We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stop Off Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Montauban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Montauban
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stop Off Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Mercure in Montauban for a night as a stop heading back towards Paris. The town is small but charming and clean. The Hotel is located in a central location, walking distance to everything.

The rooms are a bit dated, the carpet seems to be older and the bathrooms need a bit of an upgrade but everything was clean and worked fine. The rooms were very large, small TV's with 1 english channel that did not work. Not a big deal since this was a one night stay.

The hotel staff was great, parking is across the street, underground is available. The price is about 16 Euro for the parking.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowtown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    90
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
20
70
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Good location - central Montauban. Room a little dated, but absolutely fine - all that you want, clean, comfortable, and we had a good view from the window of the square and cathedral. Parking right next to the hotel, bars and restaurants within a very short walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonimouse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We discovered Montauban when looking for an escape from Montpellier and were impressed with both the town and the hotel.

This Mercure is in the centre of town with quiet rooms and free wifi which is a must for us and the discount parking opposite the hotel was appreciated as well, a surprise to us as parking is free in Australian regional hotels.

Reception staff and the ladies who made up the rooms were friendly and made our stay an enjoyable experience.

This Mercure had a policy that the over 55's didn't pay for the extra person and a buy one get one free breakfast policy which was great and appreciated by us.

The breakfast was fine and the dinner menu was a pleasant surprise with variety, great menu and reasonable wine prices.

We discovered this hotel by looking up the Novotel Group website and then checking on tripadvisor for the comments which made sure that we had made a good choice.

The restaurant had a fantastic domed ceiling which made the ambience a lovely place to dine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We stayed at Montauban on the journey back through France. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre and easy to reach from the motorway. There is a large car park opposite the hotel and the staff give you a discount ticket when you check out.

The reception staff were very helpful and were willing to recommend local restaurants. We ate at Le Saveurs d'Ingress (http://lessaveursdingres.com) about a five minute walk away - one of the best meals I have ever eaten!

The hotel room was very large with comfortable bed. Modern and clean bathroom. The television had a number of foreign channels but the BBC channels were not working. Free Wi-Fi throughout - ask for a code at the reception desk.

Breakfast was average - continental breakfast. There were some hot items, but these looked as if they had been sitting in the warmer for a few hours! There were no staff on duty to help with breakfast service / refill empty coffee etc.

This hotel is perfect for an overnight stop and I would certainly use it again. The city of Montauban was beautiful and the hotel well located.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmorgan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

This hotel is located right in the centre of town, beside the cathedral. The room we had was enormous, newly renovated, in very good condition with all the amenities. We were very, very comfortabl here. It also has a bit of character,as it is converted from an older building. Spotless housekeeping and friendly staff. A real bargain.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Montauban is a rather quiet, uninteresting city and this hotel matches it well. Clean, large room with a very nice bath. The front desk personnel were polite and efficient. A nightclub was having a "special party" with incredibly loud music in the street near by that made sleeping difficult, but that was not the fault of the hotel. The location is in a very busy central square so ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2005

Hotel was OK - Nothing special but nothing bad.

This typical provincial hotel situated in a small town half an hours drive from Toulouse on the motorway (2.2 Euros toll each way).

Converted from a large house the building has loads of character and the rooms are all different shapes and sizes - but mostly large and spacious. They were comfortable and modern. Desk space, Mini bar, TV (french stations only) modern well equiped bathrooms.

Check in and out efficient enough.

Restaurant service was good and food quite reasonable and not expensive for what it was. Good selection of starters all very good. For main course Most entrees in the region of 10.00 to 15.00 E. all we tried were quite reasonable. Fillet Flambe (for 12.00 E) recommended. Desserts were limited in choice and quality.

Breakfast was a buffet style, reasonable selection and an extra 11.00 Euros.

Very quiet back street location - no traffic. No car park, but (pay) car park available outside hotel.

Jan 2005

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauban hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Hotel Du Commerce
L'Hotel Du Commerce
#7 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#4 of 17 in Montauban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#6 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Montauban Les Chaumes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Montauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Montauban

Property: Mercure Montauban
Address: 12 rue Notre Dame, 82000 Montauban, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Montauban 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hotel with 44 rooms situated in front of the cathedral, located in the city s historic district and close to the business district. A short stroll to the museums and very close to Roucous golf course. Meeting rooms, bar, traditional Brasserie under a 19th century glass roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Montauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing