We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Hotel Padoue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Padoue
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have recently returned from the Hotel Padoue on a pilgrimage with my mother who is disabled. Having read the reviews about the food I was anticipating poor fare but was pleasantly surprised. Most of the meals were quite tasty, although sometimes it was difficult to know what the meat was! Some of the pastries were not great but apart from that we liked our food. We never got french fries!

The hotel itself is lovely and bright and modern. We had a fine big disabled bedroom with good bathroom suitable for wheelchair users.

The location is also excellent especially when you have to push the wheelchair up and down to the sanctuary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mac057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Padoue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

hotel very close to all areas we found all the staff very helpful all the time food plenty of it and good a short walk to all areas we would go back again to this hotel food was ready for us when we arrived late also we had dinner and lunch on day of dept.

Room Tip: rooms over street you will a lot of noise early morning
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on a church-run pilgrimage! Couldn't be a better location for the main sanctuaries. Hotel room clean and bright and nice modern bathroom! with a hairdryer. No tea and coffee making facilities but you could always bring your own.
I believe my church has already secured a booking here for next year so none of us were disappointed with this hotel.
The food is ok - certainly plenty enough for me and varied. Staff were running around like crazy ensuring all groups were fed in a very short space of time! No wonder they keep slim!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here during a group Pilgrimage (18th – 23rd July 2011) through TANGNEY Tours (Kent). Whilst the general standard of the hotel was excellent the quality of the food served was appalling. The mid-day and evening cooked meals contained no fresh vegetables; these were all of the tinned variety and boiled to a soggy mash. The fish and meat dishes were portions pre-warmed and extremely dry making them indigestible. There was also no menu variety in that the same dishes were presented e.g. Vegetable Soup which was diced tinned vegetables in boiled water with no taste or seasoning.

In our opinion the food at the Hotel Padoue did not represent value for money, nor did it have any nutritional value, which is of paramount importance to the provision of sick and elderly person’s. Some of the group did not eat the food presented as it was so bad leaving them hungry or having to purchase food elsewhere. The only alternative offered was 3 thin slices of cheese or a plain omelette.

We complained to the Hotel Manager, the Tagney Rep at the time and Tagney Head Office on our return, but have unfortunately been left feeling patronised by all of their responses and not sure anything will change after our leaving – beware!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed at the Padue for the first time along with agroup of pilgrimes could not find any fault with the hotel. staff exellent ,food very good ,easy walk to the Grotto will stay at this hotel again when we visit Lourdes again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

i took a group of 25 pilgrims to this hotel in Lourdes. no-one said they could fault it. it definately deserves a rating higher than 3 star. i have been to mexico, australia, europe, egypt and the canary islands always travelling all inclusive and in 4 star hotels. i can only say that the padoue was equal if not better than some of these. the staff were exceptional and friendly especially the manager and assistant manager who could not do enough to help us.
eleanor

Room Tip: all you have to do is tell the receptionist what you would like and i can assure you they will help...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleanorg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I stayed here with my mother as part of a recent pilgrimage to Lourdes.

Access to the Sanctuaries etc:

You could leave the hotel and walk down a gentle hill for approx 300yards and find yourself at the main entrance to the Sanctuaries. On the way the street is lined with numerous tourists shops selling the same goods, souveniers. A good cafe on route is The Little Flower.

Opposite the hotel is a small supermarket where you will find well chilled diet coke etc a lot cheaper than you will pay in the cafes and hotels (1.5 euro)

Rooms:

For those travellers with limited mobility this hotel is good, although it could be better. Adapted rooms have a spacious wet room with a portable seat for use in the shower. The wet room area would benefit from an extra couple of grab rails, as users have nothing to hold on to if they are sitting on the chair whilst showering.

Rooms were pleasant, a good size, cleaned daily and the air conditioning was effective.

If you want to shower etc after breakfast, be prepared to be interrupted at least 3-4 times within the space of 20 mins by hotel staff who knock on your and immediately enter the room without waiting for a response.

Food

I and most others in our group thought the food was poor. It was pretty tasteless, vegetables were mushy or as my mother described them "as if they had been through the washing machine". The hotel also thinks guests want chips with their dinner 3 nights in a row. Whilst their was no concern about the quantity of food provided, it was sad that so much of each meal was a complete let down.

We were full board. Tea and coffee were freely available at breakfast. Only tea was provided with lunch. During the evening meal we were not offered tea or coffee. After a number of us requested tea/coffee we were told we would have to purchase it from the bar. At a cost of over 6 euro for 2 coffees, this seems a bit unfair. If you like your tea and coffee pre breakfast in the morning, best take a travel kettle as the hotel does not provide any tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Other hotels nearby:

The Hotel Solitude is within 5 mins walk of this hotel. It is slightly more expensive, but has a small swimming pool and a nice outside balcony to sit and have drinks on. Didn't see the guest rooms, but the disabled toilet in the public area was good.

The Galia Londres Hotel was a couple of doors down from the Hotel Solitude. The decor within this hotel was nice was a complete no-no for those guests in wheelchairs. The hotel does not have a disabled toilet within its public area. We were directed to a toilet which was up 3 stairs :-) My mother had to go back to our hotel just to use the toilet. Whilst this hotel looked nice, I thought the Padoue and Solitude were better value for money.

Would I use it again:

If I read that in the future this hotel had improved its menu and food quality i would definitely use it again. However, in the meantime there are other hotels in Lourdes offering better food which are cheaper i.e. Marie St Rose (just opposite).

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckybear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#16 of 185 in Lourdes
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eliseo Hotel
Eliseo Hotel
#33 of 185 in Lourdes
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#13 of 185 in Lourdes
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#37 of 185 in Lourdes
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Padoue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Padoue

Address: 1 rue Reine Astrid, 65100, Lourdes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: £66 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Padoue 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Padoue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padoue Hotel Lourdes
Hotel Padoue Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing