We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Situated just a 5 minute walk from the town centre, this hotel is located in an old abbey which has been thoroughly modernised. The decor is light,bright and contemporary, with many modern works of art adorning the walls. Reception was efficient and friendly, there is a Spa and small swimming pool. Although on a main road, the hotel and garden/ pool area were quiet with no traffic noise. The hotel has a large car park part of which is underground.
Our room was of reasonable size, with a large double bed, adequate storage TV, separate WC, The bathroom had contemporary furniture of good quality with a separate shower area, wash basin and bath. Wifi was free, fast and did not require, login id or passwords.
There are two restaurants, a bistro and La Table Capucins, which offered gourmet dinning. We ate in the latter, service was friendly and efficient, the waitresses gave us a detalied description of each course's components. We had the Gourmet menu, which is served as part of the hotel's demi-pension package, this consisted of an amuse, starter, main course, pre-desert and desert. For wine we chose the option of a different glass wit each course, chosen by the chef. I find that this is usually a good option, the wines whilst not expensive have been well chosen and often one is served a wine that one would not have risked, if having to purchase a whole bottle.The food was well cooked with good presentation and tasted delicious. If you are staying more than one night, the gourmet menu has two alternatives. The dem-pension package was€219 for two people and represented excellent value.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot or cold. Bacon looked really tasty, but after the previous nights dinner I could only manage some fresh fruit and a croissant.
The hotel makes an ideal location to visit the area and would be a good resting place for two or three days.
Montauban is well worth a visit, with interesting architecture, some chic shops and a square away from the traffic in which you can partake of a drink and watch the world go by.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    248
    75
    34
    9
See reviews for
98
317
17
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is a superb mix of eclectic styles which work well together. The restaurant is lovely and not to be missed. For some strange reason though it lacks atmosphere and there were very few staff about in the hotel itself. However, the restaurant staff were superb. This is why it gets 4 rather than 5 stars.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the car park as ours did which is not very inspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grande-Motte, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family and I discovered L'Abbaye des Capucins by accident last June when we stop at the Bistro to dine in our way to Anjou. So we decided to plan a night there on our way to a week end in Vendee.
The hotel a former Cappucins abbaye is very well decorated with many Art Deco pieces in the lobby, and contemporary art works throughout the hotel. There is a very nice little spa. The family room was also well decorated with two queen beds, beautiful bathroom separate shower and bath, wi-fi works perfectly.
One of the reason we chose the hotel was to dine at the Michelin stared restaurant, however we found the restaurant a little disappointing and we hardly understood the Michelin star. Dinner was good but not to par with other gastronomic restaurants.
Next morning, breakfast at the restaurant was perfect with lots of fresh fruits, granola and juices available.
All in all I really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlexantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A very nice spotting, in a former monastery, resort ambiance, large and spacious, large rooms, very good spa. Good restaurant, the staff could be a little bit more attentive.
Do not miss the surroundings, worth a walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Rooms are well appointed and large. Bathrooms are nice. Hotel is nicely decorated with interesting art in an old conversion from a former Abbey. Michelin-starred restaurant was very good.

We chose the hotel because it had wifi but this did not work throughout the entire stay. Neither did the internet cable access. When we complained about this the only response we got was "Normally, it works".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

As part of a wedding party most of the people who aren't family have stayed at this hotel very recently.

The staff can't be bothered to even assist with the most simple requests . On the contrary, one day we have been told that they can't serve food for all of us and they won't give us bread.

Some of us asked for our suits to be dry cleaned or ironed. Which is a service this hotel offers but were told they only would iron if it was 100% cotton. Dry cleaning was also refused. Despite being offered.

You may now think this was due to a bunch of hungover [--] harassing the staff and annoying other patrons. This was not the case. Yes, we partied but we did so mostly at other venues.

We bought magnum bottles of champagne at the hotel and were spending lots on dinner and "brunches". Well at least at the times they decided to serve us with frowny faces. However on our first night we were kicked out of the bistro and were refused to buy two more bottles of wine. Again, we were tipsy but in now way rude or noisy beyond what you would expect from a party of 15.

Another day we came from a sightseeing trip in the afternoon and wanted to order coffee and some drinks only to be told the bistro is closed until 6pm and nobody would be available. In the whole hotel! Upon politely enquiring if they could make an exception we were told to check the minibar in our rooms.

At one point I have asked to speak to a manager because of the food situation above and was told that he is on break and would only be back at 4pm (I have asked at 1pm...).

I can not recommend this hotel at all. The staff is rude, not helpful in the slightest and treats guests like an inconvenience. Not to mention there seem to be very strict opening hours for the bistro (which also is the bar) and restaurant.

We got the stink eye several times from staff. The only exception were two very polite and helpful waitresses at the bistro who went out of their way to help. Hence the 2 out of 5.

On checkout at 06h30am we found an unmanned reception. I was expecting to find the night bell sleeping under the desk but there was nobody. There was a phone and a number to call for night times (which is basically anything after 6pm and before 10am). Upon asking if we spoke French and if we want breakfast an annoyed security person came who was doing the checkout with us.

The rooms were ok, bathrooms very nice but everything else about this place is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Init x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, Directeur général at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

As regard to the bistro restaurant, it is open 7 days a week however close and locked in the afternoon from 4pm until 5.30pm. We are sorry for not being able to help out you during that short space of time.
With regards to the bread and butter request, it is right that it was difficult to get some of it at 11.30am from the bistro, however our gastronomic restaurant was happy to welcome you for breakfast from 7.00am until 10.00am during the week and 7.00am until 10.30am on weekends. Nevertheless I understand that bread and butter was served by our bistro team at the time.
Concerning the evening diner, we are very great full for the drinks and diner you have ordered, we were also happy to welcome you at 11pm while your table was booked for 8.30pm. On the other hand once no guests are left in the bistro we are closing. We are sorry for not being able to give you 2 more bottles when you came back down later on.

Regarding to the ironing service, we are sorry to read that you didn’t get the assistance you should have obtained and we apologize for this situation and understand your disappointment.

We hope that you will come back at the Abbaye des Capucins and that we will have a chance to make your future stay a good experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Satnav decided to take us here. The Hotel is a former Abbey. It is very grand, contemporary in style with Spa facilities. It's just a short walk to the centre of town. Parking is free at the Hotel.
Reception staff were pleasant. We did have to wait for a room to be cleaned, even though it was 5pm when we arrived, having said that we just arrived on spec. Room was good. Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities as it is a four star hotel. Reasonable value for money as guests have the use of some Spa facilities and the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticsView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_daures, General Manager at Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this comment, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Abbaye des Capcucins,
We hope to see you soon again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauban
2.0 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
209 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
560 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#7 of 17 in Montauban
64 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#6 of 17 in Montauban
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6/8 Quai De Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France (Formerly Abbaye Des Capucins Spa & Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free carpark. Bike rental on spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montauban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing