We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Vallee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Vallee
Ranked #9 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wondeful hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Travelled to Lourdes with my mother to visit the grotto. Citotel de la Vallee is located higher up in Lourdes however you can still walk to the grotto in 15 minutes. If you want to stay very close to the grotto perhaps this isn't the best location however, the walk through the town was always worth the trip.

Lourdes is absolutely splendid. The people are very friendly there and the hotel staff were impeccable. They speak almost any language which is great as well. We ate at the hotel's restaurant each night for one week and the menu was fantastique! The food was very French and we enjoyed the wine that they served as well. Very reasonably priced for France.

The rooms were small and plain however they were very well kept and the bathroom was newly renovated.

All in all the staff at the hotel made the experience memorable. They were so friendly and very helpful. I wanted to go mountain biking in the mountains and they directed me to a place to rent a bike and always were more than helpful. They just went out of there way to make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spankyshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    56
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
75
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Recently returned from a 3 night stay in Lourdes at the Citolel de la Vallee. A nice hotel for so many reasons. 1)Location - only a 5-10 minute walk to the Grotto and located on a quiet side street away from crowds/noise. Nice market/restaurants around the corner. For those who enjoy running, a beautiful bike path along the River Pau is only a 5 minute jog away. 2)Staff-always friendly/helpful 3)Rooms-clean/simple/comfortable. Everything a pilgrim needs and more

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yowalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We booked at the last minute. The hotel was very clean and the meals were so good. I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfwprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Very warm welcome at the reception desk and very helpful staff.
Room very comfortable. Pleasant breakfast - dinner not quite so good but very friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannymem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The hotel is situated in a quiet area about a 10 minute walk from the Grotto. The rooms although simply furnished were very clean and the beds comfortable. The food and service in the restaurant was good,the staff exceptionally friendly and helpfull. In particular the Hotel receptionists and the Hotel manager. We found it an ideal base and would recomend highly!!

Would definitely return!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LOU1Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2008

The hotel is situated in a quiet area about 10-15 minutes walk from the Domaine. The rooms were clean and warm in Winter, but the bathrooms were small. The furnishings were simple but the beds were comfortable. The food was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We found it an ideal base for our pilgrimage and would be happy to stay there again. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waderwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I booked Citotel de la Vallee based on the reviews in tripadvisor and had no dissapointment.
Very friendly and helpful staff made cozy atmosphere. All of receptionists speak English very well. My room was spacious at wonderful price. The room facility and amenity were basic but it was enough for pilgrim. The hotel was in the center of the old city. So that it kept good distance from many of neon-light advertisement around the sanctuary and I enjoyed its tranquility. It takes 10 minutes by walk to sanctuary including long slope. It might be easy to walk for healthy people but I sometime took a rest at mid of the slope- and found a good café. I took breakfast there as the hotel's breakfast 9.00 euro/p.p. was bit expensive. I also took dinner outside of the hotel as it was busy with groups every night. The hotel staff recommended French restaurant Alexandra, just 2 minutes walking distance, instead and it was great! I enjoyed their fixed menu 12.00 euro very much.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Francesca515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lourdes
Ibis Lourdes
#13 of 185 in Lourdes
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Vallee

Property: Hotel de la Vallee
Address: 28 rue des Pyrenees, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lourdes
#11 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Vallee 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Vallee is located in the city center of Lourdes 10 minutes walking from the Sanctuaries and 5 minutes from the historic city center.We have 43 modern rooms with quality bedding, complete bathrooms with bath or shower, satellite TV and Freeview, free WiFi. All our rooms are air conditioned, some with minibar and safe.Private garage attached to the hotel.Buffet breakfast and regional cuisine will be offered during your stay.We are at your disposal for information about visits in Lourdes and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel De La Vallee Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing