We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and uncomfortable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel BELFRY

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel BELFRY
Ranked #40 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old and uncomfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Very very old hotel and therefore very old lift and rooms. Wall feels soft due to some weird cushiony wallpaper. Bed was lumpy and small. Room corridors were dim and gloomy. Breakfast was okay, but do not have dinner here. Tasteless and poor service.
The only saving grase was the location to grotto which is within 10 mins walk.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    69
    46
    32
    24
See reviews for
86
121
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very comfortable, elegant, slightly old fashioned (no worse for that) hotel. Stayed for 3 nights and had very comfortable stay. It was a nice quiet oasis away from the noise and bustle outside on the street. All the staff were friendly and competent and made the stay very enjoyable. Bedroom was on the second floor with a balcony which had views across to the sanctuary. We didn't use the gardens or pool but both looked as though would have been a nice area to relax in the warmer weather. The bedroom was clean and well looked after during the stay. The room was big and the bathroom clean and well furnished with bath, good shower & bidet. The toilet was separate on the opposite side of the entrance lobby to the room. While not eating in the hotel, the breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: Room with view over the gardens to the sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSTE176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here with an organised tour in October 2010. We went back again ourselves in May 2011. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the sanctuary on the first visit. The second visit we were upgraded to a suite also overlooking the sanctuary. The reason we were upgraded was because the top floor was taken up by Cardinal Burke (USA) and his entourage. I was brave enough to approach him and we had a nice chat as he had visited Australia the previous year. My wife was too scared to talk to such a dignitary. Back to the Hotel, both times we found the room and suite very comfortable and clean. The food was out of this world, we booked full board and even though we didn't stick to their set menu and had a la carte the extra cost was minimal. I had for the first time escargot (magnifique) and frogs legs (ordinary). The staff were superb and the Maitre D' (David) deserves a special mention as he went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We stayed four nights both times and were grateful there was a decent walk to the Grotto and Sanctuary as we needed the walk after the meals. I recommend to go easy on the breakfast and leave room for the wonderful lunch and dinner. My French is just schoolboy talk but it got me through as everyone speaks English. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Hotel de la Grotte and I would definitely rate it a four star hotel. Also we will go back again in May 2012, the people there don't recommend summer as it is too hot.

Room Tip: Call them and ask for the 4th floor overlooking the sanctaury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSSIEmike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel with some friends back in 1997. I loved the location and the cozy vibe, so when my family and i decided it was time to go back to Lourdes , i made sure our travel agent booked us here. I almost didn't recognize it b/c it has gone through some major renovations since my previous stay. We were in room 420 and it was wonderful. It was large enough for the 3 of us and had an amazing view of the sanctuary (the purpose of our stay) and at night when we left the windows open you could hear the singing and the bells in the night air....SO peaceful!! In the morning you could smell the croissants from the bakery across the street!
The king bed was comfy, as was the twin that was there for our 8 yo daughter. The bathroom was good size and we liked having the bathrobes!
The restaurant was great and we ate there for breakfast as well as dinner. The staff does speak some English but in the restaurant their English was limited but it wasn't a big deal. I did find the service in the restaurant a little slow and the staff not as attentive as we are used to in the States, but again it was not that big a deal and something we found in most places we've stayed in Europe.
Also, i just want to add that someone mentioned you have to walk up the hill to get back to the hotel if you went out the back way. There are a couple ways to get to the hotel from the sanctuary and we found going back so you enter through the front was easier after a long day of walking.
Another nice thing that they added since my last stay is the pool. Believe it or not in August it was too cold to go in, but when we go back, hopefully we will get to use it. Looks great and was nice and clean. Also the internet works great there...much more reliable than where we stayed in Paris!
The whole hotel is nice and clean though i see there are some other areas that they look to be renovating.
All in all it's a very charming hotel in a really nice and peaceful location. This is where we will stay when we return. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lf_guinguene, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel BELFRY, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Google Translation
Bonjour
Je vous remercie pour ces commentaires.
Le quatrième étage est entièrement refait.
Cet hiver, nous continuons la renovation de l etage 3 et 2

Merci

Louis
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Well on the plus side the hotel has a great location, with some rooms having great views down the valley. The Hotel is situated with an easy down hill walk to the evening torchlight parade... its an uphill walk back of course.
That said we come to the not so good aspects... I am not a big fan of matching wallpaper with bed spreads, specially in a small room.. Matching the curtains also with flowery pattern did tend to make room claustrophobic. The toilet would be the right size for someone less than 5ft 8. During the night I stretched, and the bed fell apart. I am 6 ft 3. The wait staff had been described as like Basil from Fawlty Towers... good description... The toaster at breakfast didnt work and I have this wonderful image which will remain of the waiter disappearing under the table to plug it in... still didnt work
Overall and interesting experience... memorable but not great

Room Tip: Small, claustrophobic, but ours had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OziCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lourdes hotels

UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Good location + free parking for guests. Breakfast ok.
BUT the hotel needs to be refurbished entirely. Rooms are very much outdated/tired (although this is a 4* hotel in Lourdes, this is more like a 2/3* !).
Hotel staff are friendly. Reasonable rate during off season.
Lourdes is an amazing place...
If you have some spare time, make a couple of day trips to Gavarnie, Pic du Midi and La Mongie - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANIY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

The first time we went to Lourdes and checked into the hotel, we almost turned around and checked out. But, there was nothing available in Lourdes, so we stayed. There was no AC, no room service and the front desk seemed pretty much closed down. SO we decided we would stay the night and look for something in the AM.
Our night was very peaceful. The sound of the waterfalls came through our open window over the quiet street. The breeze cooled our rooms to the point of cozy balnkets. The rooms were quaint and the bathrooms more than adequate. The desk help was very courteous and even helpful. They didn't bat an eye when we returned one night at 2AM after a day excursion. We didn't get room service but the restaurants in the hotel were very good.
We have stayed at this hotel 4 times. And we are staying there again this year.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Le Rive Droite & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Padoue
Hotel Padoue
#24 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel BELFRY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel BELFRY

Property: Grand Hotel BELFRY
Address: 66 rue de la Grotte, 65100, Lourdes, France (Formerly Grand Hotel de la Grotte)
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel BELFRY 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with two restaurants, one outside swimming pool,nice garden.free wifi everywhere rooms,lobby etc...Parking & garage (12 eur /day)Concierge serviceRoom service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel BELFRY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing