We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was horrible”
Review of Helgon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helgon Hotel
Ranked #45 of 186 Hotels in Lourdes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My mum, my sister and I stayed for four nights. The room was OK but to small for a triple room, not enough wardrobe space.Wardrobe was just big enough for a single room.There was also a Strong damp smell in bathroom. Also when shower was on the floor was soaking and very dangerous for my elderly mum.The meals were horrible. We hardly ate any of the meals and when I asked them to make scrambled egg for my mother we were told the chef would not make it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotswhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We arrived back from Lourdes France recently, a place everyone should visit at least once in their life time. A wonderful experience. We stayed at the Helgon Hotel, it is a very nice hotel comfortable room which was spotless and friendly staff but the food was completely inadequate.The continental breakfast was ok but the lunch and dinner was very poor. We were still hungry after so we filled up on bread.So we were very dissapointed and won't be going to the Helgon Hotel next time we go to Lourdes. Other guests had wine and good food,however they were with a different travel agent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHANGRILAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Credit where its due, the hotel appearance was modern and bright, clean and well laid out, bedrooms compact but very comfortable - fantastic shower, comfy bed. The staff were wonderful, especially the front reception staff, were always smiling, friendly and very helpful - in particular the blonde haired girl she was so happy and friendly always!.. Location was great but a big miss for me for the food - this really lets the hotel down unfortunately, I bought my own food and ate out for the biggest part. Sort the food out and the place would be pretty faultless for a good place to bed down whilst in Lourdes..

Room Tip: I couldn't imagine sharing a room as they were really small but had everything and free wifi whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonderro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Helgon Hotel in Lourdes for 4 days 3 nights last week and it is a gem of the hotel. The room is spacious, clean and the bed is comfortable. Continental breakfast was ok. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. They even offered to purchase parking ticket for us as it was due to run out in the middle of the day. Would definitely recommend this hotel and if ever we go back to Lourdes, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The location is great, the rooms spotless and best of all the personnel can
not do enough to make sure your stay is a pleasant one! Our big surprse was the Hotel's restaurant. We usually don't eat at hotel restaurants, but due to a severe rainstorm decided to eat in the Hotel. You get a very limited selcetion, but the quality of the food and wine was excellent. A stay at this hotel will help make your trip to Lourdes more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linefeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Booked this hotel at the very last minute,because there is a problem with the hotel i planned to stay,but i'm very pleased with this hotel,it exceeds my expectations about hotel in Lourdes

Arrived late,but i was greeted with a warm welcome and they actually have my reservation printouts ready,the checkin process was very fast

The room is very cleane and comfy(got the triple room for two people promo),but it is a bit dark (maybe because the corridor is so bright),i have a small problem with the bathroom,particularly the shower,no barrier means the water go all over the bathroom,making it somewhat slippery to walk around

The staff are very helpful and friendly,they do speak multiple languages too and they actually gave us lots of informations about the grotto,city maps,mass schedule. Even the night staff,who barely speak english is friendly,and somehow we can communicate

The breakfast is great,the staff gave us lots of Food,and once i was late for breakfast,i was still accepted and they still serve us well

The location is great,it is located on the alley,so it is less noisy,but it is still close to the grotto (and to the city if you decide to venture a bit further)

Just an input,please either provide a kettle in the room,or hot water jug in the lobby,so i can make a tea if i want to

All in all,i would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Lourdes,and i will stay here if i ever come to Lourdes again

Room Tip: Get the triple room for two promo! its a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank synequano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel was good value for money. Extremely clean. The staff were very friendly and refreshingly accommodating.

Room Tip: There is a lot of foot traffic that passes the hotel to go to the Lourdes Sanctuary...so if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Padoue
Hotel Padoue
#23 of 186 in Lourdes
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Astoria Vatican
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#41 of 186 in Lourdes
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#8 of 186 in Lourdes
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 186 in Lourdes
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Le Rive Droite & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helgon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helgon Hotel

Address: 8 rue Massabielle, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 186 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Helgon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Helgon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing