We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old fashioned French hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Poste
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned French hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome good comfortable room with great view. Nice meal and very helpful staff although maybe M and Mme should head to a well earned retirement! Lift a great bonus with two weeks luggage and otherwise narrow stairs. Easy to park safely in the road right outside the front door!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brianahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    10
    14
    17
See reviews for
24
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Be prepared to brush up on your French if you stay here, nary an English speaker in sight or earshot, My basic French did manage to get us a room for the night, a secure lock up for the bicycle and dinner and breakfast.
The room had a balcony and a lovely view of the river, town and mountains. It was also a little bit tired, ageing furniture in juxtaposition with the brand new large tv. In spite of that everything was clean and working even if the pink suite in the bathroom hurt your eyes a bit we had everything we required for the night.
Dinner was excellently served, unfortunately for me I decided to try the cassoulet as I had never had it before and it wasn't to my liking but everything else was delicious including my husband's dinner which I stole some of.
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff was helpful if a little clueless due to my lack of French as to what I required on occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We visited the charming village of Tarascon in April on our way up the Pyrenhees from Toulouse, to visit the nearby (famous) caves.
We made the mistake of booking a hotel in Tarascon sur Provence, not Tarascon sur Ariege. The stationmaster was very helpful; printing off a list of hotels in Tarascon and we phoned the Poste.
Tarascon is a small buit charming place nestled in limestone hills.
The hostel is a former post office by the snow-fed Ariege river, which roared beside it through the night. Though it has seen better days, we enjoyed our stay and the tarrif was very reasonable. We had a large room with a balcony overlooking the river and mountains.
The owner did not speak much English but was very helpful with the challenges we faced in this part of France, especially finding a taxi which are scarce at that time of year.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChonaDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massat, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

After our initial first impression of the restaurant (bright, light space above the river) we were disappointed, from then onwards; poor, unfriendly service, substandard food. We choose different main courses, and all but the lamb chops were small portions of mediocre food, which was not even hot. The dessert of apples baked in honey was, again, cold on one side, with hardly any culinary effort included! We would not eat here again, nor recommend it in any way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tarascon-sur-Ariege hotels

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here overnight to visit nearby caves. Very Funny experience. Typical French Shabby chic hotel. We had triple room and size of room was good, sheets clean, bathroom and decor outdated but for the money great value. We ate in the restaurant. The waiter and waitress took our order and forgot the bring the wine. Service was slow and when the main meals came one was wrong and had to be returned to the kitchen, and they were not busy - only 11 people in restaurant. The food was ok and good value. There was a nice American gentleman at the next table and he did not speak any french and there was a problem in that they do not take cards and they also did not have enough change for hime and we had to explain that they wanted exact money. The next morning I wanted to get something out of the car but the front door was locked - it took me ages to find someone to let me out and then when I wanted to come back in she had locked me out and I spent the next 10 mins waving at anyone passing down the corridor and banging on the door until someone noticed and got the lady to let me back in. Breakfast was another experience as there were no plates anywhere in the restaurant and we had to have our croisants on saucers. They being said if you are fairly relaxed and want an experience, a laugh and a cheap place to stay for the night it was not bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a typical French hotel, nothing special but value for money, cleam & decent affordable food. Tarascon is a great location if you want to explore Ariege, its historical sights and the Pyrennes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at Hostellerie de la poste in June 2012, while biking in the area. Given the rate, facilities are quite ok: large rooms and good breakfast.
However, we were shocked by the rudeness of the landlords: we booked a 3 beds' room with no meal included, and decided to have dinner in a restaurant nearby. As we got back to the hotel after dinner, we were literally insulted by the hosts for not having dinner at their hotel restaurant! Tarascon sur ariege is a pretty small village, with a couple of hotels/BB. We definiteyly won't be back there and advise other travellers to look for others accomodations in Tarascon sur ariege

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiMaXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarascon-sur-Ariege
0.1 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#2 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#3 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Foix
18.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant BAYLE
Hotel Restaurant BAYLE
#1 of 1 in Belcaire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
15.0 mi away
La Grande Cordee
La Grande Cordee
#3 of 9 in Ax-les-Thermes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Poste

Property: Hostellerie de la Poste
Address: 16 avenue Victor Pilhes | Tarascon sur Ariege, 09400 Tarascon-sur-Ariege, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Tarascon-sur-Ariege
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing