Quirky hotel with recently refurbished rooms that are at times a shape of their own.... However this is what makes the hotel and sets it above the usual conventional square room. Stairs could be a problem for some if you suffer from climbing too many steps otherwise a very well priced hotel with very friendly staff.

Great location and great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Used this hotel last week when over to watch Ulster play Castres in Heineken cup.
Privately owned, traditional style hotel. Would recommend to rugby visitors as it is only a 15 minute walk the Castre ground.

Room Tip: No lift in this hotel so make sure your room is not on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castres hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#6 of 11 in Castres
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Castres L'Occitan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviere
Hotel Riviere
#8 of 11 in Castres
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Address: 5 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castres
#4 Business Hotel in Castres
Price Range: £61 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Heart Of Castres, Built In The 17th, Around A Charming Patio, We Offer 38 Rooms, All Different. We Pay Much Attention To Make Your Stay As Pleasant As Possible, So Don't Hesitate For Any Particular Enquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De L'Europe Castres, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing