We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #8 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceeded expectations!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Continental. When we arrived at 6am yesterday, we did not expect that a room would be available since our booking is from the 26th to the 27th but they were able to accommodate us also for breakfast. The room itself was spacious & enough amenities for our needs. The staff were very friendly & helpful. They also helped us coordinate for a taxi back to the station the same night. It was a veey nice experience staying in the hotel. The next time we are in Lourdes, we will be sure to consider Hotel Continental.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEdlR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    152
    67
    12
    5
See reviews for
135
93
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just stayed here on March 28, 2014. The hotel is situated a block a way from the Lourdes Sanctuaries, but it is an older hotel and could benefit from some updating. The floors of our room and bathroom creeked loudly whenever we walked. The TV wouldn't turn off. The floor of our room was not completely leveled near the window. It was off season so there weren't a lot of guests staying at the hotel, but we could people talking in other rooms and creeking in the hallway whenever someone walked by our room. The room above us was occupied so we heard creeking from above us too. We had a nice view from the room and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall, the hotel is a good value. It also offers discounts to other shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at Hotel Continental for six (6) days. Although we came in from Paris a bit early than the check-in time, the staff were very friendly and accommodating and allowed us to check-in to our rooms so we can rest. I especially like Ms. Dominique who was at the reception. She really went out of her way to help us with our needs. Although the room we were given at the 1st Floor was small, its coziness compensated a lot for the size. The downside however, is the bed because it was not that comfortable. Also, the 8 Euro for the breakfast was a bit too much considering that our hotel in Paris also had the same cost for buffet breakfast with lots more choices. But all in all, it was really a most pleasant stay: the location was perfect (near restaurants, supermarkets, souvenir shops and most important of all, the Grotto and Basilica of Our Lady of Lourdes), and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful! When I do go back to Lourdes, I will definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Anne,
Dominique is very proud to make your stay so unforgettable! She will be there all year around. We thank you sharing your experience with other travelers. Best regards. Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We, 2 friends traveling together, booked 2 single beds room and got room at 2nd floor.

Pros:
We were/are still grateful that this hotel still open on off pilgrimage season. It is so closed to everything we wanted to do: English Mass, The Grotto itself, Way of the cross, and even some souvenier shops. The beds are comfortable. Plus free wifi. We aren't big breakfast eaters. So, the breakfast menu was OK. Coffee and Hot Chocolate were the ones we looked for and they have it! :)

For our dinner, we went to the area where Market and Tourism Information are. Please be informed that most of the restaurants is closed on Monday evening. (at least at our time of visit). But not to worry, there is always McD. :)

Cons:
The window at the bathroom. They use white thin translucent films as cover. Not blinds, curtains, or shutters etc. Maybe this is a custom in France (maybe. i don't know), but it's just doesn't feel right to put this kind of window covering at the bathroom. We had the feelings that we're being watched when we were busy to do our private clean up.
We chose to take shower with the light off instead and the door open. It's in the winter time, even in the morning, it's still dark. .. btw the bathroom' door couldn't be closed either. We could ask for another room, but we didn't feel like to spend too much time only for this.

Maybe this is the reason of having a deal price? :)

Anyway, it was a nice hotel.
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sketsahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

There was great customer service offered by all staff of the hotel, especially the receptionists who greets me very well especially on arrival. I was allowed to book in early. The rooms were very warm and great heating from the radiators in the room and bathroom. The continental breakfast (all you can eat) was great value at €8. I would definitely stay here again without a doubt. One staff member stood out in particular and that was Dominique who was my first point of contact on my arrival the first day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arklowdutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Rooms were a little small, which is expected of European hotels, but staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and their chocolate vennoise (sp?) was great! There is a pool table as well as assorted games in the lounge area. Lounge area is neat, cosy and comfy. In fact, I spent more time in the lounge than in my room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff are very welcoming and efficient. We only spent one night but will stay there again on my next trip. Even the gift shop is cheaper and has a good selection.
in walking distance of everything and the train station is not too far away.

Room Tip: overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natty260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#14 of 185 in Lourdes
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 20 avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the Sanctuaries, the bed & Breakfast Continental welcomes you within a truly convivial atmosphere, close to the Shrines and just a few metres from Lourdes' Grotto in the heart of the Marian City. During your stay we suggest you enjoy our relaxing bar-lounge and comfortable rooms; our personnel is at your disposal to ensure a quality service and personal welcome. Free wifi in the lobby and Internet computer at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing