We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty ordinary”
Review of Royal Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Wilson
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not quite as advertised...........
My partner booked the hotel based on it's website.
Our room must have been at the lower lower end of the spectrum for that class of room.
Once we had our bags in the room we couldn't swing a cat in the joint and we travel light.
Rather than a double room this really should have been a single or maybe a double bunk instead.
Bathroom was incredibly small indeed
Yes there was a view of the theatre, essentially a brick wall.
Parking is a block away and there is no area out the front of the hotel to load or unload unless you park in the disabled parking spot or on the footpath opposite and risk a fine.
The TV was not working at all and Wi-Fi was flakey. Doors are locked after hours to keep the undesirables out.
Yes it is close to various items and that is it's one redeeming feature.
If we were desperate we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go and view the rooms first hand not off their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We ‘ve read with attention your comments.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel, even though you stressed our good location “close to various items”.

Nevertheless, we would like to give you some more information :

-We are among the rare hotels in Toulouse centre to offer a private garage close to the hotel. Our garage can also welcome most of the types of cars.
Being located in Toulouse centre, it isn’t possible, you will understand , to have a private area for the cars in front of the hotel.
It is true that it is not easy to park in front of the hotel to get the code of the garage, but it takes a few minutes to get it.
Some of our guests ask us to help them to take their luggage to the hotel, what we do automatically.

-The room you had isn’t among the largest rooms of our hotel . Our hotel is a 2 star hotel, we offer rooms from 11.5m2 to 32 m2. We would like to stress that the size of most of our rooms is above 15m2.

-As for the view, it is “essentially a brick wall”. However it is a brick wall part of the famous Theatre realized by the architect Alain Sarfati.

-We close the front doors of the hotel at midnight and all our guests have a code to enter the hotel after this time. One of our staff is available all night. The area is extremely safe, we are in Toulouse centre.

We are sorry you did not ask us during your stay, to help you for your TV and Wi-Fi problems, we would have been happy to help you for that.

Do not hesitate to contact me for any further information.

Yours faithfully,

Daniel Dumolié

Director & Owner
Royal Wilson Hotel
Toulouse centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    107
    25
    15
    4
See reviews for
36
84
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in June. The hotel is in a great location if arriving in Toulouse at either airport or TGV station-the Metro train stop, as with Airport shuttle bus, is only a flat short walk to the hotel. We had a room overlooking the inner courtyard which provided for a very quiet and blissful night's sleep. This would be the preferred choice if available. The room was very clean and there was sufficient room space for us to move around without any issues. We did not have suit cases so that might be just a little more of a workaround but no real issue if you are out and about in the city. The bathroom was also good size area. It is important to highlight this is a 2 star hotel and for the price and location, it is great value for money. A definite plus too is the hotel has lifts so no lugging suitcases upstairs which is not uncommon around France in older style hotels.
It is only a very short flat walk and you are entering the main city tourist area with its many attractions. It is also a relatively easy walk to the Botanical Gardens which is well worth a visit. We enjoyed our continental breakfast and whilst you might get something cheaper outside it is normally only coffee and croissant so its not a fair comparison with the breakfast on offer at the hotel-that though is for the individuals to decide what best suits them.
Finally, the staff were all very helpful and friendly whatever the query you had-always a smiling face. This is a relatively small hotel which has a family feel about it and it is a nice way to spend time in a big city where the big hotels can be impersonal and definitely a lot more expensive.

Room Tip: book a room that looks onto the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We thank you for the time taken to share your impression on the Royal Wilson Hotel.

What an enthusiastic comment !
It is always a great satisfaction for us, to read such positive comments about our amenities and services as well as our value for money and exceptional location.

This comment will certainly help others guests for their next stay in Toulouse.

Best Regards,

Daniel Dumolié
Director & Owner
Royal Wilson Hotel
Toulouse centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good location and accessible from the airport bus. Use the Jean Juares stop. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they said to drop our bags and go explore. When we returned a couple hours later we were given a room on the patio. Doors to the patio don't open but the glass doors let in a lot of light. Room was larger than what we had been experiencing traveling in France. Free wi fi

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for the time taken to write this comment.
We are happy to read your have spent a nice stay in our hotel.

The Royal Wilson hotel has different types of rooms. Some of them are overlooking an interior courtyard ( a veritable heaven of peace in the heart of Toulouse).

You have also enjoyed our free wi-fi access in all the hotel, the size of your room ( size of our rooms range from 12 m2 -single- up to 32m2 ) and our central location.
We are delighted that these assets are widely appreciated by our guests.

We really hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Daniel Dumolié
Director & Owner
Hotel Royal Wilson
Toulouse centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights the end of March, beginning of April. The location is great being near the metro, the old city and the city market.

The staff was very pleasant and fluent in English (my French is sort of adequate). The room was clean and quiet, located around an inner courtyard. The room was small and oddly shaped -- long and skinny. The blankets, bedspread etc were clean but sort of old fashioned. The bathroom was large and modern but two things would improve it. First, some shelves to put our toiletries would have been nice. Second, the hand held shower was fine but a curtain would have helped to not soak the bathroom.

It is a new trend in France to charge separately for breakfast and the Royal charged 9€ per person. While the coffee was food and there was juice and a little fruit to go with the nice bread, the price seemed a bit steep. Since you decided each day, we opted out after the first day and went to the nearby covered market (wonderful) and got coffee and excellent chocolatine (pain aux chocolat in US) for about 3€ each.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank starperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear sir,

We thank you for the time taken to write this comment.
We are delighted you did appreciate our “very pleasant” staff, our location and your room.

Nevertheless, we would like to give you some more information concerning the Royal Wilson hotel :

We didn’t put any shower curtains in all our bathrooms for healthy reasons. The shower curtains being most of the time, vector of germs in spite of the cleaning.

In France, only guests houses, (what we call, in French, “chambres d’hôtes”), offer a rate “breakfast included”.
As for hotels, they have always been offering since many years, a rate for the room and besides a rate for the breakfast.
Indeed, in France it is not legal to impose to the customers the room and the breakfast. That is the reason why the prices are always separated for hotels.

We are sorry you didn’t appreciate our copious and healthy continental breakfast : bread and fresh-baked pastries from the Victor Hugo marketplace, seasonal fruit on a skewer, cereals, stewed apple, cheese, orange juice, butter, jam, honey and hot drinks.
Moreover, if needed all our guests can ask for extra bread, pastries… with no extra charge.

We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Toulouse.

Best Regards

Daniel Dumolié
Director & Owner
Hotel Royal Wilson, Toulouse centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a very nice stay at a very good price, and would stay here again on a future trip to Toulouse. The location is extremely good and the staff are nice. The room was very large and had lots of storage (a closet and a lot of drawer space). It was on the courtyard, which was charming except for the acoustics when a couple of young guests ran around shrieking for an extended period of time while we were trying to take a nap. We finally contacted the front desk and the noise stopped immediately. One tip: The rooms on the courtyard have glass doors but they have no handles. We didn't realise until the morning that there is a window at the top of the door that can be opened for fresh air. It's not mentioned in the guide in the room. The air conditioning works well but you will need to get the remote for it from the front desk.

One thing that could be improved is the communication regarding the parking, as we found it very confusing. If you are planning to park in the hotel's garage spaces, you should reserve a space with them in advance, and you might also want to print out the following and take it with you:

The hotel is on a small one-way, one-lane side street that loops in a near-circle. The hotel is on the second part of the circle, while the parking garage is on the first part. There is nowhere to pull over or park in the second part of the circle, so as you drive into the circle, look for the two large brown-painted garage doors (they are not marked in any way) on the right side as you come to the top of the circle (where you start to turn left). Pull over there in the driveway area, if possible, and have someone go around the corner to the hotel to get the parking remote control.

The control will open the right-hand garage door. Drive down and find your numbered parking space in the upper parking area (the hotel will give you the number). Take whatever you want from your car and walk down the ramp toward the second parking area. Look for the "ascenseur" sign, which is where the elevator is. You are on level -2 (if I remember correctly). Take the elevator up to the street level and walk out onto the street, then turn around and take a good look at the door, as you will have to find it again later and it is not marked. Then go to the hotel and hand in the remote control.

When you leave, you will need the remote control from the hotel again. Walk back to the garage doors and look for the door to the elevator lobby (if you've forgotten, it is to the right of the garage doors and it has a small circular device where the door knob should be). Hold the circular fob that is on the remote control ring to the device, and the door should open. Take the elevator to -2 and walk up the ramp to your car.

To get out you have to drive back up the ramp. Stop your car over a yellow rectangle on the floor that is just before you turn to go up the ramp, and point the remote at a device up on the wall and press the button. If you can't get this to work (it worked fine for us), there is another device at the top of the ramp (you have to stop where your mirrors are even with something, but I don't remember what). Once you are out, stop the car and have someone return the remote to the hotel.

This sounds like more work than it is, but I think the next time we stay we will get rid of the rental car before checking in!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PleaseDont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We thank you for the time taken to share your impression on the Royal Wilson Hotel.

You did appreciate our location, our welcoming, the size and view of your room, the comfort of the hotel, and our good value for money : it is always a big satisfaction to see our guests satisfied.

Moreover, your explanations and advice concerning how to access to our garage will certainly be very helpful to others English-speaking guests. For that we thank you also.

We are among the rare hotels in Toulouse centre to offer a private garage very close. Our garage can also welcome most of the types of cars.

In order to keep this garage secure, we have to follow some instructions when you go to it.

We do understand it can seem a little bit difficult at the beginning .

We know that, nevertheless our guests appreciate this rare service at Toulouse centre.



We look for forward to welcoming you again at the Royal Wilson hotel.



Yours faithfully,

Daniel Dumolié

Director & owner

Royal Wilson hotel

Toulouse centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Clean, tidy room with window shutter to block out street noise.
Walking distance from sites, shops and restaurants.

A kettle and some coffe in the room would have been nice.
Breakfast is not worth it though - rather go eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sir,

We have read with attention your message and we thank you for the time taken to share your impression on our Royal Wilson hotel in Toulouse centre.

You did appreciate the cleanness, the location city centre and the calm of our hotel. However we took note of your others comments.

As for the breakfast,we have selected healthy seasonal products from local traders in and around the Victor Hugo market. ( one of the most famous market hall in France) . You can enjoy it either in our salon or in your room with no extra charge.

It includes bread and fresh-baked pastries from the Victor Hugo marketplace, seasonal fruit on a skewer, cereals, stewed apple, cheese, orange juice, butter, jam, honey and hot drinks.

We hope you will be able to try it (or try it again) for a next stay in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Daniel Dumolié
Hôtel Royal Wilson
Toulouse, centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is located in the city centre and close both to the metro and the airport bus stop. The rooms are spotless and not undersized. Add the friendly and helpful staff and a pleasant stay is ensured. Breakfast is no frill continental: baguette, croissant & pain au chocolat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D-DUMOLIE, Propriétaire at Royal Wilson, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind and positive comment.

We are happy you've enjoyed our Toulouse centre location, the confort of our rooms, our “friendly and helpful “ welcoming, and our breakfast.

Besides, our bread and fresh-baked pastries and our seasonal fruits come fromV ictor Hugo famous place.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon,

Best Regards
Daniel Dumolié
Director & Owner
Hotel Royal Wilson, Toulouse centre
www.hotelroyalwilson-toulouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Gabriel Péri
St Claire Hotel
St Claire Hotel
#20 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Belfort
Hotel Heliot
Hotel Heliot
#14 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Wilson Square
Wilson Square
#69 of 130 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Le Cousture Hotel
#65 of 130 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wilson

Property: Royal Wilson
Address: 6 rue Labeda, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Wilson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Wilson 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of character in the very heart of Toulouse. In the historic and lively heart of Toulouse the Royal Wilson Hotel offers you all the charm and comfort for an enjoyable stay on business or on holiday. 27 spacious and individualised rooms, air conditioning , hair driers, satellite TV (canal +). Within walking distance : main conference and meeting places, main touristic spots and the “french midi canal”, ( Unesco’s list) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing