We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Michelin Star for Meeting Facilities and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No Michelin Star for Meeting Facilities and Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Abbaye des Capucins is a nice building mixing old and new architecture. Although the hotel is within city limits, there was plenty of parking space.
POOR SIGNS: The signage of the meeting was non-existent and we had to ask our way in this maze of corridors. Bathrooms are very scarce and meeting participants had to line up.
MEETING ROOM: The meeting room had nice window paints of various Saints; it makes the atmosphere very religious.
EQUIPMENT is old and you would expect much better technology for a meeting room. WiFi did not work for everyone – not enough broadband. The speaker tried to share a YouTube video which of course did not work.
DINNER: Since this place has one Michelin star for its Gastronomy Restaurant, I was waiting impatiently for our dinner. Our party was in what must have been the old chapel. The classical round tables were seating 10 giving us this monastery brother feeling. Chairs were those awful metal chairs hidden in a white cloth.
CATERING: There was a very cheap Chardonnay 2011 – still acid and a very cheap red wine. No sparkling water available. One piece of bread per person and you are not offered a second. Service was efficient but cold and unprofessional (extra help was hired or trainee). The first dish was cheap chicken like poultry served col and the main was even cheaper, uncooked duck; 25 gr of uneatable meat with 15 gr of potatoes – no vegetables like airplane economy class food. Desert was some chocolate in artificial syrup. Only coffee seemed to be offered so I asked for tea – there was no selection – just plain breakfast tea.
RECOMMENDATIONS: if you do a meeting, advise participants that there are not enough bathroom available for large groups and have plenty of breaks. Don’t rely on the hotel WiFi and the obsolete equipment. Bring your own TV screen. As the last impression of the meeting is the dinner, don’t eat there. Your company will look as cheap and uninspiring as the food does. Hard to believe someone in the building received a Michelin Star and allows this kind of cheap, unbalanced cafeteria style food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBR1000RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent seminar with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our Wifi network.
Wifi Is free for all our guests and we never have any trouble with it. I missioned our informatics team to proceed a global test in the area to secured the installations.
I am surprised to read that your meeting room was difficult to find because we do have signs at the entry of the Abbaye des Capucins in the main corridor and at each floor.
Your meal was prepared by the team of our starred Michelin Chef and I am sorry to read that you didn’t enjoyed your dinner. Menus are decided by the event coordinator in collaboration with our commercial team, We normally receive great reviews on food, but we are sorry to hear that it did not suite your taste.
We hope that you will come back at our gastronomic restaurant and that we will have a chance to make your meal a good experience,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    226
    72
    31
    9
See reviews for
87
291
16
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aude
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Reception staff on registration were off-hand. Our registration was delayed ans the receptionist suddenly left us and took other guests to their room. On check-out the receptionist was efficient and friendly. Our room was excellent. We had drinks in the Bistro and would not recommend the wines sold by the glass.

Breakfast was well presented with happy friendly staff.

Ate in the Table du Capucins restaurant, as part of a gourmet break, but were not impressed and have submitted separate review.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, General Manager at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Google Translation

Cher Client,
Merci d’avoir donné votre opinion sur ce site internet. Je suis étonnée que vous ayez trouvé que trop d’options sont payantes : en effet, le wifi, le spa, le parking et le room service sont par exemple des options qualitatives et gratuites que nous proposons à nos clients. Veuillez accepter toutes nos excuses pour les désagréments liés à la panne du jacuzzi qui a été réparé dans un délai très court. Concernant le restaurant d’un confrère de Montauban, nous ne pouvons donner d’avis mais bien entendu, nous vous invitons la prochaine fois à réserver une table à notre restaurant étoilé qui reçoit bon nombre de critiques positives,
A très bientôt ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

W stayed a night and had the Prestige Suite (room 205) which was huge. Living room had sofa, armchair, footstool and coffee table, dining table for 6, TV and a desk. Bedroom had huge bed, TV and plenty of space, and bathroom had massive bath, separate shower and double sinks. The toilet was separate and all was spotlessly clean. Plenty of hanging and drawer space and a view of the river. Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you very soon at the Abbaye des Capucins, maybe within the framework of our special “wellness Hawaii package” ?

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Large room was comfortable, finished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. We ate dinner in the Bistro and really enjoyed the food. Spa was lovely and empty when we were there, so we had it to ourselves. Great location in Montauban and free parking, spent a most relaxing couple of days there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a really lovely stay at this hotel! Rooms had a nice and sober interior design, there is a pool that we enjoyed (quite small pool area but it served its purpose) and breakfast was good. Restaurant served excellent food but the staff got really stressed when the place got buzy. It is still absolutely worth going there. If we will be looking for an hotel nearby the Lyon area again we will definately go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Failed entirely for us,we only booked this hotel to try its Michelin starred restaurant. So to be told when we arrived they'd booked us in their Bistrot and the reseaurant was full, was really annoying, especially as not open the next night.The hotel was an average modern big hotel and takes coach parties, a German group arrived shortly after us. Pleasant enough and nice swimming pool but Montaubon rather a dull, busy town, a lot of far prettier places nearby. If we had known the hotel would not in fact book us in as requested, (or even bothered to let us know) we'd have gone somewhere else. Rooms usual darkwood and grey decor that modern hotels feel is chic, the bathrooms were nice though. On the river and large mosquitos, so take an insecitide tablet heater. Bistrot Ok but not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us.
On behalf of the whole team, we apologize for this situation and we understand your disappointment because you didn’t have your dinner at the Gastronomic restaurant. We are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced . The hotel is situated near the Tarn River, and sometimes there are mosquitos due to the clement climate. Montauban is a nice Historic town, and you are right to underlign that the whole region is attractive.

We hope to welcome you soon at the Abbaye des Capucins,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepest Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stopped here on the way to the Costa Brava, it was very hot, about 107F(41C). Never known it so hot. But it was cool in the building, the room and bathroom were great. The Abbaye has thick stone walls so I guess they insulate well.
We had a stagger round Montauban centre but it was Sunday or Monday or something so everything was closed. we went back to the hotel and ate there in their cool cloistered courtyard, glad we did. I had the most amazing veal steak, no mean portions of the awful "Nouvelle Cuisine" here thank goodness . I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment ! We hope to welcome you soon at the Abbaye des Capucins.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauban
0.5 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Hotel Du Commerce
L'Hotel Du Commerce
#6 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#7 of 17 in Montauban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6/8 Quai De Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France (Formerly Abbaye Des Capucins Spa & Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free carpark. Bike rental on spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montauban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing