We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An escape from the tackiness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #4 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An escape from the tackiness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel was fine - clean rooms, spacious lobby area & friendly staff. Apparently Lourdes has the highest density of hotels per sq/km second only to Paris. I popped into a couple and most were tacky - very much like the souvenir strip - this hotel (along with its sister hotels) were a pleasant escape. One word of warning if you have a large car - the garage is virtually impossible to enter. I had to use an open air carpark at one of their sister hotels - though they were very reluctant to let me use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TW2_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    174
    78
    29
    16
See reviews for
205
131
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have returned from pilgrimage to Lourdes in July, staying in Hotel La Solitude. I have stayed in this hotel for the last 20 year when on pilgrimage. This is testament to the excellent service provided by this hotel and their staff under the management of Francois. From the moment of check in to the day you leave, Francois does everything possible to make your stay comfortable, pleasant and enjoyable. He is always ready to accommodate requests and so pleasant to guests.
The food is great, something to suit all tastes. The lunch buffet is especially good, with wide variety of hot and cold food. They are eager to cater for guests needs and willing to provide French fries etc. on request. Plenty to eat and good variety.
Rooms are comfortable and the cleaning staff do a great job. Staff are friendly, helpful and have good command of the English language.
Hotel La Solitude is only 6 mins walk to the Grotto and no steep hill to climb which makes it an ideal location for wheelchair user pilgrims. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Lourdes.
Bernie

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
952 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I can not understand how this hotel can rate 4 stars. It seriously needs updating. Our room showed signs of age. The furniture looked like it was for a 3 star hotel at best. It was small too. What I did like was our view of the chateau from our balcony. It was also quiet on our side since we were away from the street. My friends who had a room on the street side did not sleep well. There was a big reunion and the lobby was filled with guests. The noise filtered up to their room.

The management of this hotel is always quick to collect. When I checked in, immediately a €132 deposit was demanded. No explanations for this. When we had breakfast, immediately a general-like woman asked for our breakfast slips. She could have asked politely for our room numbers and whether we wanted to charge the breakfasts to our rooms. It was a lousy breakfast anyway. The boiled eggs had a funny taste. They must have been old. There were no forks at the table.

The only thing we enjoyed was the pool. It is on the 7th floor and is ignored by the guests. When we swam at 8pm, there was no one else.

I can not recommend this hotel. I am bewildered that it has a high rating on TA.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms facing the chateau are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first trip to Lourdes, traveling with my 13 yr old daughter and my elderly father. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily , the beds were comfortable. Our room had a balcony over looking the river, which was lovely. there was a little bit of noise in the evening from the bars near the river but it did not carry on too late. other guests who had asked for a quiet room, sacrificed the beautiful views of the river and mountains which we had. We were full board my father and I and enjoyed the meals however staff quickly recognised that my daughter was not eating the meals, they offered her chips or ice cream as an alternative which we appreciated. We were only there for 5 days so she managed. The hotel is a 5min walk from the Gates to the ' Domaine ' which is where the Grotto is. It took my dad slightly longer to walk , but he managed without difficulty. We were very happy with our stay and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony with a view of the river and mountains there will be some noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmelita67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had booked the panorama and when we arrived were told there was a leaking roof and we had been moved to the solitude . All our hotels on our 2 week trip were 4 star but this was no. Ether than 3 . There is nothing basically wrong with it but compared to all the others it came out badly. Room small and dark colours but nice view. Bathroom small , towels abd pillows ok . We were given a twin room rather than large double booked at panorama . Absolutely hated Lourdes . We went to see the Tour de FrAnce and found it tacky and about as spiritual as Blackpool but full of people being paraded around in old fashioned wheel chairs with plastic containers to collect their holy water. Our room was on floor 6 above the terrace and each evening they seemed to have hoards of Irish singing karaoke until midnight. They lived it but we didnt. It was very central abd 5 mins walk from the Grotto.

Room Tip: Ours was on 6th floor . Nice view of mountains but noisy and dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spent 5 days here and this hotel is good but not for everyone. It is very central and a few minutes from all the religious attractions. However this means that parking is difficult. The check-in was quick and the staff are generally friendly although in some cases their English is poor - but after all this is France! I was travelling alone but put in a room with a double bed. The room was small and really would not be a comfortable place for a couple to relax (there was no armchair). There was also no minibar, fridge or kettle. The bathroom was tiny and the shower one of the smallest I have seen. However everything worked and the cleaning was efficient and thorough each day. The decor was rather uninspiring but there was a view of the Sanctuary grounds and in particular it was possible to listen to the hymns of the candlelit procession every night (better of course to be in the procession). Other rooms will have different views, including the river, and may be larger. However I slept well and there is effective air-conditioning and wifi. It would be important at the time of booking to ensure that you were aware of the size and view from your room. The lobby and bar are large but not particularly atmospheric and you would be able to find better places for a drink within 1 - 2 minutes walk. The hotel is geared to accommodating tours and this is reflected in rather unusual dining arrangements. Each meal (set menu only) is served at a standard time (12.00 and 19.00) although the small number of latecomers would have no problem. The meals follow the same pattern which is rather boring with soup, hors d'oeuvres, main course and sweet (always served in the same bowl and invariably some sort of mousse). The food is of good quality with beef, chicken, fish and veal but wines have to paid for at the time. The courses are generally bland and it may be that seasoning and salt usage are reduced in the kitchens. There seems to be no way of charging wine to your bill. A three or four course meal is served at lunchtime and this may be too heavy for some particularly as there was no alternative selection at lunch or dinner, although I gather special needs will be addressed. Breakfasts are not cooked but there is an ample supply of croissants and other breads. My main gripe is that the dining room is set out with long tables, arranged closely together, and the ambiance is lacking so it is a place where you would not linger. There is a small swimming pool at the top of the hotel but again not particularly pleasant and some outside terraces for drinks. Overall this hotel is ideal for group travel on a full-board basis but independent travellers are likely to be disappointed with the dining arrangements and be better off on a bed and breakfast tariff.

Room Tip: Ask for a river or sanctuary grounds view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have lost count of the amount of times I've stayed at this hotel with our annual pilgrimage. All staff from front of house to bar and restaurant staff to the cleaners are exceptional. The hotel is not even a five minute walk from the sanctuary, is spotless clean with a large lobby area where everyone can gather. Everything about this hotel is five star and nothing is a problem to any of the staff. Looking forward to next year already!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Property: Hotel La Solitude
Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing