We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel property in Lourdes by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne
Ranked #1 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Hotels in Lourdes are generally not to US standards for much beyond basic service that would be equivalent at best to a Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is the exception. It is classic French style both in the interior and exterior decor. The rooms are traditional with furniture that is nice, but somewhat dated, but marble baths. No showers! You're in France! If you're looking for duvets with multiple pillows and a special mattress, you won't find it in Lourdes.However, the staff, particularly the front desk led by Joseph, is outstanding, and will bend over backwards to assist with every request including my need to check out a day earlier than booked. As others have said, location, location, location is everything in this hilly town. If you have any disabled persons in your party look no further. Free wheelchairs are available for use from the hospital behind the hotel. This is my second time to the hotel, and would not stay anywhere else, and I have stayed up the hill. You will hate the walk regardless of your age!

Room Tip: The junior suites are great for a party of three!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William Randolp... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

The superb baroque façade and the art-nouveau interior take you back to the athmosphere of the early 20th century. Great location (50m from sanctuary) and very friendly staff (from cleaning ladies to reception). Basic breakfast and few sockets in the room. Undermanned (sometimes unmanned) bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cisdavao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

In June a friend of mine and I decided to take a tour with Go Ahead Vacations. In Lourdes they booked us at the Grand Moderne. The location of the hotel is just a few meters away from the grotto thus allowing one to return quickly for the services throughout the day.The rooms are seemingly spacious and moslty have an attached balcony. On the street below, the stores selling souvenirs are open well past 22hrs and one can shopfor rosaries medals and other items even after the late evening rosary.
The staff were also very helpful. The breakfast at the hotel was rather sparse..but we enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant. I would reccomend this hotel especially because of its location and proximity to the place of pilgrimage.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globalltouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Absolutely beautiful hotel (architecturally), the foyer exudes luxury and the multi-lingual staff are all very helpful. The rooms are also very grand, nicely decorated with beautiful furnishings and soft sheets & blankets. The bathroom was also very large and spacious. Balcony off the room has nice views of the hustle bustle of Lourdes. Only downside was the breakfast - dont waste your money, it was very expensive for the very poor variety of food for such an establishement. Just wasn't up to par with other places we have stayed in with the offering being limited to 2 cereals, 1 type of cheese, 1 cold ham, some fruit which didnt look appetising accompanied with yoghurt. The cutlery and glasses all looked a bit grity (lip stick marks, soap remanants etc) which you wouldn't expect here. The are lovely cafes outside so would skip this personally. Also the internet wasnt working when we stayed and although the room was beautiful the hallways seemed a bit dated (maybe a fresh coat of paint/better lighting would fix this up). A very nice spiralling wood stairway completes this place which is located acorss the road from the Sanctuaries.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Adventuring_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I recently stopped by Lourdez on our way through the South of France and checked in to the Grand Hotel Moderne after hearing some really good things about it. Wow were we impressed. Everything was perfect from the location to the restaurant and of course the staff who really treated you like old friends. We would recommend this terrific 4 star hotel to everyone thinking of making a stop in Lourdes.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwongvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The minute you walk into the hotel you are welcomed by very friendly, charming, helpful and competent staff. Morad, the receptionist at the time we arrived, was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room and the view over the Sanctuary was simply breathtaking. The hotel has been very well renovated and has maintained its original charm. You feel like you're in a special place. The restaurant is beautiful with its chandeliers and wooden ceilings. Considering that most of the hotels in Lourdes are hostel quality, the Grand Hotel Moderne stands out for its service, staff, decoration and top quality. We loved every minute and, if we were to return to Lourdes, would only consider staying in this hotel. Congratulations to the staff and the owners for excellent service.

Room Tip: Any room will be top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

You feel the "grandness" right as you walk in. Staff meets you ourside the front door. Excellent front desk service!
We had a quadruple room and it was very roomy for 4 people. Room was very clean. the blankets are worn out though and needs to be replaced. No tissue available- our first experience.
Forget the breakfast buffet- very disappointing and expensive- 14 euro/person. From that experience, we cancelled our next day breakfast buffet and glad we didn't sign up for their lunch and dinner. Numerous food and restaurants around for you to choose from and less expensive.
The location is unbeatable though. It was just around the corner from St. Joseph's gate entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
684 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel BELFRY
Grand Hotel BELFRY
#12 of 185 in Lourdes
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Le Rive Droite & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne

Address: 21 avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100, Lourdes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: £113 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moderne 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the family of Bernadette Soubirous in 1896, the Grand Hotel Moderne combines charm, elegance and comfort and is ideally located at only 50 meters from the sanctuaries. Completely restored in 2008, the hotel has managed to preserve the soul of this extraordinary House while adding a unique touch of elegance and comfort in Lourdes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing