We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Having seen the beautiful photos on the internet, we were beyond disappointed with this sterile, small, dirty room with no A/C and flies everywhere! There was no fan in the room, making air flow impossible. The staff was very unfriendly and dismissive. Their wifi did not work the entire three days we were there and they were not eager to help us. You can see these beautiful views from many different vantage points along the road - SKIP staying here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    59
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
38
57
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a modern hotel and restaurant outside the historic part of Loubressac (un des plus beaux villages de France). As non-residents we booked a table in the restaurant. Despite being nearly full with large groups and families the staff found a decent window table with attractive views over the valley. Good and varied menu with meat, fish and vegetarian, we managed without the English translation. The staff were efficient and very friendly, helpful to a nursing mother at the adjacent table. Not cheap but for a special occasion it was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We toured the Dordogne area with a party of 31 organized Alfa travel and stayed for 5 nights in this lovely hotel The room was spotless and a good size with wonderful views of the valley and castle below There is the problem with the lack of space in the toilet, you have to manoeuvre yourself around to close the door A car is advisable as Loubressac is quite isolated and there's only one other hotel and a small shop within the area so we had to rely on the the hospitality of our hotel bar of an evening which was very expensive as the price of a pint was 6 euros and 3 euros for a small wine The nearest towns are Carrenac and St Cere and roughly 19 euros in a taxi one way As were with a tour group we ate from a set menu and this was lovely so i can only imagine the hotels proper menu would be delicious

Room Tip: The beer in the mini bar is much cheaper and with hindsight I'd wish we had purchased alcohol in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We walked from Port de Gagnac and found the final couple of kilometers hard going but were pleased with Relais de Catelnau when we got there. The hotel is fairly modern and the room was good, clean, with lovely views across the surrounding countryside. Check in was easy. The room had an en suite bathroom including bath with a hand held shower - this was good for us. Bed was comfortable and plenty of storage space in the room. Good views from the restaurant and the dinners were of good quality and well served.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent two nights here in May on our walking holiday from Beaulieu to Hospitalet. The room was very clean in a modern style (however the architect could have done with a few tips on bathroom/wc design!) The view from it was magnificent, revealed with a theatrical opening of the curtains by then receptionist, revealing the view across to the Chateau de Castelneau and beyond, where we had walked that day. Breakfast and Dinner were taken in the dining room by large sliding windows overlooking the aforementioned view; Dinner was very enjoyable with plenty of time to enjoy high quality food and the wonderful scenery. Service was attentive without being intrusive and the wines reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

2 nights at this hotel in June; very good room, quite large with 1 double bed and 1 single; large bathroom as well! Lovely view of the valley. The food was really good, if a little too 'french' at times - sweetbreads, foie gras etc.
Service was fairly good, just short of indifference. The room was very hot with no air conditioning, however, we asked for a fan which was delivered in the blink of an eye. The pool area is small but adequate, however the furniture is tired and uncomfortable and really needs some updating. On the whole, a very good experience; would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 911pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Travel Sphere coach tour in June 2012. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The decor in my room was rather depressing - bare white walls with one miserable print hanging over the bed.The bedroom door appeared to be painted with a battleship grey undercoat,carpet to match and the furniture was a horrible shade of reddish brown.Otherwise quite well appointed but no tea/coffee making facilities.Because this was a coach tour we had a set menu(no choices) but the food was excellent.A glance at the a la carte showed some expensive courses and although I did not note it a fellow traveller claimed there was champagne available at some 300 plus Euros ! However the stunning views over the Dordogne valley compensate for any grumbles and the village of Loubressac in which the hotel is situated is an absolute gem. Do not forget your camera !
One grumble was the bar - at 10 p.m. the staff began shuffling their feet and at about 10.15 we were asked each night if we wanted another drink before they closed and they closed about 10.30 p.m. Fellow travellers who visited a bar in the village said the same applied there.Obviously the rural French behave differently to their urban cousins.
All in all a decent hotel for a short stay or when touring.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
9.9 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
9.2 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Amadour Hotel
Amadour Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
11.1 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
10.3 mi away
Relais Amadourien
Relais Amadourien
#4 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau

Property: Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau
Address: Route de Padirac | Loubressac, 46130 Rocamadour, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rocamadour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel Rocamadour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing