We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes
Ranked #32 of 186 Hotels in Lourdes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

For the price (about 55 euros inc. parking and wi-fi) this is an excellent hotel. Very popular with pilgrims to the town, the Med is large and spacious. Breakfast was good for a Continental, with a proper jug of coffee, no need to fiddle about with machines here, very attentive waiters. Parking is on site and easily accessible and the room was spotless and well presented. Lourdes as a town is what most people would expect with numerous shops selling religious artefacts (and a great deal of cheap tat, it has to be said); the streets of the old town are narrow so choose your hire car wisely. The hotel must be recommended and we would use it again when next in that part of France. Only bad point was the room's balcony. The balcony was useful but the railing is too low. I'm not a tall person but the railing only came up to my hip and in my opinion this was rather dangerous. Care required.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RogerBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

"The Med" is a lovely airy hotel just over the Gave du pau river, a short walk from the sanctuaries in Lourdes. It is a perfect place to stay if on pilgrimage as it is out of the bustle but only 5 - 10 mins walk from the sanctuaries.

The accommodation is more than adequate and is being upgraded this year. Food is great and in abunmdance- breakfast, 3 course lunch and 4 course dinner. The hotel also try and match food to food you would normally eat at home, with some nice additions.

The staff are fantastic and nothing is ever too much trouble for them.

I have stayed here for at least 7 years and it never changes, even with new staff.

It would be a great hotel to base yourself for travel out of Lourdes also.

Room Tip: As you would expect there are a lot of wheelchairs and other equipment in corridors at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scotsguy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here with a group of five, including severely disabled friend with multiple sclerosis. This hotel hits the right spot for a pilgrimage: very helpful staff, disability-aware, fantastic home cooked nourishing food - three-course lunch, four-course dinner - good wine list, and the staff were happy to deal with special requests. I know what some reviewers mean about a slight 'hostel' feeling but the bar area is great - lots of seating in different areas with an outside patio area and also a glassed over conservatory area. The hotel was clean - I looked particularly for this as some reviews had been a bit negative. My room did smell slightly of stale tobacco - I had read about this on tripadvisor already so took some essential oil of lavender and splashed it all over - and opened a window - its not rocket science, is it ? - but if you don't want to go to those lengths try asking to see/sniff your room before you move in ! The room facilities were good, if basically, appointed - separate ensuite toilet, brilliant large bath and bidet. Satellite TV in more than the usual eurobabble was a much appreciated little luxury Generally a bit of a business hotel 'stress bunny', after a couple of days here I felt so relaxed and well looked after I wasn't even that bothered about the daily towel change they offered. The staff had a good command of English and managed this without making you feel like a complete idiot. In general, the odd bad reviews I had read before my trip I would say were a bit on the harsh, even mean-minded, side - we all had a great time here and would definitely return. I did miss the in-room coffee/tea-making facilities, but in fairness the bar was reasonably priced and had a good choice of teas, coffees, hot chocolates etc. Could I finally by way of this site pass on my appreciation to the proprietor and staff for giving us such a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Let the helpful staff know your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wanderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

location is very good....not to close to the grotto..but not too far..its just perfect. And the staff is very helpful. Price is also very reasonable. Recommended to stay at this hotel. Definitely will stay again at this hotel in the future..

Room Tip: take a river site...nice but little bis noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krisna_damajanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I was with the Dublin Pilgrimage and we had an excellent stay here. The staff went out of their way to help and provided a great service. I have no complaints about the place at all and the rooms were no smaller than any other hotel in Europe or USA and were clean and comfortable.

I would go there again with no hesitation

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irelandmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This is a great hotel who knows how to cater to the hundreds of pilgrims visiting Lourdes. The actual religious site is a 10 minute walk but the view from the front of the hotel at night is charming along the river and all lit up with all the other hotels. Stayed here for one night too long; Lourdes is ruined by its commercialism and lack of good restaurants - but this hotel's staff is excellent in catering to the pilgrims. Large portions of food - tons of pilgrims eating at the same time. Room tiny and smelly ... but that's due to the amount of people they have going in and coming out.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BakuBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Disclaimer: we did not go to Lourdes for a pilgrimage, rather we wound up taking a detour in France and this town had plenty of open hotels so we stopped here.

The beds were foam mattresses, which were actually fairly comfortable. The room itself reminded me of a dormitory or nursing home or something else institutional. This is certainly a convenient location for a pilgrimage (which I guess is probably the only reason most people come here), but aside from that the cost seemed high for the quality, and I think I expected a little more based on the reviews. The staff were very nice though, and really we just needed somewhere to sleep so it was fine. No internet.

I'd give this a 2.5 if I could give half ratings... I bumped it up to 3 given the nature of most people's visits to Lourdes.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank memoriesandmoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#20 of 186 in Lourdes
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 186 in Lourdes
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint-Georges
Hotel Saint-Georges
#26 of 186 in Lourdes
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#8 of 186 in Lourdes
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#18 of 186 in Lourdes
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#7 of 186 in Lourdes
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes

Address: 23 avenue du Paradis, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 186 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range: £59 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mediterranee Lourdes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing