We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Five days is plenty'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“'Five days is plenty'”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for 7 days on early May, we went with Barrhead travel Clydebank who at one time had three reps with us , Antony, Mark and Kevin (more like saints than tour Guides) a great trio.
Hotel was kind of basic but suited every ones needs, it was clean with small rooms and edible food.
We went on various bus trips which broke-up the same ole Groundhog day feeling well done again to the Trio.
Our flights were with B.A. which was great and plenty of room for the biggest of persons.
Downside with the hotel is the rooms at the front (too much noise ) and with about 40 Plus forces bands and personnel, there was too much drink and racket in the early hours--- akin to Blackpool in UK.at summer.
Do Not got to Lourdes when the armed forces are there ( usually May) as its 'party time' for these people and you can hardly move on the streets.
Main streets are full of organized beggers another con for the tourists, do Not give them anything to encourage this 'profession'
No room coffee pot or iron so, if you like a cuppa whenever, bring your own.
Flights seem to allow half gall and gall plastic containers filled with holy water , to take home, I don't know why ??
On the whole 5 days would be plenty here, in this hotel and in Lourdes, its a bit of sight with all the stalls and tacky shops and anything related to Catholics has a price tag, from candles to crosses, to masses and holy fridge magnets ----lol

Room Tip: ask for top floor to the Rear-------------NOT a front road location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanzbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    59
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
48
29
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Vatican Astoria as part of a large pilgrimage group in September for 5 days. The staff were charming and helpful, the food was average but with good variety. The single room I occupied was so small it as claustrophobic and I was unable to access English tv.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a group of 5 who stayed at this hotel Sept 30th -Oct 3rd 2013. 1 Priest in our group was disabled and the other had walking problems. Both had excellent care from the hotel - nothing too much trouble. Very convivial hotel. Clean & Helpful. Food good.
Rooms may be small but we spent most of the time away from the bedroom. Disabled room was very large.
Will certainly go back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms were small but adequate. Ideal for hotel near to the Grotto. We used two of the many wheelch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkljrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in september, this was our 5th visit to lourdes and the 1st negative experience we had. Yes the hotel was clean except the table cloth was not changed for the time we were there. It was severely under staffed, one girl serving at breakfast. The staff were all very nice and helpful, but under pressure, There was such a delay between courses(30 mins one day at lunch) food was cold. Breakfast was cornflakes, cheese or salami and bread, After the 2nd day we had lunch and dinner down town even though it was full board.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryh1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there end July for 5 nights with my daughter. Staff excellent very helpful. Rooms small but very clean. Flat screen tv in rooms which even had irish channels! Food excellent. Good size portions. Would recommend

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank galwaygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed here in mid june .it was the week that Lourdes was flooded.i arrived with out a booking,and was very happy to get a room here.the reception was a big area with plenty of room, there was an irish lady in reception,who was very helpful.haveing worked here a few years,she was very informative about the town,the hotel rooms were very nice.very comfortable.flat screen tv. beautifull views of the town,the hotel also has a beautifull courtyard with a fountain,where you could relax and enjoy a coffe or a drink from the bar.it had 24 hour reception cover,which was great,the food was excellent,suited all tastes.francois the manager was also very helpful.overall all the staff were polite and couldn't do enough to ensure a good stay,this hotel is an oasis in Lourdes,i will return,,its only a few minutes to the grotto.its opposite the poor clares convent,very central.and it did not get any flooding. it was an excellent stay,micheal

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank micheal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were here May 2013, nice clean and comfortable hotel. It has been recently refurbished. The staff were friendly and very helpfull, would definately stay here again. It is just up the road from the Grotto.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#16 of 185 in Lourdes
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#15 of 185 in Lourdes
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican

Property: Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican
Address: 95 rue de la Grotte, 65100, Lourdes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern summer hotel with multilingual staff; restaurant and bar; located 1 km from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Vatican Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing