We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two faces..”
Review of Les Vieilles Tours

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Vieilles Tours
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Beatifull countryside overlooking hills and vineyards. The touristy Rocamadour is verry nearby. Having dinner under the trees at sundown, like a postcard. Dinner was ok, not exceptional. Rooms really are in need of a makeover, old fashioned, no airconditioning and mold on the bathroom tiles.
The first evening they let us wait for dinner far too long with our three tired children, many other people were already finished as we still had to start. But they made up for it the second dinner. At checkout the manager was really rude about our remarks. So next time we are going elswhere. But I truly believe that with a little TLC and investment/renovation this could be a fairy tale place.....

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Kilidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Checks a lot of my boxes this little place - away from any main road to when you're there you just don't hear any car noise. Its on a hilltop so most rooms have nice view, as well as the pool area. the complex has 3 charismatic buildings, definitely gives the french country-side touch.
Its "remoteness" also gives a night sky full of stars and the milky way!
Enthusiastic owner does an excellent job to welcome his guests, thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank freakytsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A very inexpensive and out of the way lovely hotel at Rocamadour. The woman in charged showed us a lovely room in a converted barn and quickly disappeared. A bad sign. This was June with no air conditioning. Our choices were to change to a cooler, but very ugly room, keep the windows open and deal with the bugs, or deal with the heat. We chose #2. The other down side (or up depending on your point of view) is it was very isolated. Not easy to take advantage of the restaurants, but a beautiful setting. We ate at the hotel where the food was delicious but the service extremely slow. The price was very reasonable too.

Room Tip: We had chambre number 6 pictured here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamiePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is lovely- beautiful setting, but the manager treated us with disdain right upon arrival and when we were checking out, he screamed at us (using profanities) making our children cry. He yelled at us for using Booking.com to make our reservation, for not taking all our meals in the restaurant, for using their free wifi,for misunderstanding him when we thought he told us that breakfast was included, for a number of other things that other Canadian visitors had done previously. We saw him treat other guests very graciously, but he was not at all inclined to treat us the same way. Do not stay here unless you want to risk that he doesn't have some sort of bias against you. We suspect he hates people from Canada, or people with children, or maybe our rental car wasn't fancy enough. We have never been treated so badly anywhere. It really spoiled our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CdnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delpech-Tayebi, Propriétaire at Les Vieilles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear Sir,
Your comment requires some explanations about the facts.
I never complained about your booking made thru booking.com but I explained
the details of what you booked to be sure you are informed about your stay.

I also clearly explained the breakfast where not included in the room fare as I also confirm it when you asked me during your stay but at the check-out you told me there was a confusion when it couldn't have one and you didn't want we charge them.

That's was our only point of desagreement and cannot let you write we make differences between our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We originally booked to stay here with our 2 children and 3 dogs on our outward journey. Our experience of staying and dining here was that great that we booked to stay on our return journey too. Laurent is a charming, well-spoken proprietor who made us feel at home. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and have views to die for. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, you must visit here. The dining is out of this world - you will not leave hungry or disappointed. This is fantastic place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The scenery, the hospitality, the amazing food... I can't say enough wonderful things about Les Vielles Tours. We stayed here in April of 2013 (its taken me too long to write a review!). The owner, Laurent, was so kind and so helpful. Due to our previous lodging arrangements not working out, we had to quickly find a new place to stay. We had already planned on staying at Les Vieilles Tours later, but he allowed us to come two days early. He then stayed up very late at night to check us in after we had driven hours. His hospitality saved our trip. We ended up being SO happy we came early as this turned out to be our favorite part of our France trip by far.

We slept comfortably and peacefully. The room was lovely with double doors that opened to a breathtaking view of the lush hills and valley beyond. We had a table ready for us at breakfast and dinner and the food was incredible. It was the best food we had in France hands down and we are major foodies! For breakfast, fresh chocolate croissants and fresh baguettes and omelettes made to order were the highlight. A fine dinner selection with courses, flavors combined perfectly and beautifully presented. Try their local cheese with honey- if you like strong cheeses you'll love it! The best part about it was that we didn't have the stress of having to find somewhere to eat. At the end of the day we could look forward to relaxing back at our room and then meandering over to an incredible culinary experience. I have to say, we absolutely loved chatting with the owner and his wife as well. (Visit Oregon!! :)

Not only is Les Vieilles Tours awesome, the town of Rocomadour and the Padirac Cave are a must see. Rocomadour is breathtaking- a city carved into a rock face. It's a bit of a hike down to the town, but there are elevators if you're not up for the trek. Still, there is a short walk down some switchback paved trails (again, the scenery even here was so beautiful) to get to the elevator. The monastery that sits on the edge of the cliff is crazy. You can walk inside for a small fee which is worth it if you like the idea of walking along (now with railing, when the monks lived no railing!!) old worn stone walkways that overlook from high above the town of Rocomadour below. I also suggest that if you see Rocomadour during the day, stay to view it at night.

Padirac cave is HUGE, unbelievable. You take an elevator down down down and then walk inside the cave where there are paved walkways and its lit throughout. You have to wait in line to get on a little boat that takes you across the water to another walkway where you will follow the tour guide (some walking up long staircases) to view the stunning rock formations. I've been to a few caves (Ireland, Costa Rica, Hawaii) and this was the most beautiful by far.

Driving around the outskirts of Rocamadour (a rental car is highly recommended if not totally necessary in this area) we even found a hiking trail on the side of the road with an area to park across the street. It turned out to be a rustic trek up a rocky trail to a hill that overlooked a huge waterfall. The owner at Les Vieilles also told us there is a great hike from the hotel to an old mill. I wished we'd had more time to do that hike, so it's on my itinerary for when we come back!

If you like old scenic cities, hiking and spelunking and want to get away from the big cities and see what the country in France is like, or even if you just want to have a quiet, relaxing, hospitable trip and enjoy the beautiful scenery and amazing food from your hotel, Les Vielles Tours is a must on your itinerary. A HUGE thanks to the owners, Catherine and Laurent for making our trip so memorable! I truly hope we can return someday!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A friend recommended this hotel when I was planning a walking holiday in the Dordogne. What a discovery! The location is idyllic being just outside Rocamadour in a peaceful location on top of a hill overlooking the national park. The restaurant is of an exceptionally high standard and in the summer holidays from mid July to the end of August all residents have the half-board option so after a hard day's walking you can just relax and enjoy a wonderful meal, three courses plus all sorts of little extras, and a well chosen wine list. Simply great. The hotel is also very near to a footpath leading directly into the town of Rocamadour, about a 25 minute walk, and from there there are lots of walking possibilities. I had a 'comfort' room which was clean and simple with a great view over the valley and very good value given the general charm and character of the establishment, the outdoor pool, the friendly service and the fantastic food!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNNY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
1.2 mi away
Amadour Hotel
Amadour Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rocamadour
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
491 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Relais de Castelnau
Le Relais de Castelnau
#9 of 17 in Rocamadour
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Vieilles Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Vieilles Tours

Address: Route de Payrac | Lafage, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Vieilles Tours 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Hotel set in a quiet and large park above Rocamadour. Restaurant serving an inventive cuisine with local roots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Vieilles Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Vieilles Tours Rocamadour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing