We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”
Review of Hotel Renaissance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Renaissance
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Castres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel while we chased the Tour de France across southern France. Upon arriving at the destination, we were concerned about the amenities since it is located in a very old part of town with very narrow streets. However, upon finding our way to the hotel lobby, we were surprised to find such a gem in this town. Despite the age of the building, the owner(s) have managed to fit every possible modern convenience into this facility. From modern fixtures and appliances, to WiFi, they have done an amazing job at keeping this hotel current. It is nicely decorated using antiques from around the area but this may be a bit strange to some. The rooms were themed with mine being American and my friend's being Japanese. Although small, I wanted for nothing. The gentleman at the front desk (the owner?) was extremely gracious and accommodating and spoke excellent English. We parked our car down the street and he offered to take it to a nearby garage and then he retrieved it when we were ready to leave. Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I highly recommend it. I'm only sorry we were not able to stay longer in this location. But I will go out of my way to return if I find myself in nearby in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

A nice building in the centre of Castres, with a tatty decor. Bathroom in need of upgrade, while room need decluttering. Bed conformable. Good service from the reception. No lift. We did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiovanniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a real unique, four stars, romantic boutique hotel, with a special decoration of each room, designed by the owner, for a relatively excellent price. You can tell that Nicole, one of the owners, together with Michael her husband, put her attention to each of the decoration items in each of the rooms and the public spaces. The hospitality of the owners is great and they themselves give you a personal treatment and are very friendly. Their recommendations on restaurants and interest sites to visit in Castres were very good. Breakfast was very good with variety of good French cheese and cold cuts. There is free Wi-Fi in each room. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to their website and choose a room according to your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel has a four star rating and shows the flaws in the rating system. Yes it ticks all the boxes to get the four stars...hair dryer, cotton buds, shoe cleaning, mini bar etc etc. And certainly the owner/operators are friendly and helpful. The location is as good as you could want in this town. Unfortunately the decor made my teeth itch ! Something between a brocante store, museum and a nightmare. For sure some will adore the ...I guess "quirky" is a word the decor might be called.
Also be aware some of the themed rooms cannot accommodate a large suitcase. To get a room that could take our large suitcase we were offered a room at double the original room price. We elected to leave it in the car. Talking of which the hotel parking of 12 euros a day can be avoided as street parking is free overnight and meter parking starts at 8.30am. I could not stay here at the Renaissance again...But that is just a reflection of my taste. Several other hotels in this town seem to have a similar approach to decoration.

Room Tip: Ask for photos of the booked room and the actual size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The couple running this hotel have clearly taken a decision to make it stand out against the rather mediocre opposition and their eccentric approach will be appreciated by many but not by everyone. f your tastes in decoration and furnishing run along minimalist lines you might want to consider staying elsewhere in Castres. The Renaissance's rooms are a cornucopia of antiques, ornaments, nick-nacks, hangings and much else. It's a little overwhelming, like an eccentric Disney creation, and some of it is a bit kitsch, but in a nice way and it has all clearly been chosen lovingly and in a spirit of fun by the husband and wife owners who are most welcoming and helpful. Whichever room you are allocated, you're in for an eyeful. I'll say no more than that so as not to spoil the surprise. The furnishings serve to imbue the rooms with character, which is much needed because, this being in a narrow side street, daylight is at a minimum and interesting views completely out of the question. This is a good place to stay if your visiting Castres or the surrounding area. It's a minute's walk to the town's central square and a minute or two more to the river. The area has plenty of bars and restaurants and don't be afraid to venture up the streets on the other side of the river where you will find additional dining options including the very good Brasserie Marso. Access and parking was surprisingly easy. You can always find a non-payment parking slot in the main streets outside the town walls – just a few minutes walk from the hotel. A short drive to the north is the charming hilltop village of Lautrec and to the south the hamlet of Sorèze has an interesting abbey-stroke-military academy, now closed for business and open as a visitor attraction. It's a good idea to buy some provisions for lunch in Castres before venturing out into the countryside where catering options are severely limited.

Room Tip: Planning to stay a few nights? If given a choice on arrival be practical, prioritise natural light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

In Castres, France (just near Toulouse) the Hotel Renaissance is where I had the most remarkable stay. You are in for a treat - From the New York themed room, to the China themed room you'll be entertained in your room! Your may not venture out of your comfort until the 2nd day...I slept like a baby! Once you do, you'll soon see the pharmacy and street market are steps away. You can get everywhere you need to go, just by walking. My favorite place is the chocolate shop right across the street! It's definitely THE place for a lot of R&R. Enjoy France!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed for one night on our way down through France. The hotel is in the old part of the town and well situated for walking around the centre.Once you have arrived the car is taken away and securely parked until you need it again.The rooms are certainly different and unlike any hotel we have ever stayed in, our room was quiet,comfortable and well equipped . A good buffet breakfast is available. The owners were very helpful and suggested restaurants for eating out.
We thought the hotel was good value,enjoyed looking around the town, and we would certainly stay in there again.

Room Tip: Have a look at the pictures of the rooms and choose your genre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliveden09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castres hotels
0 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#6 of 11 in Castres
92 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Castres L'Occitan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
237 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Caussea
Le Caussea
#5 of 11 in Castres
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Castres
Grand Hotel de Castres
#8 of 11 in Castres
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renaissance

Address: 17 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castres
#1 Business Hotel in Castres
Price Range: £71 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s for a business trip, for leisure or for a romantic weekend, the Hotel RENAISSANCE provides you with a unique setting for a stay full of charm in the heart of the town of Castres: at your disposal are some twenty themed rooms and suites, spacious, with unique character, each one different, and each equipped with all modern comforts.A hotel of character ideally placed in a quiet street in the historic heart of the town, a few paces from the Place Jean-Jaurès where colourful, bustling markets are held; a few paces from the main institutions, shops, restaurants, the theatre, museums, the famous tanners’ houses on the banks of the Agout river, the pedestrianised streets and other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Renaissance Castres, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing