We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAJESTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MAJESTIC”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel on the 6/8/2014 I believe it was recently renovated. The name said it all Grand inside and out. We had a room on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the street. The room was clean reasonable size decorated with original furniture. The bed was very hard I ended up with a back ace. The bathroom was all marble but little small. The Hotel itself is beautiful with amazing spiral staircase. Perfect location and close to the Grotto. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was charming but the food was very ordinary and not a lot of choice. Lamb, Stake Schnitzel. There are lot of restaurants around so it did not matter. We never made it to breakfast in the Hotel because they close at 9 o’clock we thought that was little too early to close. I’m not sure that I would stay there again because of the hard bed, but this Majestic Hotel is worth seeing.

Room Tip: Third floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karyna196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    83
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
124
77
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Not impressed w/room 119. Open the windows (no balcony) for a view of a pillar in the center of the windows; room faced a side street overlooking the restaurant roof next door and hotel trash pickup. Room very small and overstuffed w/furniture making it difficult to move around. Don't turn around in the shower (no bathtub) else you'll bump into the faucets and turn off the water! Air conditioning controlled by hotel staff. I'm sure other rooms are lovely but stay away from room 119!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M6792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

6 days in Lourdes. Hotel clean and very close to the Grotto. Food very good Also the waiters
were excellent.very attentive.
One complaint if you can call it a complaint not enough draw space, only two small draws just like the bedside cabinet draws Do need space for tops to be stored.
in spite of this I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay in the Hotel Moderne. As always, everything was perfect! The workforce are a credit to this outstandingly beautiful hotel; its evident to see that they enjoy their work. The rooms are large and well appointed. The restaurant is charming and the food is very tasty and well presented. I would recommend this hotel highly to both family and friends. I look forward to returning on a group pilgrimage again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My mother stayed at this hotel a short while ago - and has been a guest on several previous occasions too. I have given it 5 stars because frankly it deserves the 5 stars and my mother - and other relatives and friends will be staying there again. But there are just a few issues that do need addressing before they get out of control.
The curtains in the dining room were apparently filthy. The dining room itself was clean and, in stark contrast to the curtains, the tables were covered with crisp whiten table cloths.
The cleanliness of the rooms is on the whole good, but not perfect. This time, my mother would not use the hair dryer because it was very grubby and the floor was not hovered when the room was serviced; last time the surfaces could have been cleaner. I think in a hotel of this calibre, everything should at least be clean.

On the plus side, the staff cannot be faulted - They are efficient, helpful, knowledgeable, kind and quite frankly the best hotel staff I have ever come across, ( I too have stayed there). The food is good - not a lot of choice - but good with speedy service and excellent waiters.
The location to the Sanctuary is perfect, and it is not noisy either. In fact, this hotel is excellent so please sort out those minor cleanliness issues before regular guests like my mother and myself defect to elsewhere.

Room Tip: My family and I have stayed in various rooms and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As part of a cycling trip we had no choice of lodging and spent 3 nights here. If you like to be where the action is - shops, restaurants, shrine, this is a great choice. If you don't like hearing people talking and laughing, singing happy birthday into the wee hours (my camp), it's not the place for you. Our room overlooked the street, so we dealt with street noise. The room itself was OK - we missed: a place to hang our towels, kleenex, and a comfortable queen or king bed (two fairly hard singles with polyester-type bed spreads that were very slippery - the decor was stodgy for my taste). The hotel provides a good selection for breakfast; we did not have the opportunity to eat any other meals there.

Room Tip: If you don't care for street noise, ask for an inside room (if they have them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel Moderne is an awesome place. The hotel itself is beautiful and in walking distance of the shrine. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have all of the modern amenities. The staff will always go out of their way to be helpful, friendly, and accommodating. The food in the restaurant is always delicious and plentiful. I travel to Lourdes once a year, and have made Hotel Moderne my "home-away-from-home."

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilgrimbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne

Property: Grand Hotel Moderne
Address: 21 avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100, Lourdes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#3 Family Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Business Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moderne 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the family of Bernadette Soubirous in 1896, the Grand Hotel Moderne combines charm, elegance and comfort and is ideally located at only 50 meters from the sanctuaries. Completely restored in 2008, the hotel has managed to preserve the soul of this extraordinary House while adding a unique touch of elegance and comfort in Lourdes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing