We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Etienne
Ranked #51 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel really shocked me in a good way! I stayed here on 2011 when I did a week volunteering for the elderly and back then it was terrible. Looking at it now, it was just bliss using a shower that's clean and nicely maintained, the beds seem "new" and clean and in general it's a great hotel to stay in if you want a visit in Lourdes. The people who work here are great and is always helpful, despite the very limited English and French (me!) that goes on in the conversation. I wouldn't recommend the food here though and unfortunately there isn't much "nice" food choices to eat in Lourdes unless you venture a bit of walk from the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Etienne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed at Hot St-Etienne on Dec. 2 and 3, 2012. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful. The room was standard size for French hotels and gave me enough space to put an overpacked bag, a large coat, and a large book bag down and still have space. The bathroom was clean and, the shower was a nice size. My room also had a french balcony which was very charming. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is very close to the grotto and several restaurants. The season for Lourdes ends in late October so there were a lot of restaurants closed when I visited. But Hotel St-Etienne provided a delicious breakfast and was close to downtown restaurants that open all year round. It is also close to the Castle of Lourdes which is an awesome place to visit if you have time. Hotels can be really overpriced but this hotel is well priced, clean, and well located.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yamiche A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay for four days and complete with breakfast.the room was very clean and change of towels everyday and also bins emptied which is very important.
We were happy as we were able to keep in touch with the children as we had access to the Internet.
We would most definitely be returning to the hotel as service was first class.
Thank you to all your staff.

Room Tip: The location was excellent as my husband just had an operation it was easy to get to the sanctuary a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived on a record breaking hot day in August 98 degrees. The hotel and room was very nice and in a great location but no air conditioning and no fans. They were very helpful and let us cancel our one week reservation. Would recommend and would go back as long as it wasn't so hot out. Ceiling fans would be a great addition to the newly remodeled Hotel.

Room Tip: Only reason sleep quality is average is due to heat. Beds were very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Found this hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor and glad I made the right choice. My mom uses a wheelchair and this hotel met our needs- shower bench, elevator up to room, ramp to enter hotel, close proximity to the sanctuary (grotto). Plus free Internet. All needs were met.

Staff also helped to locate my daughter's luggage accidentally left behind at Orly airport's X-ray machine, my daughter's beloved stuffed animal was in that luggage... Hotel St. Etienne staff called the airport and helped to retrieve it. A plus in my book.

We found a great sandwich shop up the street. After exiting the hotel, turn right and head up. You'll walk maybe a block and a half. Look for the green "sandwich" sign on the left side. The woman who ran it was super friendly.

The sanctuary was less than 5 minutes away. We would have gotten there faster if we didn't stop and look at what the souvenir shops had. By the way, the hotel gives 10% off at their souvenir shop for hotel guests. If you want to take water from the grotto home, the bottles sold at all of the souvenir shops were leak proof. Just make sure to look under the cap to find a white plastic piece under the blue cap. I brought along ziplock bags to place the bottles in just in case of leakage. 4 planes all the way back to San Diego, CA and no leaks.

I traveled with my mom in a wheelchair and my 6 year old daughter. We absolutely loved Lourdes and want to return someday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rlacsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here 3 years ago & stayed with them again in June 2012!
Prices were very reasonable 3 years & are still very reasonable now!
Value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Newly renovated hotel (3 weeks back)10 minutes away from the train station, very close to the church of Our Lady of Lourdes. David who was on front desk was very helpful. Staff is very pleasent and cheerful. Ideal for travellers who go on pilgrimage. Gift shops and restaurants are next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the rear side. View is terrible but no noise from traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lutetia
Hotel Lutetia
#31 of 185 in Lourdes
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Angelic - Myriam
Hotel Angelic - Myriam
#39 of 185 in Lourdes
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#13 of 185 in Lourdes
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Notre Dame de la Sarte
Notre Dame de la Sarte
#43 of 185 in Lourdes
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Etienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Etienne

Address: 61 boulevard de la Grotte, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Etienne 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Saint Etienne*** is located 2 minuts away from the sanctuary (200 meters). The hotel was fully renovated in 2012, 43 modern bedrooms all ensuite, with flat screen satelite TV and free internet connexion WI-FI. In a friendly family atmosphere, you will enjoy delightful, varied cuisine and will benefit from our experience of serving an international clientele. The hotel also offers a list of varied excursions. At your disposal you have the restaurant, bedrooms and our tastefully decorated lounge.Our souvenir shop will give you gift ideas for your friends and family or simply for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Saint Etienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Etienne Hotel
Saint Etienne Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing