We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Adonis Lourdes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adonis Lourdes
Ranked #82 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Washingtonville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

As a reviewer before me mentioned, one typically visits Lourdes to go to the Sanctuary for religious reasons. And while pious prayer doesn't require one to live like a pauper, it also doesn't mean one should go and live like a prince either.

That being said, I would hands-down recommend this hotel to anyone regardless of purpose of visit because it is absolutely perfect for its price. In fact, it far exceeds in value the price that I paid for it. My three night stay at the economy rate during off-season was a meager 25 euros a night.

Yes, it is basic, but everything that one could possibly require from a hotel is present or available upon request. And again, ask yourself, what the purpose of your visit is exactly. My room was equipped with a very capable heater, desk, and hangars, and the bathroom: a shower with a real powerful stream and hot water.

The hotel is an easy walk from both the train station and the sanctuary, and the town center as well (for some of the more non-pilgrim shops and dining places; French-staple store: Monoprix is up along that stretch and a great spot to grab cheap food/snacks). Because my stay was marked with not particularly pleasant weather, the proximity to everything allowed me to return during the day to dry off and warm up.

I only interacted with one employee, a woman who was very helpful and polite. She spoke super English. Breakfast isn't too bad at 7 euros, and I recommend it should you consider buying any of it on your own outside.

Sure it is very simple, but everything it strives to do, it does successfully and I haven't the slightest of complaints to make. I recommend wholeheartedly and wish you a pleasant visit in Lourdes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psdantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very clean and very helpful manager - hotel owned by a couple and the manager was very helpful and kind. Good breakfast for 7 euros. Very affordable hotel and very very clean. The Grotto maps and various other sight seeing maps and information was given to us by the owner who was very well informed about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoymous658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here as an overnight stop travelling from Bilbao to Argeles sur Mer on the Med. coast. Lourdes is about half way and we have stopped in the town a couple of times in previous years on this journey. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. The first thing you notice is the warmth of the welcome you get from the lady owner. She was very friendly and made us feel at home straight away. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the sanctuary and the centre of town. There are bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. The location is excellent and while there is no car park, we were able to find a parking space on the road outside the front of the hotel with no problem. Lourdes is a lovely town and this hotel is well placed to explore it. The hotel itself is pretty basic, and the rooms are in need of a coat of paint, but it is clean and cheap and a good option for an overnight stop or for a few days. Small things make a difference, and there is a fridge beside reception that guests are welcome to use to store any perishable stuff they have. Nice touch. We used the fridge but unfortunately forgot to take our stuff with us when we left. I hope someone enjoyed the Tunnocks teacakes etc that we left behind! We had breakfast which was a very good selection, and when we left the owners wished us a good journey in their usual friendly way. To sum up, a basic, good value, friendly hotel. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I am often amused by people's expectations of their hotel in Lourdes. I go on Pilgrimage to Lourdes to pray, visit the Grotto and drink and bathe in the water, and of course to process as Our Lady asked us to.

This hotel is very basic, the lady who owns it is humble and friendly. It is a cheap place to rest your head.

I would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Lourdes for the right reasons.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisGuidera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is about 10-minutes walk from both the train station and the Sanctuary. It is a perfect location in case you want to take afternoon nap.

Upon check-in, Mathilde gave us a map of Lourdes and also explained the different services at the Sanctuary. She showed us around the common kitchen, our room and how to use the key.

We had the street view from our room. As written on previous post, the bathroom window does not have a shutter, so we used safety pins and small towel to add more privacy. The bathroom is clean, however the water at the shower area takes time to go down. Overall, the room is nicer than what we expected, seems newly renovated.

We also had breakfast at the hotel, it was very filling and worth the 6 Euro.

We had a good stay and definitely recommending this hotel. It's a plus that there's a laundromat next door, open until 10PM.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passerby_dito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nice cosy petit hotel in a small town.
Helpful couple, showed us the way to most I mean all the places of interest at Lourdes. Only problem was the toilet door, cant lock..(anyway didn’t need them locks). They even helped us get a cab to the train station at 6am(hehehe). Its located around 10mins walk from the station and 10mins walk to the cathedral.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoellKailas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Having looked at the hotel web site we got all that was promised the hotel is one star old fashioned and rooms might need a little freshen up but the beds were spotless and rooms cleaned every day.the breakfast is worth the six euro as eating out can be expensive it was good value and the coffee was very good.the young couple that own the hotel work hard and I wish them well.My friend and I would definitely go back and stay there as we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#28 of 185 in Lourdes
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
1.6 mi away
Residences les Marquises
Residences les Marquises
#2 of 3 in Aspin-en-Lavedan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Lourdes

Property: Adonis Lourdes
Address: 13 boulevard de la Grotte, 65100, Lourdes, France (Formerly Hotel Du Dauphine)
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adonis Lourdes 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of Lourdes, 400m Sanctuaries and the Train Station. Ideal location to reach the Grotte of Massabielle and the Basilics, visit Lourdes and its museums, to go on " the Steps of Bernadette " or to discover Pyrenees.Mathilde and Jérôme welcome you at home, with friendliness and are at your disposal to help you to plan your stay.Alone, in couple, between friends or in family with children, the Adonis Lourdes - Hotel of Dauphiné will allow you to take advantage at best of your stay pilgrimage, tourist or sports.Only constraint : take advantage, appreciate and freedom. 15 non-smoking rooms (from 1 to 4 persons), equipped with private shower-room (shower and TOILETS). Elevator,Continental breakfast, in unlimited buffet.Free WIFI in the lounge and all the ground floor.Space for children with games and books,TV lounge with library, Dining room (with microwaves) at your disposal for your meals and picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adonis Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing