We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maison au Puits

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison au Puits
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at La Maison au Puits. This was totally beyond our expectation, not only because of the home-like, cosy setting of the room but also the hospitality of Christine and Nico. It was evident that they had put in lots of efforts to run the B&B. The interior decoration, the comfort and the cleanliness .... Everything was just a pleasing experience. The place was the type that you would never forget, far better than the business-type, or the luxurious-yet-distant type of hotels. We had a fabulous dinner in the maison with three other couples. The food was excellent and was indeed the finest food we had during this trip in the Midi-Pyrenees. The dinner was totally enjoyable and was indeed a warmest memory to us. And the maison is located in a convenient place. You only need to walk for ten minutes to get to Cordes-sur-ceil. We would strongly recommend this place to anyone who intends to visit Cordes or the region. The only thing is the place may not be conspicuous enough if you are travelling to the region for the place. Better to have a GPS to guide you.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the B&B but Nico will always offer assistance and help carry baggages up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    29
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in La Maison au Puits and we have had a very nice stay there. Thanks to Christian & Nico who are friendly and helpfull. The room was modern, clean, and cosy.
I have told to them that every couple that wants to start a B&B in France has to stay a week with them to see how to reach real quality of time for the guests.
And Nico is an excellent chef de cuisine. He is worth a bigger restaurant ....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tsijmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have stayed for one night in La Maison au Puits. This house seems to take you back in time... Christianne and Nico are really nice and helpful people who told us a lot about the history of the house and the region. Rooms are clean and luxurious and the breakfast is great!! Be careful; the place is hard to find because it lies directly on the border between Cordes sur Ciel and Les Cabanes (don't drive all the way to Cordes).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We loved staying in this place. Both hosts were wonderful and helpful. Nico and Christianne prepared a great meal (in the evening at arrival) and he and Christianne joined - together with 4 other lovely people from Venlo - us at table. The table was set beautifully for dinner. Breakfast was very tasty as well. They're interesting, attentive and eager to help. Christianne helped us to make a plan to visit some really nice villages in the neighbourhood (it looks like the 'French' Toscane) and Nico adviced us to visit some other nice places in France, which we did! If you're going to Albi or Cordes, or plan to spend time in this area, you should seriously consider La Maison au Puits! Enjoy, Peter & Bernie.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDaemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent one night in La Maison au puits (house with a well) with my wife and 2 children. Great B&B, very friendly dutch owners (Nico and Christianne), old house with an actual well inside. We booked the family suite with 2 bedrooms. Rooms are modern, clean, with good beds and a nice bathroom, WiFi working well. Breakfast was very good, fresh viennoiserie, fresh juice, eggs, cheese and charcuterie, organic yogurts. Cordes sur Ciel is an amazing place that makes you feel like you live in medieval times; the village is walking distance from the house. Great experience, merci!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef30621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. The hosts were wonderful. Nico prepared a great meal and he and Christianne joined us at table. They're interesting, attentive and eager to help. Our room was spacious, clean, and well designed. The bathroom had recently been remodeled and the bed was very comfortable. The common areas were inviting. The table was set beautifully for dinner. Breakfast was very tasty. Great eggs! If you're going to Albi or Cordes, or plan to spend time in this area, you should seriously consider La Maison au Puits.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamaisonaupuits_10, Eigenaar at La Maison au Puits, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for chosing "La Maison au Puits" for your stay around Cordes-sur-Ciel , and offcours for your kind words ! On vous souhaite encore des bonnes journées en France !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

One of our Fav b&b's so far. The owners are very helpful and we got a room on the 2nd floor facing the front. It was nice not to small and the little town its in is very cool. Cordes-sur-Ciel is a little drive away, I wouldnt walk to it. When we returned at night the food Nico was cooking smelled and looked sooooo good we said damn we should have eaten here.
We got up very early and was willing to leave without breakfast and also wasn't expecting it, but just a we were leaving Christianne woke up and make us eggs and breakfast. There's even a real well inside of this place with a bucket.

I would for sure stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordes-sur-Ciel hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Metairie
Hotel La Metairie
#1 of 2 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Secret du Chat
Le Secret du Chat
#1 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
#5 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Maison Bakea
La Maison Bakea
#2 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Labistoul
Chateau Labistoul
#6 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie Du Parc
Hostellerie Du Parc
#9 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison au Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison au Puits

Property: La Maison au Puits
Address: 20 rue Gargarides | Les Cabannes, 81170, Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Cordes-sur-Ciel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cordes-sur-Ciel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison au Puits is a newly refurbished 18th century village house situated at the foot of historic Cordes-sur-Ciel, a lovely medieval hilltop village in the heart of the Tarn - about one hour north of Toulouse. Great emphasis is put on comfort, personal service and attention to detail. It is easy to unwind at La Maison au Puits and our aim is to ensure that our guests will wish to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison au Puits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing