We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Happy Returns ..... !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Many Happy Returns ..... !”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We drive several times a year between the UK and Spain criss-crossing France en route.
When one of our favourite hotels for a stopover changed hands there was a vacancy!

We tried several places ...... and then we found L'Abbaye des Capucins.

What a good find, what a great hotel.

We have stayed here about six or seven times now, sometimes with our teenage son and sometimes as a couple. Always with our dog.

It's a modern hotel in an old building. A good variety of rooms in all price categories but even the smallest rooms are a reasonable size with decent modern bathrooms. We have always found water mineral water in the rooms and bathrobes. Small things that make a weary traveller feel welcome.

As the building is old and solid the soundproofing is good so rooms are quiet.

The hotel is efficiently run by a young team. It has 2 excellent restaurants (see separate reviews) a great courtyard for outside dining in the summer and a swimming pool and a spa and it takes dogs!!! Plus there is plentiful and easy parking at no extra charge. And free wifi :)

Montauban is a great place for a visit and this is THE place to stay.

Looking forward to our next happy return!

Room Tip: Bigger the better but all rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theglossy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    243
    73
    33
    9
See reviews for
89
309
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for one night, Well mantained hotel. Good sleep. Well mantained bathroom and good breakfast. Easy car park and the pool looked very inviting although I didn't have time to go for a dip. Close to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Situated just a 5 minute walk from the town centre, this hotel is located in an old abbey which has been thoroughly modernised. The decor is light,bright and contemporary, with many modern works of art adorning the walls. Reception was efficient and friendly, there is a Spa and small swimming pool. Although on a main road, the hotel and garden/ pool area were quiet with no traffic noise. The hotel has a large car park part of which is underground.
Our room was of reasonable size, with a large double bed, adequate storage TV, separate WC, The bathroom had contemporary furniture of good quality with a separate shower area, wash basin and bath. Wifi was free, fast and did not require, login id or passwords.
There are two restaurants, a bistro and La Table Capucins, which offered gourmet dinning. We ate in the latter, service was friendly and efficient, the waitresses gave us a detalied description of each course's components. We had the Gourmet menu, which is served as part of the hotel's demi-pension package, this consisted of an amuse, starter, main course, pre-desert and desert. For wine we chose the option of a different glass wit each course, chosen by the chef. I find that this is usually a good option, the wines whilst not expensive have been well chosen and often one is served a wine that one would not have risked, if having to purchase a whole bottle.The food was well cooked with good presentation and tasted delicious. If you are staying more than one night, the gourmet menu has two alternatives. The dem-pension package was€219 for two people and represented excellent value.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot or cold. Bacon looked really tasty, but after the previous nights dinner I could only manage some fresh fruit and a croissant.
The hotel makes an ideal location to visit the area and would be a good resting place for two or three days.
Montauban is well worth a visit, with interesting architecture, some chic shops and a square away from the traffic in which you can partake of a drink and watch the world go by.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is a superb mix of eclectic styles which work well together. The restaurant is lovely and not to be missed. For some strange reason though it lacks atmosphere and there were very few staff about in the hotel itself. However, the restaurant staff were superb. This is why it gets 4 rather than 5 stars.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the car park as ours did which is not very inspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grande-Motte, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family and I discovered L'Abbaye des Capucins by accident last June when we stop at the Bistro to dine in our way to Anjou. So we decided to plan a night there on our way to a week end in Vendee.
The hotel a former Cappucins abbaye is very well decorated with many Art Deco pieces in the lobby, and contemporary art works throughout the hotel. There is a very nice little spa. The family room was also well decorated with two queen beds, beautiful bathroom separate shower and bath, wi-fi works perfectly.
One of the reason we chose the hotel was to dine at the Michelin stared restaurant, however we found the restaurant a little disappointing and we hardly understood the Michelin star. Dinner was good but not to par with other gastronomic restaurants.
Next morning, breakfast at the restaurant was perfect with lots of fresh fruits, granola and juices available.
All in all I really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlexantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
742 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A very nice spotting, in a former monastery, resort ambiance, large and spacious, large rooms, very good spa. Good restaurant, the staff could be a little bit more attentive.
Do not miss the surroundings, worth a walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Rooms are well appointed and large. Bathrooms are nice. Hotel is nicely decorated with interesting art in an old conversion from a former Abbey. Michelin-starred restaurant was very good.

We chose the hotel because it had wifi but this did not work throughout the entire stay. Neither did the internet cable access. When we complained about this the only response we got was "Normally, it works".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauban
0.5 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
208 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
259 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Hotel Du Commerce
L'Hotel Du Commerce
#6 of 17 in Montauban
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#4 of 17 in Montauban
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6/8 Quai De Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France (Formerly Abbaye Des Capucins Spa & Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free carpark. Bike rental on spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montauban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing