We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Trip to Lourdes July 2012”
Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Being my first trip to Lourdes and as I was hospitalite staff on duty, I was very impressed with this hotel. Check-in was quick and easy and we were directed to our rooms by a member of staff. They reception and bar was lovely, though on a few of the nights there were problems with flies. The hotel staff did their best to get rid of them which was helpful but still quite disgusting. The room was lovely, we had two single beds and a bathroom which was cleaned daily and in good condition. We didn't have the best of views, nor a balcony much to our disappointment but we were out of the hotel a lot of the time due to our duties. It was however, very lovely when we could hear the processions and night time prayers from our room. The continental breakfast was a bit of a disappointment due to there not being much choice and quite bland. To say that hotels in Lourdes are quite expensive anyway, you would expect a bit more at breakfast. Do have to say the orange juice was lovely! Myself and my partner decided to skip breakfast due to being on duty. Furthermore, lunch and dinner was lovely. Cannot fault it. As we had some fussy eaters on our table, we were able to request other things to eat instead of what was on the menu. The location was perfect for us being on duty and being able to get to and from the St. Frai on time... All in all, it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location and we had a fab time. Would definitley reccommend the hotel and a trip to Lourdes!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellyy201092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

La solitude hotel is a good budget hotel which is near to the sanctuary and souvenir shops.
If you wish to explore Lourdes, walk across the bridge, up the hill to the tourist information centre. The people there are very friendly and helpful. Get Cathy, an English speaking tour guide for your walking tour. Unfortunately this is provided only on Thursdays. A visit to the local market nearby is worthwhile.

On the way uphill, on the left is a very good restaurant, Alexander, serving local cuisine. reservation is needed.

There are only 2 self service laundramats in Lourdes. The nearest to the hotel is behind the square where the tourist information bureau is.

Remember to visit the underground basilica. You'd be amazed by it.

Despite the heat and vast number of pilgrims, Lourdes still retains a serene atmosphere, a place of prayer and thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammiKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We are a group of 65 to 75 pilgrims who travel to Lourdes each July for the past ten years, we have some ill pilgrims who we take with us and also some people in wheelchairs. We find the Solitude Hotel is idael for our needs, as the friendly and caring staff go out of their way to to help us in all our requests.We have tried different hotels in Lourdes but we found the Solitude to be the best for groups like ours. Francois and his staff are very professional and caring and go that bit further than most and make your stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Always ask Francois or Cecilia at the front desk what type of room you require and they will bend ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our Pilgrimage to Lourdes was made very pleasant by staying in Hotel Solitude.
Very friendly staff, very clean rooms, very good all round. lovely lobby to sit around with bar. I would recommend this hotel to pilgrims to Lourdes Ive been in a few different ones this is the best.
Very near Grotto for invalids.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our first trip to Lourdes and I must say I was really impressed! The foyer was really gorgeous, the bedroom (it was a two storey bedroom, bottom floor had a double bedroom with bathrooms and the top floor had two single beds and a bathroom, so plenty of room for two adults and two teenagers) wasn't particularly stylish however it was absolutely spotless with the most amazing view of the sanctuaries and the processions could be heard throughout the day from the room. I also slept like a log and not far from St. Michael's gate. The only downside was the breakfast which was a little bland, but that didn't bother me at all. We also decided to stay an extra and they booked us in with no quibbles or fuss, very professional!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My stay in this hotel was wonderful and second to none.I would recommend to anyone wishing to know about this particular hotel.My room was comfortable,clean and everyday the cleaners came in to clean.Towels were replenished every day. The room that I stayed in was room 530 and had a wonderful view of the esplanade and when processions were taking place the view and the singing was wonderful. There is also a good view of the castle to the right of the window. I would recommend this room to anyone.

The staff were excellent and very helpful,pleasant,and nothing was too much trouble. They were most attentive,friendly and helpful in every way.

The food was also very good.Although everyday had a set menu,if there was something that you did not like or particularly did not want the staff would always try their hardest to produce something else,for you.

My special thanks go to all the staff that made my stay in La Solitude most pleasant,but most of all I have to praise Lillianna who served me my food everyday,and looked after me so well. She is always happy and smiling. Lillianna made sure that I had everything I needed,never forgetting anything. I had one of the best tables in the house which overlooked the river Gave and every day it was a pleasure to sit there.I really was made to feel very special indeed!

La Solitude is also very close to the basilica,shrine etc,so not far to walk if that should be a problem.

All in all this was a most pleasant and delightful stay in Lourdes made even better by the most excellent treatment from the staff of La Solitude

I will return to lourdes next year and without a doubt I shall be staying in La Soltude (hopefully the same room)

Kind regards to you all
Margaret Thomas

Room Tip: Rooms on th higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

good location centrally located in-between the shops and restaurants 2 min walk to the sanctuary good clean rooms can sleep unto 5 people we had a room for 4 people but these rooms are 2 story 2 single beds down stairs with bathroom and double upstairs with bathroom then one room 3 single beds downstairs and double upstairs again 2 bathrooms . A little noisy if your facing the town centre which is opposite to the sanctuary

Room Tip: a good stay for a night or two bed and pillows ok not the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#15 of 185 in Lourdes
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#9 of 185 in Lourdes
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing