We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable stay”
Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

i have just returned from a very plesant stay at La Solitude Hotel part of group of Pilgrims . i wish to agree with agreat many of reviews ---great location -friendly profesniol staff-spasous lobby al lverry clean food good -a word of advice request room on shrine side (not on river side) as therre is a music venue( disco)nearby loud noise until late my room on the small sid bathroom tiny had to step over bidea to get in shower MARY

Room Tip: Rooms on Shrine side are quieter at night
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank earlybird_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Solitude
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

The two of us arrived tired after long train journey. It looked nice enough. We were told it was room only and had to tell reception that we had booked breakfast too. We were then shown to our room. We were led to an annexe away from main hotel. There was no security and two entrances. It looked(and smelled) derelict. No lighting as we were led to lift. 4 floors up and into a dark corridor. No light outside the lift. The embarrassed employee fumbled and tried to light corridor. The lighting worked as we approached the room. This was a tiny room not worthy of a star at all. Our escort tried to switch on lights to no avail. He shook his head and checked bulb and signalled that he would get a new one and took it out. The "air conditioning" advertised in this three star brochure was a fan, which our now highly frustrated escort attempted to plug in to a socket near the television. No it was blocked with a broken plug and he cut himself on it. He then plugged it in to the only other source of electricity and so the enormous fan now stood blocking the doorway! (nowhere to charge phones in this "3star" room. The "wardrobe" was a one door cupboard with one shelf taken up by the pillows and safe ( I say this loosely as it was attached to the shelf by screw and nut. We actually took it out for a photo! Anyone in this badly secured building could have taken it with our passports and money!) This was a nightmare. The "desk" could have been picked up from a land fill as there were runners where the drawer should have been. As there was only the floor to put our cases and this was also shared with the fan, we then had nowhere to walk! We had just come here to break our journey and to reminisce not to shrive ourselves,! The irony was that the pilgrims in the main hotel had great facilities as described in the brochure. We would certainly have done better to camp at the great French sites as we did 15 years ago. It was time to complain. This was not what was advertised at all. We duly left the room and walked down the corridor to the lift situated in a plainly dangerous unlit area. At reception we complained, something we have never done before. The response was staggering! We had booked on the Internet, paid up front for a standard room and that was that. Could we upgrade? No, because we had booked through expedia so they hadn't dealt with the money. Actually, we had booked through Hotels.com but there has to be a cautionary tale here-if you book that way you can expect an inferior service!!
We said we wanted to upgrade. Surely we had paid whether it was a long time ago or not. Was there a room in the main building? No! Could they let us know if one became available? reluctantly, yes.
We went back through the dark, yes, fire hazard of an annexe to our expensive tiny room. This was the end of our holiday, three days in Lourdes after a great stay in hotel madeloc in Couliore. We decided to ring Hotels.com for advice. Basically, they sorted it. We went to reception and hey presto! There WAS a room available in the main building after all. It was a three star room with air conditioning, a wardrobe, and floor space.
We had good, well organised breakfast. The fact that we were a couple seemed unusual as there were mostly very large groups with designated areas. The staff at breakfast were kind and helpful.
All the people who are part of organised groups would not know about the inferior annexe. Beware! This is the first time in many years of travel that we have had such a bad hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Good located hotel, a few steps away from the sanctuaries, with friendly staff and moderate prices! Rooms are all en suite and are equipped with flat screen TVs, electronic safety boxes and individually regulated airconditioning. Mine also had a terrace overlooking the sanctuaries' esplanade and the Lourdes castle. Buffet breakfast is available in the basement restaurant. Groups of pilgrims from U.K., Italy and Spain may fill the reception area and bar. I was there for the second time, when I did some voluntary work as "pilote aux sanctuaires" and will possibly return next year

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The taxi took the narrow alleyway to get us to the hotel (it was a tight fit!), but once there, the fatigue of continuous travel were eased by the helpful & informative front desk, a spacious & very comfortable room with loft (and a view of the town & river) and location, location, location!

Barrier-free facilities are spot on (planning for bringing mum & dad for their own pilgrimage) and the food was ample & good enough (note I really didn’t have a chance to eat in hotel too much). The shops were also convenient and had many English books on Lourdes & the Sanctuary.

This was my first stop on my trip, and it set the tone for what was a great time.
Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Book well in advance! The ground floor has barrier-free access but are limited in number.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed here in this Hotel in June while on pilgrimage with my family, found the Hotel claen , Food average, Staff very friendly and accomodating , overall would recommend this Hotel. only 3 mins walk from Shrine.

Room Tip: We Had Room on 5th floor had a lovely view !
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EUGLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

In crowded city, a place of total peace and beauty. Room windows opened to flowing stream, magnificent view and in the distance, soft chanting. Have never had a better night's sleep. Staff was lovely and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpolazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The service in this hotel is the best you will get in Lourdes from reception right through to the dining area and on into the accommodation. The staff and management are both experienced and friendly and knowledgable about all aspects of the hotel and the sancturies and are on hand at all times to make your trip pleasant and sucessful.
The rooms in the solitude are all very confortable and are soundproof. They have done extensive refurbishment over the last couple of years and every room is of a high standard. They have a large number of invalid rooms and these are also a high standard and make the stay very confortable for invalids. They also have a number of conference room which are available to groups to use if you need a meeting or indeed for social gatherings. (IE: Departing mass, talks and even bingo!!)
The Solitude is very close to the sancturies, only about one minutes walk, but the best thing about its location is that you have no hills to climb when you come out of grotto.
The Food in the Hotel is exceptionally good and the Irish people love the lunch especially as they have a wonderful buffet that offers a wide range of salads, with hot and cold choices, so there is something for everyone, even the children. The Breakfast is also buffet and also offers a good selection of cereals (even porridge), fruits, cold meats, breads and plenty of juice,tea and coffee.
The only thing I did not like about the hotel.......is having to leave it....

Well done to all the management and staff. Look forward to bringing the pilgrimage to you again next year for our 17th year staying with you.
Lourdes Kindness Pilgrimage Dublin.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are to the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank terryclarke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 185 in Lourdes
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing