We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean spot to put your head down”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adonis Lourdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adonis Lourdes
Ranked #82 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“clean spot to put your head down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a one star hotel, and you get what you pay for, on saying that, the young husband and wife team that run the hotel, were excellent, they spoke excellent English and were very helpful, breakfast was basic but plentiful cereals, croissants, bread, yogurt, fresh fruit, tea, coffee hot chocolate,if this was not included in your room rate, you were charged an extra 6 euro but it was worth it when you consider you would pay 3 euro for a coffee out side.
The entire place was kept very clean, with your rooms made up daily, the bedroom was old school, big key for the lock, high ceilings, etc, the bathroom was big, door lock did not work, there was always plenty of hot water for showers. we ordered a twin room, it had a double and a single bed which gave us extra room.
was less than 10mins walk down to the sanctuaries, and less than 5 minutes from the train/bus station.
you had the use of the dining room through out the day, including the microwave, but not the dishes or cutlery, eating out all the time can turn out expensive, so you would need to bring a few dishes with you if you wanted to bring in your own food. the kettle is not available but you can rent one 3 euro a day or 8euro a week and you can rent a hairdryer, no tv's in the bedrooms
Down side - The plumbing was very loud from other rooms taking showers from 4 in the morning, small sitting area down stairs not comfortable, if you wanted to relax in the afternoon it did not really work there was no other sitting room you would have to go back and lie on your bed, there was no outside seating either.
English sub titles on the tv would be nice as no English speaking channels on downstairs tv.
did not need but did not see any fans or air con.

Room Tip: think rooms were all the same quality, five on each of the three floors with the family living on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mors50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lourdes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

everything was ok,closed to the dowtown of city,nearby the sanctuares by walking a few minutes.I have met a very nice people who operated this hotel with good explaneted me rules in both English and French languages.They were very helpfull any time when I had questions.Good preparation place and food for braekfast with excelent tasted coffee.I want recommended that place for people who like to do to relax and take good time for pray and celebrated any anniversies or needed time to meet something good for their souls as spiritual guidence there. Thanks so much for everything that you did for me my friends,Yours truly,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank LUCJAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We enjoyed our conversations with the owners of the hotel who kept the rooms spotless. The location was convenient for the shrine and for bus service to Cauteret where we hiked to Lac de Gaube.Enjoyed!

Room Tip: Room at the top floor was quiet, with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppernc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

it's really a short walk from sncf gare de lourdes!

staff is very friendly! it's a mom-and-pop hotel. and they can converse in english, french, spanish, and german

the room we stayed in has a picture of st. bernadette soubirous. wonder if this is the same for all rooms?

bedroom and bathroom is pretty spacious.

door locks are old-school. you have to lock the doors using the key, even from the inside. there's no separate locking mechanism. also, our bathroom door can't be locked from the inside, so we devised a rule that if there's something hanging on the bathroom doorknob, then someone's inside.

dining area's pretty spacious, but tell them in advance if you're gonna have breakfast there and what food you want.

guests are given a security code for the main entrance. they close in the late morning for cleaning duties.

technically there's wifi, but it's too weak to penetrate rooms. they've provided a netbook near the vending machines, though. but who needs internet in lourdes? you're supposed to pray there, and not update your facebook!

there's vending machines at the 1st floor for snacks and drinks.

there's an elevator! big surprise for a small hotel. ideal for those packing wheelies.

i recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil tristan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for two days during a short trip to lourdes...The location of the hotel is reasonably good, approximately ten minute walk to the shrine. The ownersa are very helpful and do their best to give you a comfortable stay. If journeying to Lourdes be warned that almost everything near this hotel closes after 8pm, except for the ibis 24 hr restaurant which was just round the corner, but served average food. We did feel, though that the breakfast could have had a better variety of foods, including fresh fruit. The room was very clean but the bathroom was a bit on the small side. The bathroom also had a window with no shutter, which faced onto the road. As there was a bunk bed, one of us slept on the top but complained of hearing the noises of the person above at 6 in the morning. Also there was a persone smoking down our corridor and nothing was done to reprimand this person, although it was a non- smoking room.
Overall it was an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathynevza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugg AG, Schweiz
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The owner is very accommodating even we arrived late and welcome us like a family to her. The place is easy to locate and near the Grotto and train station. Definitely, I will stay again in this hotel if I had the cahnce to go back in Lourdes

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank enrico s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here during our weekend trip to Cauterets. Owners were very friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable, and it was quiet for a good sleep. Only 20-30 mins to the snow, with a car. In a good position within the town as well. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWatsonAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Etienne
Hotel Saint Etienne
#50 of 185 in Lourdes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropolis
Hotel Acropolis
#44 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lourdes
Ibis Lourdes
#13 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#35 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Lourdes

Property: Adonis Lourdes
Address: 13 boulevard de la Grotte, 65100, Lourdes, France (Formerly Hotel Du Dauphine)
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adonis Lourdes 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of Lourdes, 400m Sanctuaries and the Train Station. Ideal location to reach the Grotte of Massabielle and the Basilics, visit Lourdes and its museums, to go on " the Steps of Bernadette " or to discover Pyrenees.Mathilde and Jérôme welcome you at home, with friendliness and are at your disposal to help you to plan your stay.Alone, in couple, between friends or in family with children, the Adonis Lourdes - Hotel of Dauphiné will allow you to take advantage at best of your stay pilgrimage, tourist or sports.Only constraint : take advantage, appreciate and freedom. 15 non-smoking rooms (from 1 to 4 persons), equipped with private shower-room (shower and TOILETS). Elevator,Continental breakfast, in unlimited buffet.Free WIFI in the lounge and all the ground floor.Space for children with games and books,TV lounge with library, Dining room (with microwaves) at your disposal for your meals and picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adonis Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing