We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel Opposite the Station...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Chartreuse Hotel
Ranked #63 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Extremely cheap hotel, clean, quiet, small bedroom and ensuite. The reception was open all night and security was tight with admission by ringing the door bell. The hotel offers continental breakfast and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

A small hotel with the basics. A Toulouse version of a motel 6. Nice people and they were very diverse in their English. I felt welcomed. The Internet was still a little unstable. The rooms were definitely small. Great views of the country side though and easily a nice place to take some great shots. Need a car to get around town or at least a moped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Lonely planet recommended, implying it's one of the best near the train station. Room was cell like and smelled of pizza. However, it was clean and had a fan. They do keep their door locked and buzz you in. Despite this, we felt totally safe. There were some women hanging out nearby with smiles, but so what. Try the D'Orsay nearby. It's about the same price. but is far nicer with ac and an elevator.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dosravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I chose this hotel in the beginning because it's right across from the train station. Then, it's the price factor too. Lonely Planet book even said that the room is tiny but it's just for the price that we are paying, which is 42 Euros for a single room. So, I was petrified when the Hotel Front Door is locked in the daytime & that I was only let in by the Front Office supervisor. Normally, that's a tell-tale sign that the hotel would be located in a rather shabby area & it's confirmed by the stripper's joint next door. However, my story defied what's normally said in review forum. The experience got better from here. The young lady, a newbie was trying to get my info in French & I tried to converse with her in English. So, it's a case of a duck trying to talk to a chicken:) And then, her supervisor took over, explained to me that the hotel is open 24 hours, that I got to wait briefly for tidy-up for my room & if I wanted to know more about Toulouse in fluent English. Normally, hoteliers would give me a map & then moved on but this wonderful lady took a good five minutes to run through everything that's a must-see in Toulouse. There's so much pride & dedication in her work which I truly appreciated. Then, I got my key & the password to my wi-fi. Voila, my room's on the 3rd floor. It's without a lift but that doesn't deter me. The room is amazing, quiet & it's got a double beds AND a single bed. It also has not one but two toilets! Folks, Pullman Hotel is just around the corner (one minute away) and it would be at least 5 times more than what I pay here. Great service by staff that's willing to go extra miles does enrich one's travelling experience & one that I would love to share with fellow travellers. Next time should you get to Toulouse and that you want somewhere convenient, give this place a shot & I can assure you that not only you won't be disappointed but that you would be pleasantly surprised indeed. By the way, metro subway is only a stone throw away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A good one night stay. Very compact, very basic but a clean and affordable option close to the train and bus stations. The area, as described by a local, "is safe but not well presented." Depending which streets you take while searching out restaurants, internet shops or ? will determine the type of evening characters you pass.

Room 25 was on the second floor quietly away from front street. Its comfortable double bed with white duvet and bottom sheet (there was a blanket on a shelf) was flanked by side shelves. The room looked freshly painted and carpeted while the bathroom (sink, toilet, shower) appears to have new dark blue tiles. The room also has a small tv, lamp, a small desk with chair, large mirror and telephone. There is an area to hang clothes.

Wifi is free ... "but it is not working today". Perhaps, if wifi is important to you, you might want to negotiate an alternative price if the wifi is not working the day you are there.

We paid 47 Euro plus a 1 Euro city tax per room for one night and thought we had good value. Decision based on our early departure and price (additional 6.50 Euro per person) we had breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We booked this purely for location and from a listing in our lonely planet. We had a train the next morning and our friend in a single room had an early flight. Good value as a base, but it was actually clean and pleasant enough and the staff very friendly. Breakfast good value for 6.50 euros, a lot less than other places we'd stayed in. Area is a little seedy but not in a threatening way so don't let that put you off...it is also very pretty overlooking the canal and within minutes you're in the old town with loads of nice places to eat and drink. We had a room on the back so maybe ask for one of those.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

1. The location was OK. Across the street from the station. However, there were a lot of hookers walking the streets in the area, but they didn’t approach, like they do in some other cities.
2. The price was reasonable.
3. The hotel was an older multi-storied building. Very small lobby, no elevator.
4. The ensuite room was very small, but was very clean and had white walls, which gave it a pleasing spic and span feeling. Seems that the room had been renovated, as it was very well-kept. Furnished simply and functionally. Had a small shower, sink and W/C. Bed was OK. TV, but no English-language channels. Fan, but no A/C. The problem was that without A/C, I had to sleep with the windows open, and the traffic noise was terrible. I would suggest trying to get a room in the back. If you are travelling outside of summer, then the front rooms should be OK. This was a shame as the room was actually very nice (but small); just noisy with the window open.
5. The front staffers were efficient, friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Belfort
Hotel d'Orsay
Hotel d'Orsay
#39 of 130 in Toulouse
186 reviews
Raymond IV
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#88 of 130 in Toulouse
70 reviews
Belfort
Hotel Victor Hugo Toulouse
Hotel Victor Hugo Toulouse
#105 of 130 in Toulouse
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gabriel Péri
St Claire Hotel
St Claire Hotel
#27 of 130 in Toulouse
541 reviews
Gabriel Péri
Hotel Riquet
Hotel Riquet
#61 of 130 in Toulouse
338 reviews
Belfort
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#69 of 130 in Toulouse
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse Hotel

Address: 4 Bis Boulevard de Bonrepos, 31000, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Belfort
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: £50 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Chartreuse Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your La Chartreuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing