We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed fine dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Roc du Berger

Le Roc du Berger
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Rocamadour
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Relaxed fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Curiosity motivated us to try this restaurant with its wood oven preparation local meats. Most of the diners were seated at outdoor tables. The relaxed ambiance attracts large groups and families with children. The menu includes specialities of the Perigord, all of which are locally sourced. I had grilled magret de canard, my husband the grilled lamb. The food was star, simply presented and absolutely delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank passionflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    231
    61
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Thank you Trip Advisor a fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Having left the caves at Padirac and heading for Rocamadour, this restaurant advertised on Trip Advisor seemed the obvious choice. We were not disappointed! We had our dog with us and she was welcomed in. The food is cooked on an open fire place and it is fabulous. We had the set meal which consisted of 4 courses. First course was a choice of salads (I had the smoked duck and my husband the walnut salad, both a meal in themselves). Then we had a choice of main courses, I had the lamb steaks and my husband trout. Perfect! Both served with baked potatoes and tomato. Next was the cheese course and a piece of Rocamadour cheese from the farm next door and finally the deserts? Again a choice, I had pear with chocolate sauce and my husband ice cream. There was also bread and water. Excellent value for money at €18.50 per head. This is definitely the place to eat if in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for families of all ages and couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

It's all about cooking meat on an indoor fire. We loved it. Informal. Friendly, good food great value. Worth driving out of rocamadour to find. Go relax and enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Woodfire Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

The place is nicely located between Alvinac and Rocamadour. There is a large partly coverd terras but you can also eat inside with a view on the large woodfired grill. Kids can play outside. The food was excellent. Take one of the two menu's. The starters with smoked duckbreast were uge and delicious. Mean course is grilled duck or lamb, but trout is also possible. Simple but tasty. The local goatcheese from Rocamodour is not to be missed. To finish off, we had pear with hot chocolate and crème brulle. Again simple but very tasty. If you are looking for a place where you can have good woodfired grilled meat or fish in combination with a nice playground for kids, I would recommand this restaurant. Do not expect nouvelle cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
690 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Sensational Grilled Meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We are both in the business and while travelling rarely go to the same restaurant twicw but weate here 4 of 5 nights we were in the area. Loved the grilled meats, servers and the atmosphere both inside and out. Vegitarian alert, this place is all about grilled meat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roc du Berger also viewed

 
 

Been to Le Roc du Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing