We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lourdes Trip 2014”
Review of Agena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agena Hotel
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lourdes Trip 2014”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from the Galway Pilgrimage, stayed in the Agena from the 1st - 6th of July. Had an great week, staff and Management were great, room was lovely and was cleaned every day,
great view of the Gave and the town of Lourdes. Food was excellent and the craic was also very good.Very accessible to the Grotto just a few minutes walk to the Sanctuary. Overall very pleased, would definately recommend the Agena to any new visitors to Lourdes or indeed any existing Pilgrims looking for a new Hotel. All going well we will be retuning again in 2015 to Lourdes and having another great week in the Agena...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    27
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
9
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyrone ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from this hotel after spending 5 enjoyable nights there. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The internet was available for free in the lobby area.

The rooms were clean & your bed was made everyday. The only down side was the noise from outside at night was quite loud, but this was not the fault of the hotel.

The food was of a very high standard and plentiful.
Very accessible to the grotto, less than 5 mins.

A feeling of being at home with an irish welcome. Would definitely recommend it and will be staying there again if I return to lourdes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank maryTyroneIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great choice for pilgrims to lourdes & good food served by very friendly staff.
Try this hotel and you won't be disappointed. Been here a number of times and hotel always sees to our needs. This is a great hotel for the irish, great food, great staff, great choice of rooms. But I would love to see uk or irish tv in all bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Downpatrick Nurses Lourdes Group have just returned from our 40th anniversary Pilgrimage having stayed at the Agena Hotel for our 12th consecutive year. The service we received remains of a very high level. The adapted rooms for the less abled pilgrims are always made available to our group. There is excellent storage space for our wheelchairs and are able to store our supplies from year to year. Jacques (the handyman) is always available to help with wheelchair adjustments and repairs. Staff are extremely warm and friendly and always available if help or advice is required. Food is of a very high standard and extremely plentiful. The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the grotto and has beautiful views from most rooms which overlook the river Gav and the Seven Dolors Church. Rooms are very comfortable. All pilgrims that have travelled with our group over the years have always gave very positive feedback about their stay in the hotel which is why we return year after year to this hotel. You will not be disappointed if you book a stay in the Hotel Agena!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are planning a pilgrimage to Lourdes I would highly recommend The Agena Hotel. It provides us and the pilgrims we bring to Lourdes each year, a very homely and friendly environment and many rooms overlook the river Gave. There are many varied shops and cafe's nearby. The rooms are spotless and the food is beautiful (you may find you gain a few pounds while staying here as you get rather a lot to eat!). Staff and management are so friendly and helpful and if we have any problems or worries they are always dealt with immediately and without any fuss. The location is perfect, a short distance from St. Josephs gate to the sanctuary, beside the upper and lower Seven Dolors Churches and close to the Poor Clare Convent. This a definitely a hotel that you will want to come back to!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the moment you arrive and check in you feel welcome
There is something special about this hotel
Everyone is friendly from the manger to the service staff
The rooms are comfortable and if extra amenities are required a call to the desk makes light of every request without question or any fuss
The food is good and plentiful if what s on the menu doesn't meet your taste something else is quickly offered and the restaurant staff remember any particular requirements for the next meal which will be served with efficiency
This hotel is close to everything the Lourdes pilgrim requires and the manager's wife is always ready to offer advice and information
There is a shop in the hotel and Denise is ready to help her customers with a welcoming smile
and a cash discount!

Room Tip: It is only a matter of requesting a certain kind of room at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 5 pleasant nights at the Agena, Lourdes. The hotel is run by an Irish lady with a pleasant and welcoming staff. The staff were accommodating, interested in the guests and extremely helpful with anyone who needed extra help or assistance. We were on a full-board basis and ate at the hotel for each meal. The food was good honest home cooking with plenty of food available at each meal. The hotel is ideally placed for anyone visiting the Grotto. The Grotto is no more than a 5 minute walk away. As the hotel facing onto the river there are lovely cooling breezes available to anyone staying at the front of the hotel. Most rooms have air-conditioning which is need in the heat of the French summer. All in all, a good hotel, with a fantastic staff who are available to help any visitor to Lourdes.

Room Tip: Make sure to request an air-conditioned room as Lourdes is very hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#11 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agena Hotel

Property: Agena Hotel
Address: 3 rue Marie Sainte Frai, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Agena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Agena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agena Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing